We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended for relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Certificate of Excellence
Menfi, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Recommended for relax”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've been there for just one night and I enjoyed my stay at 360 degrees. The position is perfect, just beside the main square and at few steps from the fortress. The double room was extremely clean and quiet. Everything inside is new and inspired to boat/ship interiors. Dinner and breakfast were also good (maybe dinner had a "poor" main course but there was enough choice of starters). Fika was a bit poor. The bubble pool and the sauna were just perfect for a cold and windy November day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    143
    51
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
173
11
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the Varberg fortress, only a few minutes walk. The same with the city center. It offers an evening buffé, a "fika" buffé and a breakfast buffé, food is plenty that is. The complete food experience was kind of average though, not everything was presented in a apeticing way. The hotel feels overall very fresh and is probably rescently renovated inside. From the outside it looks a bit boring, and the view from my room was a parking garage, but it was OK. Intreresting and fitting design in the hallways and in the rooms, a feeling of seaside/harbour. Rooms are nice, especially the bathrooms, but my television was old, so no HDMI there sadly. The staff made some blunders when I stayed there, such as disturbing me in my room and not remembering that I provided a voucher at arraival. No big deal, but still rememberable since I am not used to it.

Room Tip: Window to the west is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was happy with my stay at Scandic Fregatten.
The hotels location is great, you might even have a view over the harbor, depending on your room.
The hotel appears to be fresh and modern, however you can tell that its not the latest and greatest.
Of course it is nice with the free dinner. That really made me come over to Clarion being a Scandic frequent guest lately. They really spent effort on variety and freshness of the food.
Another highlight is the whirlpool and Sauna in my opinion. Ssshhh: They even offer free beer here ;-) Could you imagine a more relaxing situation after a stressful day?
But a big minus during my stay in room 203 is the cleanliness.
I don't know if the cleaning lady had a bad day almost every day, but it was dusty and dirty whenever I came "home" during that week. She doesn't dare to refill toiletries either.
A bit sad. Otherwise I would have given a 5 star rating perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

In this hotel chain, all of the "Collection hotels" offer a free dinner buffet. Have never been able to understand the logic between the hotels with free dinner or the other ones in the same chain.... Prices are about the same. This vegetarian has always been pleased with the selection. And price! This hotel is quite well situated for visiting the city, walking 200 m to the harbor and catching the fishing boat,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSwedishBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

On a cold snowy night my satnav took me to this hotel, arriving at 11pm it was a beacon and I was very glad to arrive. A large very Scandinavia styled hotel next to the railway station and in the heart of town. Great service on check in, large room with wet room, bar and Internet. Breakfast was great with huge selection on the hot and cold buffet. Mine was a flying visit but I will stay again if I find myself in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the train station side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona
Level Contributor
341 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent two nights here for a weekend in the end of August and had all in all a very nice stay. The rooms are more than 3 stars, but are dragged down a bit by the not so good ventilation system and two other things; "thick TV" and only dispensers in the bathroom.

Cleaning and householding very good. Breakfast excellent and other service pleasant. Location is great, with proximity to the ferries to Denmark, city centre and the famous fortress. You can also walk, in a few minutes to the railway station. So for those arriving without a car, this option is perfect. However, for us the proximity to the railway station wasn't that good. We had a room facing the railway tracks, 25 metres away. And with comuter trains and freight trains running around the clock it was difficult to get a good nights sleep, especially considering the fact that we had to have the windows open due to the previously mentioned under-dimensioned ventilation system.

The beds where nice and comfy, but the pillows a bit "uncosy". But, extra pillows, which is nice.

Corridors of the hotel had wall to wall carpets to it was quiet and the corridors were filled with historical and interesting objects from the harbour. Very nice.

This would to me be a 4 * hotel if it weren't for 3 things: Only dispensers in bathroom, poor ventilation in room and "thick" TV. Rooms were very fresh!

Room Tip: Go for rooms to the west! Then you will not have to think about being disturbed by trains during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Due to an error by another hotel in Varberg, we were saved by the Fregatten!
The rooms are a good size, well decorated and the beds are very comfortable. We had rooms overlooking the railway and didn't hear the trains at all during the day or night whilst in the room. There is a lot of choice for breakfast, but it's not the biggest of breakfast areas for the number of hotel rooms it has. We went up to the spa on the 3rd floor (where the gym is also situated) and used the sauna and jacuzzi. However, they do not provide towels and my friends and I had a cold walk back to our rooms as we were not aware that you have to take the towels from your room up to the jacuzzi and sauna! Price wise, it was slightly cheaper than the other hotel we were going to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
0.2 mi away
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
1.3 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
17.8 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
Address: Hamnplan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 44, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Fregatten)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Varberg
Varberg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing