We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impression webpage + reality = bad match”
Review of Hotel Tylosand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tylosand
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Halmstad
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We (family with a 3 year old child) selected the place only by internet research (unfortunately this time without checking on trip advisor). Webpage and info gave a good impression as being a nice beach hotel for a family vacation.
Fact is that it is an event hotel: lots of young people, loud music, parties going on. One night they had a party on next doors balcony until 1 a.m. Extremly loud music, drinking, loud singing etc ... fun when you are part of it ... less when you want to sleep and have a young kid that should sleep. Reaction from the hotel: impossible that that happend ...

Many nights with open air music, different bands. Not what we have been looking for and wasnt mentioned with one word on the Webpage or when we booked.

In general: not service minded. seems they have a lot of young untrained people. For a hotel in that price category absolutely not acceptable.

Rooms in the new part have been nice and well cleaned.

All in all: no value for money.

Room Tip: regarding noise I dont know what to say. An interseting note: in the hotel shop they sell ear protec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Per K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Young, Drunk swedish People all around. Its like a carnival 24/7. the old complex rooms are very small and Noisy. More like a Hostel than an exclusive SPA and Wellness hotel. Drinks Are too expensive regarding the Bad quality they offer. Very disapointed!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Franziska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Conference hotel overlooking a great beach, very popular amongst large Groups. Several restaurants, buffet restaurant reminded me more of a holiday resort/canteen in the summer, crowded with guests.
My partner and I were prepared to spend extra cash on a bigger room with a view, but found out there are no proper double beds - what the hotel calls double bed consists of two separate beds pushed together with a gap. Nothing to look forward to as far as a romantic weekend is concerned.
great pool, Indoor and outdoor, but can be crowded and noisy. Parking lot is crammed, many guests shy the long walk from remote parking positions and block the driveway.
Lots of very good photographies and Pictures in public areas

Room Tip: cannot really recommend a double room, because "double bed" consists of two separate beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wildcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

the best hotel i ever been..comfortable for disability people,delicous breakfest,fresh made orange juice,delicoius food in tylohus restaurant..very good wines,fantastic spa and view to tylosand beach..great team ,,,always helpfull.great art collection in hotel,free wifi,nice,clean rooms...perfect hotel i reccomended this hotel for all

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dag_majsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is one very good hotel with a fantastic location.
Very well decorated with art and photos, which can also be purchased.
There is also a very good trim and sauna department inside of the hotel.
The beach is only a minute away from the hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new part of the hotel, the old one is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RulleOslo_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel is very close to the sea and a rather short taxi ride away from the city center of Halmstad. My twin bed room was of moderate size and well equipped but far too hot, probably due to sun exposure during the day. It was only possible to open the window a couple of inches and there was no air conditioning. The heat made sleep very difficult. Breakfast was good and included in the rate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was built in the 1960s on a beautiful location on the coast. The hotel property is well maintained and the art collection in the halls is alone worth a visit. Easy check in and great service.

Our room was on the 4th floor (430), moderately sized with comfortable beds and furniture. The bathroom was high quality and very functional. The American in me missed the in room coffee maker, but that's not much of a complaint. Has an in room safe.

No issues with noise or sleeping.

The Spa was a highlight - included in the room price. They have a full schedule of classes and activities. My wife enjoyed the yoga while I was in the sauna and ice water dip pool. The relax floor (yes, floor) has the very nice exercise room with ocean views, yoga and activity rooms plus steam room, showers, indoor warm pool and outdoor warm pool. On the first floor is a large swimming pool, 2 bubble pools and a large dry sauna. The in spa bar has a limited menu of wine and beer. The full bar is elsewhere, but you probably want something other than a bathing suit for that bar... You don't need a bathrobe or slippers (in the room, complimentary) but bring your bathing suit.

Dinner was part of our packet - 3 courses plus wine with each course. Excellent presentation of each course, great taste and decent wines for the price. The service was slow, but not annoyingly so. The wait staff were running their legs off. Busy with 2 large parties/banquets plus the entire dining room. The busser was a bit clueless but nice (tried to take my wife's dinner plate while she was still eating, didn't ask her first) and a few small things.

The breakfast buffet - one of the best I've been to. Broad spectrum of cold and warm foods to meet most tastes.

I would definitely recommend it for a couples weekend without reservation. It wasn't a 5, but I had a great time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank svineviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halmstad
18.9 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
2,869 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel
5.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Good Morning Halmstad
Good Morning Halmstad
#5 of 12 in Halmstad
188 reviews
5.1 mi away
Scandic Hallandia
Scandic Hallandia
#6 of 12 in Halmstad
389 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Riviera Strand
Hotel Riviera Strand
#1 of 4 in Bastad
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tylosand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tylosand

Address: 28 Tyloehusvaegen, Halmstad 302 73, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Halmstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Halmstad
Price Range: $160 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tylosand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tylosand has a prime location behind the soft sand dunes at the most beautifull beach on the Swedish southwest cost. The hotel is one of the leading spa hotels in Sweden and designed for recreation, active leisure time and art experience. Here you find a unique approach to health and fitness with a wide range of health treatments, indoor swimmingpools, sauna and fitness centre providing a superb range of classes and therapies. Hotel Tylosand offer a wide choice of first class restaurants and the Executive Chef Torsten Korling has catered for several Nobel dinners. The hotel is the largest art gallery in Sweden, here you are surrounded by contemporary art of international standing. You might just meet Per Gessle, vocalist and guitarist with Swedish rockers Roxette, who is one of the owners of the hotel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tylosand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylosand Hotel Halmstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing