We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average room, pretty good food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotell Gastis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotell Gastis
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Below average room, pretty good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July 2013 in preparation to catch the ferry to Denmark the next day. We were a family of 4, and the room we were given was in the loft, and it was 4 single beds, which were fine, however the room itself, was a boardroom for conferences, so there was not adequate covering for the windows, so it let alot of light in, there was no air conditioning, so the room was extremely warm. However we thought it was an excellent breakfast, as well as dinner the night before was also included in the price which was a buffet style and again very good. For the accomodation alone I wouldnt stay at this hotel again, or recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrilouise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    60
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
68
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is so different! A nice, cosy place, that makes you feel like you're staying with an old relative, rather than at a hotel. The rooms are very home-like, far from trends and yet everything you need is there. Details everywhere, which is why everything takes longer to do, as you have to look at all signs, pictures and books along the way.
Breakfast and dinner buffets were really nice (and included in the price) with a wide choice, so everyone could find something they liked (we were three with different tastes). A plus for the complimentary tea available all over.
The Lenin Bath was good, beautiful, calm and made you forget about the world outside! Things like candlelight around the pool and all the details, from the tiling down to the fine woodwork, made me happy.
Another thing was that, during the stay, one noticed that there wasn't the ordinary spa-hotel-guest that stayed here, the feeling was different and also the topics at the dinner-tables. You don't have to be politically left-wing to stay here, but it may make you feel more comfortable. It's enough to be into books - the walls of corridors and rooms are lined with books and the package we had booked included that we pick out a few books to take home.
The only thing I don't approve of is the love of the cigar at this place, since today you expect a hotel to be smoke-free, but it didn't cause any smell so I let that pass...
I recommend this place to anyone curious and open-minded who wants something different. Also for those who really need to escape to a blue crypt-like, candle-lit spa for a while.
As for Varberg, it's a small town by the sea, nice to visit in summer. The hotel is in the centre and everything is at walking distance, also the sea, the beaches and the fortress. You can easily come by train, the station is close to the hotel, and you don't really need a car once here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This calls it'self a guest house and is friendly, helpful and oh so cheerful! No two rooms are the same shape. There are over 15,000 books - lining corridors,bedroom walls and every nook and cranny. Framed 40's movie posters, period announcements, cards and paraphernalia on all the walls. Buffet dinner (very welcome as we'd arrived rather late by train) and breakfast included in price. I cannot manage stairs so we skipped the "Lenin spa". Free internet. Varberg has historically been, and still is, a popular seaside resort town. Finally we found ourselves among Swedes more than tourists. Would recommend to friends and revisit.

Room Tip: Windows have double glazing so SILENCE can be easily achieved. All rooms have their own fun elements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We were so looking forward to spending the night at the Gastis and experiencing the Lenin spa, but on checking in, we were told that there was no booking made in our names. Thankfully, I had printed off the e-mail from the Gastis confirming the booking (I had e-mailed them to confirm that they had twin rooms, which I could not see as an option on the on-line booking system.) and handed it all across. We were offered a free drink whilst the member of staff investigated. We were told that we had been booked in for the wrong night, their fault not ours, but they had booked us into another local hotel.
Great service in resolving the issue, but poor service in the booking!
Would loved to have stayed and given it 5 star reviews but unfortunately can't!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

The whole town was fully booked and we couldn't see a thing because of the dense fog so we were so relieved to find this hotel in the dark. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The dinner and breakfast were included which was a blessing for tired travellers. Good food. The room was so nice, so clean, so comfy. Nice and modern room just like the hotel inside. Very different than what you would expect. Parking was free as long as you stayed on the streets. Internet was good. The whole place is a real museum. So interesting. It was over our budget but it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Have just stayed one night at Gästis (Gastis) Hotel.

We chose this hotel on TripAdvisor reviews and can only agree with the other 5 star reviewers comments.

Room Tip: Every room is different but we had room 108 and it could not be faulted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svenskal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed here one night earlier this week with my fiancé and had a wonderful time and felt right at home from the start.

The hotel is very cosy, charming and full of little surprises in the decoration and interior. Pure fun. Both breakfast and dinner buffét was really good, a little disappointed that we couldn't get a recommendation for a suiting wine for the dinner though - we did however find a good one on our own, so no harm done. We didn't have time to visit the Lenin bath unfortunately, but my fiancé did have a massage and was very pleased with it.

A nice touch to have free tea/coffee all day + a ton of other free services, like cleaning, videos (VHS), magazines, books (several thousands), gym access etc. If we come back to visit Varberg again, we'll be sure to stay here again! Price was OK considering everything that was included.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
0.1 mi away
Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
0.5 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
17.7 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Gastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Gastis

Property: Hotell Gastis
Address: 1 Borgmaestaregatan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 41, Sweden (Formerly Ditt Hotell-Hotell Gastis)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Gastis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotell Gastis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing