We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect b-day dinner destination”

Restaurang Familjen
Ranked #55 of 1,279 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $130
Cuisines: Swedish, Scandinavian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a perfect b-day dinner destination”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I've chosen this restaurant for my b-day dinner after consulting with several people on couchsurfing who leaves in Gothenburg. This restaurant offers both a la carte and menu packs. We went for a standard Familjen menu dinner pack with bottle of white wine.
The choices of wine were quite limited, but in average very good middle-price range of wine.
For the food, it was served in particular fashion with offers for aperitifs and main course, it's on edge between standard restaurant bistro and high couture restaurant. The food was cooked properly and tasted well, but there was nothing so special about it.
We did not have time for dessert, so we just went for espresso instead.
Overall very positive summer Swedish atmosphere restaurant.
I think for summer sitting outside would be more preferable. There is also a bar outside, what makes it even better destination to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yulcya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    97
    35
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Best food in town.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Traditional swedish dishes with a modern take. I really like their suggested menus. 3 course dinner at about 35 Euros. Informal style. Listed in the white guide.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stylish with correct food but unfair check at the end!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

It was our second trip to Familjen, we had enjoyed the first one 2 years ago my fiancée, my 4 year old daughter and myself had a very nice evening in this trendy yet stylish restaurant in the heart of Gothenburg. This time we had booked and it's recommended as this place is often packed. My fiancée and I chose a 3 course suggested menu but since she doesn't eat fish or seafood asked to have another starter. Only 1 on the list didn't contain fish so she kind of had to take it (gnocchi with Jerusalem artichoke salad) it was good and we both enjoyed the entire menu. Well we had a nice time until the check arrived as we discovered that my fiancée menu was charge entirely a la carte price! Really unfair cause instead Of paying 305 sek we paid 390 sek for a different starte... Not nice at all in our opinion.

Helpful?
Thank lolostella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A really classy meal”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The food was excellent, and the atmosphere nice and relaxing. I would happily go again, if back in Gothenburg.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ma03042014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stylish, relaxed and great food.”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Upon our late arrival after a busy working day we were greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful waiter who showed us to our table and went through the menu options. This was particularly helpful as the menu and different courses could be confusing but with the excellent explanations it was not a problem.
We then enquired about the local drinks on offer and again were guided through the drinks, given some useful recommendations (the locally brewed pale ale was superb).
Our food arrived promptly and was superb in presentation and taste. The waiter described the cooking process and the ingredients prior to each course and even when one of our party asked for some more of his main the waiter swiftly organised an extra portion without a fuss.
The desert was sublime and as with all the food was beautifully presented, using fresh local ingredients. Swedish food but with a modern twist.
Overall highly recommended, excellent food, impeccable service and not too expensive either.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brist0l_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurang Familjen also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Restaurang Familjen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing