We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you are not extremely noise sensitive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Okens Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Varberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great place if you are not extremely noise sensitive”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Yes, it is just a few metres from the train station and train tracks. Finding earplugs as the hotel amenties clearly gives you a hint what to expect. However at our rooms facing the back side of the building, we did not suffer too much from the noise

Otherwise well located, restaurants, shops, parks and the fortress just few metres away

The devil is in the details........there was just a shower curtain in our bathroom, and wet everywhere after a shower. We also missed a bed table or little shelf near the bed. And ironed sheets would have made that little extra differnce. However in general we were happy to stay at Okens, and would gladly do so again

Delicious breakfast and very friendly staff

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a quiet room if you are sensitive to noise from the street/Trains There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
83
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Small, not clean, rooms smell musty and really small beds which are not comfortable at all. They are small and really soft. If you like to get up rested choose another hotel. This B&B has a poor price quality ratio.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gert O, Owner at Okens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are so sad to hear that you are not satisfied with your stay and our little B&B. Your comments are nothing we normally hear from other guests, and we would love to hear from you so we can figure out what went wrong and that it will not happen to other guests in the future. And to my knowledge you didn't mention anything during your stay so we could have a chance to fix what was wrong. Sincerely Gert Okén
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Really great experience! Great hosts, cosy rooms and fantastic breakfast buffet.
Furthermore, the owners where really genuinly helpfull with travel advise and table reservation so we could get the absolutely best seafood in Göteborg!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Loved the owners, they were very personable and waited for us (as we were running late) before closing for the night.

They gave us directions for the free car parking garage as well. They also told us how to enjoy a long walk around town and it was just as wonderful as they described it.

The only complaint I had was the stairs were hard to go up and down with a suitcase. However the owner helped us with that!

The room was small but lovely, very well decorated and extremely clean. Pillows are too flat for my taste.

There was a wonderful courtyard to sit in and read your book and have a cup of coffee. We got the coffee from down the street and enjoyed the courtyard to our selves.

The breakfast was modest but very good.

We certainly would go back, and would recommend this to our friends. Did I mention the price was very fair.

Room Tip: Get a room with a courtyard view. Very quiet and so relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed a few weeks ago in Sept and loved it. Gert and Diba were great. I was traveling on business, so you may not have some of the usual business amenities, but was nice to feel like home. If you visit in the warmer months, be sure to walk down to the beach area. Also, plenty of nice places to go eat in town. Nice location. Carrying my large luggage up the narrow spiral staircase would be my only complaint, but well worth a few minutes of struggle for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Okéns with our 2 small children. The room was nice, perhaps a bit more worn and torn than what the pictures on the website indicate. There were (minor?) things that were annoying, i.e. there was no shower cabinet so the water was all over the floor when you finished showering. There was a wardrobe but that was for hanging clothes only which meant that we had to live out of our bags for our stay. Nor was there anywhere but the floor to place our bags.
This b&b is not child-friendly. There is no elevator and the breakfast room is quite "cozy" which means the couples who want to read their newspapers might not appreciate the toddler's babbling.
We were greeted by a young employee who repeated several times within 3 minutes that she was leaving and on her way out. I was a bit put off by this. We had no intention of taking more than those 3 minutes of her time and saying once that she was leaving would have sufficed. In that regard, I would not say there was a bed and breakfast feel to the place. We never figured out who the owners were which is, in my opinion, part of the experience of a b&b.
On that note, I would recommend Okéns to couples/romantic getaways for a night or 2. The location is great--an easy walk to everywhere. There were ear plugs in the bathroom to drown out the noise from the busy street. The town of Varberg is charming, the fortress interesting, and the restaurant Bodegas a must!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahVA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed at the okens B&B for one night,but would have loved to stayed more. The room(#11) was realy nice, with a brand new bathroom. Not big but with everything you need. The location of Okens is exelent if you need to go with the ferry to Grenaa Denmark, its just a minute away.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kms_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
1.3 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
0.5 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okens Bed & Breakfast

Property: Okens Bed & Breakfast
Address: 25 Vaestra Vallgatan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 41, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Varberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Okens Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run hotel in the heart of Varberg. While you are staying here, you will enjoy a warm and comfortable atmosphere, which will make you feel right at homeThe hotel is within walking distance of everything in Varberg...The Fort, the Square, cafes and restaurants and the ocean.Our rooms are romantically furnished with canopy beds and their own personal touches.The hotel has free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Okens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing