We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the pictures, I think we were given an old room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dockyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dockyard Hotel
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“From the pictures, I think we were given an old room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location is quite a long way outside Gothenburg, but it is a beautiful location. The staff in reception was serviceminded and friendly.
The rooms, when looking at the pictures, I think we were given one of the rooms that were not renovated. It was very dated, the bathroom smelled damp and had mould in the shower. The kitchen was old and we had to turn off the refrigerator during the night because of the noise from it. Still, even though it was dated it was clean.
The breakfast was ok. Not great, not bad. :)

I would recommend this hotel in the summer, for families and if you want a weekend break close to the city at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    95
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
37
74
10
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Located on the outskirts of Gothenburg on the side of the harbour this was fine for a stopover on our way through Sweden. Plenty of room in the two level studio like apartment, free parking and good WiFi all left a favourable impression. Breakfast was fine with a wide selection of food in the restaurant accompanied by views over the harbour. Easy access to central Gothenburg by nearby public transport thus averting the problems of parking etc. However, may not be so suitable if not travelling with own transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spacious nautical style hotel right on the water. Tram located about a 10 min walk that takes you to the archipelagos (ferry). Restaurant food was good. Breakfast served strictly till 9 am - not vacation friendly! Rooms not cleaned daily.

Room Tip: Even if you specify room type on internet booking you have to ask again at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

First off, there are some really good things about this hotel. The rooms are very spacious. The view from the hotel grounds is very beautiful, since it sits right next to the water. The standards and the service of the hotel aren't at all bad, the staff is nice, the rooms are clean, the breakfast was good, but they're nothing to write home about. It gives off more of a homely feeling than a luxurious hotel feeling.

Now, unless you're traveling by car (or taxi) the location isn't very good. If you're walking to/from the tram, it can take 45 minutes to 1 hour to get into the city center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a relly nice hotel clean, spacious rooms with windows that open and some with ocean view! It is peaceful and the location is great if you like to walk and look around ! The breakfast was wonderful with fresh bread, fruits and even hot eggs and bacon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inga s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I give Nya Varvet Studios a solid 3 rating. The biggest drawback is its isolated location, about a 20 minute walk to the tram, and another 20 minute tram ride into Goteborg. There are really no restaurants or cafes or anything else in this area. The restaurant in the hotel is decent, but it all closes at 1030. Also, you can't carry any drink back up to the room; it has to be consumed at the bar. The rooms in the main house are larger and slightly more expensive than the cramped bungalows in the separate buildings nearby. You have to pay for Wifi, and it can only be used on one device. These odd rules add to the general annoyance of staying here (I do think the staff were always friendly). The rooms are clean but nothing special. On the positive side, it's definitely less expensive than hotels in the city, the surrounding area and the river are beautiful, and it's closer to the archipelago islands. But I wouldn't recommend staying here.

Room Tip: stay in the main building for rooms that are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pro's: Nice waterfront location. Cozy and intimate split level room: entrance with very small bathroom, sitting area w/fridge and coffee maker, separate sleeping area. Excellent restaurant for lunch and dinner; the complimentary breakfast is OK. Nice staff overall. Free parking (a premium in Gothenburg!) and free Wi-Fi (but only for one device). Quiet area.

Con's: Hard to find, you need a GPS. Accommodations seem geared to the Swedish conference crowd (I'm a Swedish native so I should know). Not much to do on walking distance and public transport seems a long trek (we had a rental car, highly recommended). Tiniest bathroom I've seen in a long time! No climate control beyond heating and opening the windows (no mosquito nets). Complimentary breakfast only served until 9:00 a.m. on weekdays - pretty stingy for people on holiday! Note that the rooms are not cleaned during short stays (we stayed 3 nights) - towels changed every other day though.

Room Tip: There are several different buildings - we were in 23A and it was really quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraderBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotell Barken Viking
Hotell Barken Viking
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
3.2 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockyard Hotel

Property: Dockyard Hotel
Address: Skeppets Arans Vag 23, Building 37 | Västra Frölunda, Gothenburg 426 71, Sweden (Formerly Nya Varvet Studios)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Dockyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing