We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Konferanse på Tyløsand”
Review of Hotel Tylosand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tylosand
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Halmstad
Oslo, Norge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Konferanse på Tyløsand”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is one very good hotel with a fantastic location.
Very well decorated with art and photos, which can also be purchased.
There is also a very good trim and sauna department inside of the hotel.
The beach is only a minute away from the hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new part of the hotel, the old one is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RulleOslo_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    120
    80
    41
    22
See reviews for
57
147
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
146 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel is very close to the sea and a rather short taxi ride away from the city center of Halmstad. My twin bed room was of moderate size and well equipped but far too hot, probably due to sun exposure during the day. It was only possible to open the window a couple of inches and there was no air conditioning. The heat made sleep very difficult. Breakfast was good and included in the rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was built in the 1960s on a beautiful location on the coast. The hotel property is well maintained and the art collection in the halls is alone worth a visit. Easy check in and great service.

Our room was on the 4th floor (430), moderately sized with comfortable beds and furniture. The bathroom was high quality and very functional. The American in me missed the in room coffee maker, but that's not much of a complaint. Has an in room safe.

No issues with noise or sleeping.

The Spa was a highlight - included in the room price. They have a full schedule of classes and activities. My wife enjoyed the yoga while I was in the sauna and ice water dip pool. The relax floor (yes, floor) has the very nice exercise room with ocean views, yoga and activity rooms plus steam room, showers, indoor warm pool and outdoor warm pool. On the first floor is a large swimming pool, 2 bubble pools and a large dry sauna. The in spa bar has a limited menu of wine and beer. The full bar is elsewhere, but you probably want something other than a bathing suit for that bar... You don't need a bathrobe or slippers (in the room, complimentary) but bring your bathing suit.

Dinner was part of our packet - 3 courses plus wine with each course. Excellent presentation of each course, great taste and decent wines for the price. The service was slow, but not annoyingly so. The wait staff were running their legs off. Busy with 2 large parties/banquets plus the entire dining room. The busser was a bit clueless but nice (tried to take my wife's dinner plate while she was still eating, didn't ask her first) and a few small things.

The breakfast buffet - one of the best I've been to. Broad spectrum of cold and warm foods to meet most tastes.

I would definitely recommend it for a couples weekend without reservation. It wasn't a 5, but I had a great time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank svineviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kullavik
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a hotel placed on the most spectacular beach in Sweden, owned by the famous pop star Per Gessle. The building is from the 60's but there are a refreshment going on all the time and part of the hotel is almost new. The SPA is great, service is on top and several restaurants to choose from. In the summer you have probably the best beach in Sweden just outside the hotel, other seasons you can walk the beaches and narrow walkways north and south from the hotel. A very good Golf Course, used by Solheim Cup some years ago, is just a few hundred meters from the hotel. Breakfast top class. If you are lucky on a summer visit, there is a consort going on in Solgården, a stage just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorvald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Two out of three nights sleepless due to extremely loud banging noises from the roof (vent housing?). Weather was windy and gusting, and the roof construction apparently is up to anything but calm weather. Room was cold and we caught a cold from this three day ordeal. I did tell the receptionist about the malfunctioning radiator, but to not avail.

Paying a premium price for such terrible experience is a major let down.

Suggest you avoid rooms numbered in the 4-hundreds.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelAndTell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Arrived late in the evening and realised I was one of very few guest.
After waiting in the empty reception for 5-10 minutes I had to call the hotel in order to get someone to check me in.
As this was low-season and the hotel seemed empty I asked if they perhaps could arrange a nicer room than the ordinary single-room I had booked to which the receptionist told me I had been upgraded to a double-room.
When discovering that this room was facing the parking-lot and not the ocean and also was a very worn down room with a depressing interiour I called down to ask to switch room to which I got the repsons that it was not possible.
I walked around the hotel and did not see a single soul. No one was working in the bar and there were neither staff nor guests anywhere so I ended up having to stay in the hospital-like room during my evening there.
A positive surprise when entering the breakfast in the morning where the staff were nice and there were some 5 other guests. Also the breakfast was fantastic and I was served a very nice omelette.
During the check-out it was the same person working and as this was the one I complined to regarding the room the receptionist did not bother to ask my how my stay was as I guess she did not want to hear my answer.

All in all I did not like the athmosphere and I was extremely surprised that the rooms were old and without any effort of offering "a home away from home" or even a touch of personality.
Also I felt the service of being below any expectations.
The breakfast is what keeps me from rating it with only 1/5.

I am aware of the fact that I did pay 1190 SEK for a single-room and that that is all I can ask for in theory, but as I am travelling quite a lot with work and privately I am also of the impression that most hotels wil upgrade you to some extent if the hotel is almost empty.

Room Tip: Either you pay full price for a room - or you wont get it no matter if you are almost the only guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floghult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here in the end of June. We stayed in one of the new rooms towards the sea. The hotel is located on a spectacular spot with a magnificent view and nice surroundings. It is basically built in the dunes of the white sand beach of Tylösand.

It is a very nice hotel with great potential but the general quality of service and food is poor having in mind the general price you pay for it. Hence, I cannot say that this hotel is more than average. It really needs to work on providing quality for the price it costs. There are many hotels around the world that are able to do so but not Hotel Tylösand unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_enjoying_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halmstad
18.9 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel
5.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Good Morning Halmstad
Good Morning Halmstad
#7 of 12 in Halmstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Riviera Strand
Hotel Riviera Strand
#2 of 4 in Bastad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 4 in Bastad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tylosand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tylosand

Property: Hotel Tylosand
Address: 28 Tyloehusvaegen, Halmstad 302 73, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Halmstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Halmstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tylosand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tylosand has a prime location behind the soft sand dunes at the most beautifull beach on the Swedish southwest cost. The hotel is one of the leading spa hotels in Sweden and designed for recreation, active leisure time and art experience. Here you find a unique approach to health and fitness with a wide range of health treatments, indoor swimmingpools, sauna and fitness centre providing a superb range of classes and therapies. Hotel Tylosand offer a wide choice of first class restaurants and the Executive Chef Torsten Korling has catered for several Nobel dinners. The hotel is the largest art gallery in Sweden, here you are surrounded by contemporary art of international standing. You might just meet Per Gessle, vocalist and guitarist with Swedish rockers Roxette, who is one of the owners of the hotel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tylosand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylosand Hotel Halmstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing