We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if you need to be at the Convention Centre”
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gothia Towers
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent if you need to be at the Convention Centre”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at Gothia Towers in June '13 as I was attending an event at the Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre.

I booked a queen size room, and it was decent sized and had a nice view of the Liseberg amusement park. The room was clean except for the fact that the kettle still had water in it filled by the previous occupant.

The bathroom was fairly spacious and clean, but the décor looked like it was done in the 80's. The bathtub had a chip in it, and the soap dispenser case was broken. Amenities (e.g. cotton buds, sewing kit) are not supplied by default and need to be asked for.

I was most impressed by the selection of lactose and gluten free foods at breakfast. There was soy milk, oat milk, lactose free milk, lactose free yogurt, gluten free bread, gluten free muffins, gluten free biscuits, and a toaster dedicated to the gluten free bread. They also supply takeaway cups so that you can take a coffee/tea with you when you leave the breakfast area.

Although the hotel is near tram and bus stops, it is a bit outside the city centre, so I couldn't recommend staying here unless you were attending an event at the convention centre. I guess it would also be a viable choice if you were intending on spending a lot of your time at the amusement park and science centre across the road, but I don't think it's a cheap hotel to stay at.

Overall I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecowgoesmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,873
    1,370
    606
    203
    98
See reviews for
1,332
1,170
108
1,049
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

When we were going to Gothemburg and asked friends for a good-priced and well-located hotel, the Gothia Towers was the one recommended by many. Located right across both Liseberg & Universeum, it was perfect for us with children. The hop-on hop-off bus stop is also right across the street, which was great for the family adults who wanted to do some sightseeing. The breakfast buffet was huge and had a large variety of food. The only minus was that the parking garage was located so far away from the hotel and no valet-parking was offered, which forced us to walk many blocks back and forth when we had to park or pick-up the car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel situated outside the city center, but connected to the conference center. I would not stay here unless you have business in the conference center.
The rooms are basic and in need of refreshing, the carpet is extremely dirty (on the pictures of the hotel website it looks like the rooms have wooden floors but in reality my room - and that of my coleagues- had a stained carpet). Cleaning in general is an issue: upon entering the room there was a lot of dust on all horizontal surfaces. I stayed a week, I had the impression that the floor was not even once vacuum cleaned during my stay, "cleaning" was just replacing towels and make up the bed.
Excellent shower: immediately water at the right temperature, very good water pressure.
As many hotels seem to forget a good night rest is important: the towers are build around a central set of elevators and stairs: very fast but extremely noisy lifts that you can clearly here in the whole buidling are not helpfull when you wnat to sleep. curtains are to thin to keep out the early day light. Work was going on to replace 2 of the 3 lifts: resulting in additional noice during the day.
Breakfast was very good: a wide choice of sweat and savoury..
Not enough light in the room or not in the right locations.
Light switches very badly positioned: I had a room with two singel berds: all switches next to right bed, no switches next to left bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PostcardsFromEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a business hotel and not for tourists etc. fortunately I was there for business the rooms I am
Nd my colleagues had were quite small as was the shower. My main frustration was the ironing board that was attached to the wall and was very hard to use. Do not expect I wrinkled clothes no matter how hard you try. If you are going for a conference or trade show this hotel is very convenient if not stay elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is an impressive site over the beautiful city of Gothenburg. However, this hotel holds many conferences and it appears it caters to these as a priority. I would not recommend this hotel to tourists, there are many cheaper alternatives that will give a more personal experience.

For such a large hotel, WIFI was expected as described in the room description. However, the signal was so weak in our room that it could not connect (we tried on more than one device as well). We told the hotel staff about this problem but they were unresponsive and did nothing to rectify the situation. We did after our trip write to complain about this and Gothia Towers never gave us a response.

We had just came from a hostel which was fantastic value and had fast internet access. I think I'll save a hundred pounds and go back there next time....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a conference in Gothenburg along with over 100 colleagues from around the world. This is a very large modern hotel, the room were maybe a little larger than most European city center hotels and well appointed. Rooms are in three towers ( tower three still being built) Situated opposite the amusement park and with easy access to the city. This hotel, conference and exhibition center is very large but works well. A very large dinning room catered for all the guest easily with the usual European hot and cold buffet ( thought I'm not sure as pungent green cheeses are exactly what you want with your breakfast but I sure someone must have wanted it) There were some quite large tables that could accommodate larger groups which suited us as we would meet for breakfast before attending the conference.

The only disappointment was the bar staff both in the Heavens bar on the 23rd floor and Incontro Bar accessed from the outside. Both locations I found the bar staff to have very little interest in serving guests/customers preferring to talk among themselves instead. I am sure there conversations were much more interesting that serving customers. This was in stark contrast to the reception and concierge who were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exportmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was here for two days for a conference. This is a massive business hotel in a high rise in Gothenburg. The rooms are very standard business type rooms. The bar and restaurants are typically Scandiavian in menu and expense. Breakfast was good and varied in choice. Service was courteous and efficient. It was right opposite the Liseberg amusement park which was decked out for Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,986 reviews
0.0 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
991 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Property: Gothia Towers
Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have 1141 rooms & suites and 5 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. Guest have free access to gym and there is a supplement to visit Upper House Spa. A warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing