We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel in Gothenburg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We reserved this hotel because it was cheaper than the other hotels in Gothenburg. I was a little nervous at first because it's pretty far from the city center. However, the tram stop is only a 2 minute walk and takes you directly into the center.

The only problem that we had was finding the hotel when we first got off of the tram. There aren't any signs marking the building, so we ended up walking up Falkenbergsgatan trying to find it. It was only after we were about to give up and give them a call did we realize that it sits in the same building as Willy's Supermarket. There is only a very small sign that you can see when you are in front of the entrance.

The customer service was great; very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite pleasant as well. There was a kitchen, so that we could prepare our own meals, thus saving money on food. Plus, with the supermarket right below us, it couldn't be more convenient. There were also English-language channels, which made my children happy.

The only inconvenience was not having maid service during our time there. This wouldn't have been a problem at all, but the trash cans are very small so they weren't emptied, thus creating a bit of a problem.

Other than that, there were no indications that this was a budget accommodation. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were quite satisfactory. If I ever come back to Gothenburg, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFamilyCinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Här bor du bra med hund!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnbritt2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMektagonen, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMektagonen, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
Thank ErikNordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMektagonen, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMektagonen, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 591owek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMektagonen, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Trude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMektagonen, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
#18 of 65 in Gothenburg
774 reviews
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
2.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 65 in Gothenburg
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen

Address: Falkenbergsgatan 3 | and Molndalsvagen, Gothenburg 412 85, Sweden (Formerly StayAt Gothenburg)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $105 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen!Our 149 fresh hotel rooms vary in size from 32 to 60 square meters. All rooms are equipped with their own cooking facilities. If you choose one of our superior rooms you can enjoy a roof terrace view facing Gothenburg's event street. In our suites you get the opportunity to enjoy your own sauna.The hotel offers conference rooms, relax facilities, laundry and a restaurant. There is also a supermarket in the building, perfect if you want to cook for yourself in your room. Even if you are here for business or enjoying time off with family or friends, there is every opportunity for a great stay with us.From the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen, the heart of Gothenburg's event street is within 15 minutes walk, with Liseberg, The Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre and Scandinavium as pearls on a string. If you prefer to take a tram The Avenue is just minutes away.Our 24 hour reception service ensures your best possible stay. All rooms have dining area, sofa beds, bathrooms, with fully equipped cooking facilities, coffee & tea, flat screen TV, a hairdryer, an iron & ironing board and Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing