We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good for 4 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We are currently here for visiting the Christmas market. The hotel provided us with a big room with a small kitchen, ideal for us who has a small kid. This was excellent service from the hotel. Dinner ( pizza) and breakfast was really good! Room and general areas are very clean and good maintained !

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Cplcaubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 533 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Everything about this place was good - the room was modern, clean and spacious with a lovely bathroom. The front desk staff were really helpful and flexible when it came to check out. They had an extensive buffet breakfast which was of a high standard. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which makes getting around the city simple though if you prefer to walk, you can get to the centre in about 30mins. I would have no hesitation in staying here if I were to return to Gothenburg!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Warm friendly check in, good clean room, plenty clean fresh towels, great shower, silent air con, good bed, good breakfast. The tram across the road takes you into Brunnspark in 10 minutes. I’d be perfectly happy to come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmydash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in mid-October. As mentioned in previous reviews, the location is a bit odd (in an office type building). However, you can't beat the convenience of having a grocery store located in the basement. This allowed us to do some cooking in the fully stocked kitchenette and save money/feed picky eaters. The breakfast was plentiful, although not necessarily my favorite (lots of salty fish/meat products), but then again I've been to plenty of hotels in the US that provide breakfasts that are just "meh." I discovered the waffles about halfway through our stay.
The staff is extremely friendly and they speak English. You can buy all day transportation tickets at the front desk and then walk literally across the parking lot to get to the tram, which was simple and convenient to use.
The room was large and super clean. There was even a sauna and bathrobes/slippers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llqool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Te hotel is close to our work place and the rooms are big with all cokking amenities. The grocery stroe near by in the same complex is very helpful. The staff is courteous and the food is good provided you are a non vegetarian. For vegetarians it is restricted

Room Tip: Even good for families and excellent for business
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights during the later part of august. No complaints at all, except that the taxi drivers in Gothenburg seems to have a hard time finding the hotel, but that's not the hotel's fault..

As for the service and the room, everything was excellent. The breakfast had everything I wanted, and even had waffles, which of course is a big plus. The scrambled eggs could use some more love, though..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hnrkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here with two friends one night. Arrived by car from Stockholm and continued the next day further south. Location by both those freeways was just perfect. Very swift to get in and out of town. Parking deck by the hotel.
Not so good location if you want to be near the nicer central parts of Gothenburg.

Rooms for three with your own terrace were huge. With a kitchenette, dining table and a large bathroom. No complaints really.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozzer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
3.5 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
2.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,108 reviews
2.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen

Address: Falkenbergsgatan 3 | and Molndalsvagen, Gothenburg 412 85, Sweden (Formerly StayAt Gothenburg)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $105 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen!Our 149 fresh hotel rooms vary in size from 32 to 60 square meters. All rooms are equipped with their own cooking facilities. If you choose one of our superior rooms you can enjoy a roof terrace view facing Gothenburg's event street. In our suites you get the opportunity to enjoy your own sauna.The hotel offers conference rooms, relax facilities, laundry and a restaurant. There is also a supermarket in the building, perfect if you want to cook for yourself in your room. Even if you are here for business or enjoying time off with family or friends, there is every opportunity for a great stay with us.From the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen, the heart of Gothenburg's event street is within 15 minutes walk, with Liseberg, The Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre and Scandinavium as pearls on a string. If you prefer to take a tram The Avenue is just minutes away.Our 24 hour reception service ensures your best possible stay. All rooms have dining area, sofa beds, bathrooms, with fully equipped cooking facilities, coffee & tea, flat screen TV, a hairdryer, an iron & ironing board and Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing