We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our Bacon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Due to an error by another hotel in Varberg, we were saved by the Fregatten!
The rooms are a good size, well decorated and the beds are very comfortable. We had rooms overlooking the railway and didn't hear the trains at all during the day or night whilst in the room. There is a lot of choice for breakfast, but it's not the biggest of breakfast areas for the number of hotel rooms it has. We went up to the spa on the 3rd floor (where the gym is also situated) and used the sauna and jacuzzi. However, they do not provide towels and my friends and I had a cold walk back to our rooms as we were not aware that you have to take the towels from your room up to the jacuzzi and sauna! Price wise, it was slightly cheaper than the other hotel we were going to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 486 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great hotel for vacation and business.
Nice and clean rooms with comfortable double beds in double rooms (double top mattress).
Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner from buffet. Wide selection from breakfast buffet, great bred, rolls and a lot of bio products. Dinner buffet is often one hot dish accompanied by cold cuts, cheese and fruit.
"Barista" area with gourmet coffe, laté and teas available 24 h.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Anden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Fregatten is a decent hotel, but nothing more. The rooms are spacious and clean,, and their breakfast is quite good. On the negative side is the location just next to the railway - if you get a room facing the railway, you can expect to be waken up quite early. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or any room service, but rather a dinner buffet in the evening. The buffet is ok, but you get fed up if you stay more than a few days. For business travelers, their laundry service is quite poor - they simply have the clothes washed, but not ironed. In other words - quite useless.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schroedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I satyed 13 nights. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are adequate. The wireless internet is painfully slow and you must get a new login ID every day. I travel frequenty to Sweden from the US and once lived in Sweden for 3 years, so, I know what to expect. For the price, this hotel is not a good value. The breakfast, although good, is no better than at much lower priced hotels. A dinner buffet was included. The best I can say about it is that is was adequate enough to sustain life.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed one night at Fregatten when we got caught in blizzard and had to stop for the night. The hotel is nice and the location is good. It's close to the railway station but we didn't hear the trains. There is a nice lounge to the right of the front desk and a spa on the third floor but we didn't have time to enjoy either.

The good
We got a spacious room with four beds on the third floor. The beds were very comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent with lots of organic options.

The bad
There were candy wrappers on the floor and the shower curtain was moldy.
Several lights hade gone out in both elevators

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank sukigbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vimabe48e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnus Å, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
0.2 mi away
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
1.3 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
85 reviews
16.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Falkenberg
Grand Hotel Falkenberg
#2 of 3 in Falkenberg
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten

Address: Hamnplan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 44, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Fregatten)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range: $138 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Varberg
Varberg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing