We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a retreat away from daily life ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Certificate of Excellence
Göteborg
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a retreat away from daily life ”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a 2-day-conference in November 2013.

The hotel is grand, no question. I liked the two faces, a classical one taking advantage of the history of the building with old furniture and stained glass; then there's the "Alice in wonderland" face, armchairs with 2m-high-back in gold, or purple colors.

Rooms have different styles. Mine was in the "Alice in Wonderland" spirit, all white. The room was not huge, but there was comfy chairs, a great bed, and modern bathroom. Special mention to the premium toiletries.

One drawback is the size of the hotel and the very confusing room numbering. If you are looking for a place to hide, nobody will find you here.

The spa was worth the money in my opinions with 4 saunas at different temperatures, inside and outside pools with water streams.

Breakfast was plentiful with an excellent fresh orange juice.

Overall, I recommend this hotel, especially if you plan to spend time there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    146
    41
    12
    1
See reviews for
61
201
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Currently staying at Varbergs Stadshotell for a few days (October 2013) for business meetings. A very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, located right on the downtown square surrounded by many shops and restaurants, and within 5-10 minutes walk to the Varberg Fortress and the beautiful paved walking / bicycling path along the ocean.

Have not had time to use the spa but those who did said they liked the spa services.

Our room #702 is located in the newly renovated section of the hotel. The room is large, has 2 beds, a living room with chairs and sofa, a small kitchenette table which also serves as a desk, an espresso machine, refrigerator, fancy electric controls, 2 flat panel TVs, and large bathroom with a separate bathtub and shower. Overall this is a very nice hotel.

The only problem is Room 702 has extremely poor -- or more likely zero Internet connection. One evening, my Nook e-reader was able to connect for 30 minutes (slow speed) as long as I stayed in the bed which was just a few feet away from the entrance door. But most of the time, neither our laptop computer nor Mac could connect to the hotel's WiFi in Room 792. In fact, the signal is so weak and it goes in and out every few seconds that our iPhone cannot even locate the hotel's WiFi at all. Because of this, we have to sit in the lobby just to check our emails and do basic Internet tasks.

The hotel says they have been aware of the problem for some time, and that it happens with some rooms and some sections.We pointed out that all they need is to put a couple of extra routers and antennas in the affected section of the building. We pointed out that we had no problem connecting to this hotel's WiFi from across the street in an unrelated Kebab restaurant, but not in our guest room. The staff smiled and said they are aware of that, too. But after 3 days, they have not fix this easily solvable issue. The way the WiFi signal comes and disappear also suggests that their WiFi vendor's equipment is bad or low grade.

Anyhow, if you are a business person who need Internet connection to keep on top of your work or catch up while vacationing, this may cause quite frustration and inconvenience -- just the opposite effect that their Spa is marketing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayumimazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the train station and Varberg Fortress. Check in was quick, the front desk was helpful with maps and area information.

My room was on the small side, but laid out nicely and super clean. The room was also very quiet, and the bed was comfortable. I was here on business, and didn't end up visiting the spa. I did spend two evenings working in the bar. Beer selection was good, the bar menu had some good selections (although the servings are really small...smallest Raksmorgas I have ever had.

I really enjoyed my walk from the hotel to the marina and fortress. A wonderful, safe area. Great value for the money. Breakfast was included, and was a buffet with many options.

Room Tip: I liked my room at the end of the hall on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lunch at varberg Stadshotell was like walking into a funeral parlour. It took 10 minutes for staff to actually come to the 'wait here stand'. Another few minutes while the waiter walked off and then decided to seat us. "You saw the menu then?" was his next comment. Salad bar is uncovered and a bacteria haven, can't beleive this is legal? The main course was slightly warm, the fish dry and very strange taste, the sauce was watery, the beetroot dirty skin still on it, potates were good.
We had to chase staff to pay, no one bothered to ask if we enjoyed our lunch? A lot of staff around but totally non service minded. The venue is nicely decorated but that is it. I do not understand how anyone can rave about this place or the food. Don't get me started on the spa? I guess it depends what service you have experienced before wether you think this is good or not.
A total disappointment.

Room Tip: One of those places that thinks its something that it isn't. If you are well travelled and exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JneJ169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenciennes, France
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I spend some days ago two nigths in this hotel for business.
Hotel is wellsituated mid of the town.
First impression: just after check in, I was asked to pay the rooms in advance: very strange!
I discovered a tiny room coupled with a tiny bathroom ( room 137): don't take more than 1 lugguage.
In addition, my colleague gave the keys of his car at the reception with the demand to overhand me these keys next days.
When I was asking the keys, the were lost for 20 minutes at least and was finally found back, not notice, nomessage from one crew to the other: there is a huge potential in improvements in term of organisation in this hotel.
Service can easily be improved.

Room Tip: Avoid room 137: it is very small and in addition you have a limited view on an internal horrible ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpm-ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Magnificent building next to the market with all shops and restaurants in the walking distance. Friendly staff and room was clean and functional. Good value for money. Only drawback is it is not close to the water...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BoefieDeBoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful areas throughout the hotel, and a beuautiful, clean room with plenty of space. Gave a luxurious impression . Beds were ok, but a bit hard. Our room on the fourth floor faced the other hotel building, which ment no view of the surroundings, but a nice little basic garden area in between nad it was quiet anyway. We didn´t pay all the extra money to access the spa since we didn´t have much time at the hotel, and there was supposidly a relax area open to all guest. But it was such a disappointment with just two small saunas, a shower, and a long sofa, with uptempo songs playing in the speakers - not very relaxing at all. It´s a pity you can´t even access the pool. Asia spa is very nice, but far too expensive to pay extra for unless you plan to spend a lot of time there to fully enjoy it. Another negative thing is parking, which was several hundred meters away, which is not very convenient if you have a lot of luggage or difficulties walking. Otherwise the location in itself is excellent in the middle of the town centre, just a couple of hundred meters away from the fortress and sea. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
1.2 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
376 reviews
17.6 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
2,580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa

Property: Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
Address: 24-26 Kungsgatan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 41, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing