We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not coming back”
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gothia Towers
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not coming back”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

There are two things I cannot live without when I travel for work: wifi & gym. This hotel had neither one. The wifi did not work in my room, only in the corridor, which is not acceptable 2012. And according to the web site, there is no fitness center in the hotel (although some reviewer here mentions one...?).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    1,425
    632
    216
    105
See reviews for
1,452
1,219
113
1,062
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night when I was in Gbg on a buisness tripp.
It was like most hotels in this price class. Free wifi - but I never had the time really to try it...
There was also the mandatory gym, but didn't have the chance to try that either.
The breakfast was efficient. Everything you could ask for, but nothing special.
This hotel is good for overnight stays, but I would never stay here when visiting Gbg in private.
Neither more nor less than expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you ever come to Gothenburg in Sweden, DO NOT stay at Gothia Towers Hotel. Stayed there one night last weekend Sep 15-16 2012 but forgot my Hugo Boss coat in my room when I checked out. Immediately taken care of, you would think. Forget it - it was gone, gone, gone! I have forgotten items at other hotels which all were returned to me. But not at Gothia Towers.
Never again!

Pelle Lidell
Stockholm, Sweden

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank firmapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel Gothia Towers is a very good hotel and the location is very convenient, especially if you plan to visit Liseberg, Universeum, Nya Ullevi or Scandinavium.

The breakfast is also very nice and you must try their famous huge shrimp sandwich, which is a bit expensive, but it's definetely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bass63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A large business hotel 5 minute walk from the avenue and across the road from the liseburg amusement park. Adjacent to local tram routes which is the best way to get around the city.

Food good although the room service menu is shockingly bad. No gym but you can get a pass for a local gym which is a short walk away.

They seemingly have fixed the slow arriving lifts which have been a pain in the past but they continue to build the other tower which has been going on for what seems like forever!

Not my favourite hotel in Gothenburg, but it's okay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A very good business hotel next to the exhibition centre and Liseberg amusement park. Some distance to the downtown. A new tower is currently work ongoing. I had so called VIP room in West Tower, facing to square with major cross section of bus and tram lines. That caused some noise until late in the evening and early in the morning. Hotel restaurant and bar at 23rd floor were nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We often stay at this hotel when in Gothenburg and like it very much. It has spacious rooms, modern and clean. It is conveniently located close to the city centre, Liseberg amusement park, many restaurants, shops, the arenas Scandinavium and Ullevi as well as the exhibition centre (next door). However, size is a problem, as is the present building work. They are constructing a third tower, and extending one of the present two towers by some more floors. Thus, some noise can be expected. Breakfast room is rather big and busy, but with a good spread. The hotel boasts several restaurants, the top being Heaven 23, literally at the top. One of the favourites is the big open sandwich with shrimps. This can also be found at Incontro restaurant or at the downstairs café. Lots of premises for conferences and meetings. Service has always been very good, at the reception, when taking care of our car, helping to get tickets to ice-hockey games etc. Location is a plus. Size is a minus.

Room Tip: Durinig the building work, ask for a room in the West tower to avoid disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Property: Gothia Towers
Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have 1141 rooms & suites and 5 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. Guest have free access to gym and there is a supplement to visit Upper House Spa. A warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing