We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
Nearby Hotels
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotell Gastis(Varberg)
$142
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$152
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apelvikens Camping(Varberg)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pensionat Frillesberg(Vastra Gotaland County)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
313
182
49
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
182
49
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique roomstop floornice hotelbusiness tripthe heart of the cityfive minute walkfood and winepay extrasteam bathhigh standardeasy accessreception areabed was comfortablebreakfast roomgreat atmospherefree parkinggreat breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 561 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Everything else is however... they have some of the BEST coffee and service, the breakfast fabulous and the location is superb... However, the rooms in the old section don't have full length mirrors and the hair dryers are dinosaurs and wall hung ironing boards are just tacky. Friends were in the new section while I was in the old, and if you could take the best of both you would definitely have a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section, the heritage side and if you are up to comparing, ask to move! Do not miss the coffee... As an Illy addict, I actually stocked up on Sweden's best, Arvid Nordquist, Exotic, house coffee at the hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnclaire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have stayed a couple of times at this hotel and it's always welcoming. As an old "Stadshotell" it's situated smack in the middle of things at the main city square. Both check-in and check-out was carried out smoothly.

The rooms are of a good size and comfortable. On this last visit we stayed in a standard room instead of something a bit bigger, but still had plenty of space for the crib we needed for our kid. The only let down was that both of us felt the beds were a bit too soft - not good with a slight back problem.

Due to refurbishing the lobby and bar has been changed since the last time we were here but it was still a nice and relaxed environment.

Breakfast was served in a temporary room and lacked a little in good ambience to be honest while the breakfast itself was OK but not extra-ordinary.

The highlight (especielly on a rainy day) for us as a family with children was the play room. really well equipped and an instant hit with the 16 month son of ours.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here at two occasions for business. The hotel is in the very central part of Varberg, 5 mn from train station. The first time, I was allotted a standard room in the "old" part of the hotel. Room was cramped, a bit outdated and nothing to write home about.

The second time, I got a room in the "new" part of the hotel (the building is old and not intuitive when moving around), a so called boutique room. Boy, what a difference. Although the view from my window (8th floor) was nothing - an uninteresting patio - the room was probably the most well-equipped I have experienced. Nespresso machine with plenty of capsules, of course. A shoe care-box, very nice. An additional door to close from the inside in order to shut out the noise. A very spacious bathroom, almost too spacious as it shrinks the size of the bedroom, with innovative lighting, waterfall shower from the ceiling etc. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was good though not extraordinary. Dinner at hotel was pricey but decent. Nice lobby to hang out for a glass or bottle. Unfortunately, I did not have time to try the spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a boutique room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poha8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you book the new "boutique" rooms you will enjoy your stay? A bit pricy but worth it? Very nice equipped rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed here for a short conference a couple of cold and rainy days in January 2012. The hotel was more than ok, friendly and helpful staff. Good conference rooms. Unfortunately didn't have time to try the spa. Good breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews