We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay out of the restaurant!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dockyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dockyard Hotel
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay out of the restaurant!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The positive things first: Upon arrival, the rooms are clean and nicely furnished and maintained. The neighbourhood is quiet (at least it was during our weekend visit).

However, the negative aspects overshadow the positive.

The hotel is located far outside the city centre, and it's a bit of an uphill walk to the tram station. If you arrive by car, the hotel is located in the middle of a commercial/business area, and there are few signs pointing you in the right direction.

The hotel staff was woefully understaffed, particularly when it came to the restaurant. In addition, we were promised the room would be cleaned every day, and fresh towels every other day - none of these happened.

The most memorable thing about the hotel was the food - as in, it was terrible! We ordered a three course-meal of the day our first night. After waiting 40 minutes for starters, it turned out our waitress had forgotten about us (not her fault - as mentioned, the staff was swamped!).
Our steak entrees was overcooked (my wife ordered hers well done - it arrived burned), and with hardly any flavour at all, not even in the so-called pepper sauce. Dessert was OK, but so sweet we had to stop eating or get nauseated.

Breakfast the next days continued in the same vein - undercooked, practically raw (!), bacon, "soft-boiled" eggs that were rock solid, and undrinkable coffee. The second day, a second breakfast rrom was opened up for service, but I was dissuaded when I noticed the wasps and flies crawling on the table.

You can easily get better hotels in Gothenburg. If you use this one, you get a good nights sleep, but stay out of the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slsta1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    95
    42
    19
    10
See reviews for
37
74
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here 2 days for a seminar. It is at the seaside and a very good view. It must be great to be here in summertime. It is quite far from Gotenburg centre. The rooms was nicely furnitured and food was good. 2 or 3 dishes dinner was not expensive, and the restraurant was warm and nice. Can recommend this studio.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms, perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalina_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
435 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is located quite a bit outside central Gothenburg, but if you have business in the area, or if you like to bike or go for long walks, or don't mind a walk to the tram station and then a ride to the city, it is well worth the very decent price. Last time we had booked the waterfront view, this time we were "upgraded" and got such a room anyway. This is very nice, especially on a sunny day. Big, functional, clean rooms, tea/coffeeboiler, small fridge, spatious entrance hall, bathroom. Pictures will tell you more. Breakfast in the morning contains fresh bread and more personally selected cheeses, turkey, home made orange marmelade and blueberry jam - better quality but smaller selection (we like it!!).

Room Tip: Harbour view on a sunny day... :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My first trip to Sweden was fantastic. Started by a great stay at this gem on the sea. The hotel is comfortable. The staff is very accommodating. The grounds are great. It is a close walk to the tram to the City Center. Very enjoy able stay. Thanks for a great experience.

sea.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location is quite a long way outside Gothenburg, but it is a beautiful location. The staff in reception was serviceminded and friendly.
The rooms, when looking at the pictures, I think we were given one of the rooms that were not renovated. It was very dated, the bathroom smelled damp and had mould in the shower. The kitchen was old and we had to turn off the refrigerator during the night because of the noise from it. Still, even though it was dated it was clean.
The breakfast was ok. Not great, not bad. :)

I would recommend this hotel in the summer, for families and if you want a weekend break close to the city at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Located on the outskirts of Gothenburg on the side of the harbour this was fine for a stopover on our way through Sweden. Plenty of room in the two level studio like apartment, free parking and good WiFi all left a favourable impression. Breakfast was fine with a wide selection of food in the restaurant accompanied by views over the harbour. Easy access to central Gothenburg by nearby public transport thus averting the problems of parking etc. However, may not be so suitable if not travelling with own transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spacious nautical style hotel right on the water. Tram located about a 10 min walk that takes you to the archipelagos (ferry). Restaurant food was good. Breakfast served strictly till 9 am - not vacation friendly! Rooms not cleaned daily.

Room Tip: Even if you specify room type on internet booking you have to ask again at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#19 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
6.5 mi away
First Hotel Kviberg Park
First Hotel Kviberg Park
#30 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel 11
Quality Hotel 11
#12 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#24 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockyard Hotel

Property: Dockyard Hotel
Address: Skeppets Arans Vag 23, Building 37 | Västra Frölunda, Gothenburg 426 71, Sweden (Formerly Nya Varvet Studios)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dockyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing