We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and spa, but probably hyped”
Review of Sankt Jorgen Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankt Jorgen Park
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When you read the reviews and the hotel website along with the awards, the expectations get high. All in all, our stay was nice, but I believe the hotel has been hyped to something that is out of proportion with reality.

As a hotel guest you have to pay 300 SEK extra to enter the spa. You have access to a relaxation area and two pools - one is heated outside, which is nice. However, that seems rather pricey as you've already paid quite some for the room.

The rooms and spa are in beautiful materials and the surroundings are a mix of industrial park and nature with the city on the horizon. It is hard to do anything nearby, so you would need to pay for a taxi or bring your own car. Gothenburg is rather pricey to park in and it is quite chaotic sometimes to drive on your own, so this is a big minus, given that you can get a pool and a central location at the same price. If you come to the park resort, you come for the spa, but as I've mentioned earlier, I think the spa was nice, but nothing special. Strip away the expensive interior and materials, and all you have is two pools. Not enough to get me to drive around in my own car, when I can just stay in the city center and still have a pool and spa treatments.

The nice glass interior backfired aswell, when we took a shower and it got damp. On our "city view" windows it said "DIE". What happened to the cleaning?

As a plus I would mention that the bacon was crisp. You'd think this is how it should be, but my experience is that very few hotels actually take the time to prepare it crispy. A nice little attention to detail.

In essence, what I'm trying to say is, the hotel and the spa is nice, but I think it is abit too expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarsIKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Sankt Jorgen Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 716 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

The only downside is the location - if you do not have a car it would not be a good choice for you. Otherwise, this is a wonderful hotel / spa: clean, modern, terrific service, comfortable and large rooms, and a very nice restaurant. The breakfast buffet is superb - one of the best I've had. On a recent Saturday night (can't speak for other nights) there were live musicians playing in the bar / lounge area that provided a great ambiance. Helpful, attentive staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Sankt Jorgen Park Resort is a hotel andspa extraordinaire. Just on the outskirts of Gothenburg, it seems to be at the business park end of the town. However, once you enter the hotel, you are in the most delightful space. The hotel and its spa are exceptional. The hotel is understated, with clean, ergonomically designed spaces, lovely artwork and an exceptional restaurant. The breakfast was wonderful and, as we were there on a beautiful summer's morning, we ate outside where there are glass pods to sit in and relax over coffee and a wonderful Swedish breakfast. The spa is faultless. The space is totally zen. With two beautiful pools, brilliant sauna and steam options, a uber modern state of the art gym (the best I've ever been to) and wonderful treatments. Two days of total relaxation at the highest level of facilities, cleanliness and well being run by friendly, helpful staff. Couldn't ask for anything better.....can't wait to go back next year and recharge.....

Room Tip: Better to have a room with a window - not the Atrium which overlooks the hotel bar/lounge and has no...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minisara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for business. Location is not convenient to city and there did not seem to be any services within walking distance (mostly light industrial nearby). That being said, the property itself is beautiful and the rooms are clean and bright. The service was excellent. Did not get a chance to use the spa services but appeared to be very nice facilities. There are also walking/running trails nearby.

The morning breakfast was wonderful and much variety. We also had a few dinners there and I would say their dinner menu had limited selection (although an excellent wine selection!).

Room Tip: City view rooms have a nice faraway view of the city. My colleagues made fun of the "forest vi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calpoidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was one of the best surprises that I've had in 13 years...on a business trip!
Affordability, functionality and luxury all discovered at this resort. The staff was outstanding, very friendly and always eager to help plan, solve and cater to your group's needs. After the long meeting days, there was always something indoors or outdoors for everyone to enjoy, relax and unwind. No loud, party scenes here....this is a spa & sports paradise.
In every dimension of this extensive complex, there is a vast assortment of activities and magical interplay of the senses: from sound, lights, heat and ice, water, something for the taste buds to the ultimate in relaxation when you discover the swaying beds on the rooftop of the hotel.
The restaurant features first-class healthy and delicious cuisine. The "raw food-inspired" lunch buffet in the spa is not to be missed - it converted even the biggest of the skeptics in our group! But don't forget that food is not the main attraction here. The dining hours and the fare in the mini-bars are limited for a reason. For smaller groups, it's best to book a dinner table before 21:00 on weekdays or you may not get that special dish featured on the menu or even if you do, you might miss a few side items that were supposed to be included.

Everything you need can be found in one location. Perfect to re-energize the team in between meeting days! It was no surprise that several of our attendees opted to stay on after the meeting had ended. It's 100% true to say that those who come here will be back again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms feature spa bathrooms (rain showerhead included) and floor to ceiling windows. Ther...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audiowithoutborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my second visit to the hotel and I can only say good things about it. Check in is always smooth, the rooms are lovely, quiet, stylish, comfortable beds and nice toiletries. If anything is missing just call reception. The fitness centre is well equipped and has some classes (yoga etc). We were here to use the spa and it is just amazing. I have never bothered with booking any treatments as the spa is enough. There is a lovely indoor swimming pool with a tea house at one end where you can just hang out. Water and apples everywhere. I highly recommend booking the spa ritual as you get more out of the various parts of the spa and get to keep the lovely products. The breakfast is wonderful with lots of lovely breads, crispbreads, meats and cheese, health foods, juices, teas and coffee, bacon, eggs etc as well as make your own waffles. Dinner is always great and the staff are very friendly. We make this trip once a year now as it's so good. Best spa I have ever been to...It's 15 mins in a taxi from the train station (costs around 300 SEK)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banany73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My second stay here and it is a very nice hotel that is clean and nice decorated, but the reason to go here is the SPA, it is just perfect! A lot of saunas to choose from, warm water in the pool and nice products in the showers. It is a delicate scent all over the place that feels very fresh and relaxed. The food in the restaurant is served by nice and attentive staff and the taste is delicious. What I don´t like here is the sliding glasdoor to the bathroom in the hotelroom, I´m not comfortable with this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camillann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
818 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,786 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,743 reviews
2.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,076 reviews
5.4 mi away
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
#41 of 67 in Gothenburg
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankt Jorgen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankt Jorgen Park

Address: 8 Knipplekullen, Gothenburg 417 49, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $263 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sankt Jorgen Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique resort with a designer hotel, spa, golf course, sport club and four great restaurants. The resort is beautiful located just ten minutes from central Gothenburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sankt Jorgen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing