We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice front seaside hotel”
Review of Hotel Tylosand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tylosand
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Halmstad
Kullavik
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice front seaside hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a hotel placed on the most spectacular beach in Sweden, owned by the famous pop star Per Gessle. The building is from the 60's but there are a refreshment going on all the time and part of the hotel is almost new. The SPA is great, service is on top and several restaurants to choose from. In the summer you have probably the best beach in Sweden just outside the hotel, other seasons you can walk the beaches and narrow walkways north and south from the hotel. A very good Golf Course, used by Solheim Cup some years ago, is just a few hundred meters from the hotel. Breakfast top class. If you are lucky on a summer visit, there is a consort going on in Solgården, a stage just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorvald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    134
    87
    44
    28
See reviews for
65
165
12
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Two out of three nights sleepless due to extremely loud banging noises from the roof (vent housing?). Weather was windy and gusting, and the roof construction apparently is up to anything but calm weather. Room was cold and we caught a cold from this three day ordeal. I did tell the receptionist about the malfunctioning radiator, but to not avail.

Paying a premium price for such terrible experience is a major let down.

Suggest you avoid rooms numbered in the 4-hundreds.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelAndTell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Arrived late in the evening and realised I was one of very few guest.
After waiting in the empty reception for 5-10 minutes I had to call the hotel in order to get someone to check me in.
As this was low-season and the hotel seemed empty I asked if they perhaps could arrange a nicer room than the ordinary single-room I had booked to which the receptionist told me I had been upgraded to a double-room.
When discovering that this room was facing the parking-lot and not the ocean and also was a very worn down room with a depressing interiour I called down to ask to switch room to which I got the repsons that it was not possible.
I walked around the hotel and did not see a single soul. No one was working in the bar and there were neither staff nor guests anywhere so I ended up having to stay in the hospital-like room during my evening there.
A positive surprise when entering the breakfast in the morning where the staff were nice and there were some 5 other guests. Also the breakfast was fantastic and I was served a very nice omelette.
During the check-out it was the same person working and as this was the one I complined to regarding the room the receptionist did not bother to ask my how my stay was as I guess she did not want to hear my answer.

All in all I did not like the athmosphere and I was extremely surprised that the rooms were old and without any effort of offering "a home away from home" or even a touch of personality.
Also I felt the service of being below any expectations.
The breakfast is what keeps me from rating it with only 1/5.

I am aware of the fact that I did pay 1190 SEK for a single-room and that that is all I can ask for in theory, but as I am travelling quite a lot with work and privately I am also of the impression that most hotels wil upgrade you to some extent if the hotel is almost empty.

Room Tip: Either you pay full price for a room - or you wont get it no matter if you are almost the only guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floghult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here in the end of June. We stayed in one of the new rooms towards the sea. The hotel is located on a spectacular spot with a magnificent view and nice surroundings. It is basically built in the dunes of the white sand beach of Tylösand.

It is a very nice hotel with great potential but the general quality of service and food is poor having in mind the general price you pay for it. Hence, I cannot say that this hotel is more than average. It really needs to work on providing quality for the price it costs. There are many hotels around the world that are able to do so but not Hotel Tylösand unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_enjoying_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful surroundings, the beach is 7km long.
Make sure you get a room on the Sea side. The view is great.
The amazing sunsets can be enjoyed through the full-height panoramic windows, and in the morning you can, from the very comfortable beds, watch the nearby island of Tylö gradually come under the morning Sun.
Breathtaking, twice a day :-D
The inside easily matches the outside though.
Beautiful decorating in the rooms, corridors, reception and the restaurants / bars. Very high standard.
There is an arts gallery spread throughout the hotel, many of the pieces can be bought.

Easily the best hotel I have visited.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alekir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Tylösand as we attended a wedding. We booked the room maybe 1 or 2 days before staying and we did stay in a larger room, with a terrace, but as regular travellers, we've had better rooms in some fantastic hotels for a lot cheaper.

I love photography, so the photographic art was a high point. The hotel has a great collection of work, particularly of 20th century icons, such as Kate Moss, Marianne Faithfull. However, the owner of the hotel is a member of the group Roxette and i did get the feeling that this was something of a theme hotel. There is a shop selling merchandise of his current group in the spa area, there were two books about the musician in our room and when we walked into the room, his music was playing.

The surrounding is beautiful - we had a beautiful view of the sea. However, the decor is definitely due for an update. Marks and stains on the tables in the restaurant, no shower door on our shower and dark wood panels - not great. Also, the plastic orchid in the bathroom really doesn't belong in any hotel, especially not an expensive one.

In addition, there is no car parking, nobody to help take your bags to your room and no room service food after 10.30.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the sea - it's a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Comment I found myself making was "best hotel in SW Sweden that I have stayed at." Keeping in mind, I was staying in small hotels which were very basic, think clarion, scandic, local town hotels, etc.

First of all, this place is expensive. My host paid, but I think it was $300+ for the night.
But large room by European standards, although not a king bed, it is the usual Scandinavian 2 single beds put together. And there was a single pull out bed in the sofa.

Sea view was magnificent!

We happened to be staying our night during some exotic car event, so the place w filled with super rich, party animals who drove lambo's, ferraris, etc. they were of course loud and obnoxious. We were on the 4th floor and someone in a 5th floor suite was throwing plates, beer cans off their balcony!?!? then there was an outdoor concert, probably organized by same group which started playing at 10:30pm. Good thing our 5 yr old was sound asleep, otherwise, the noise would have keep him up. It was loud despite good sound insulation.

So, be aware or check for any major events, as it could get a bit crazy. Overall, things quieted down after midnight, not that it really bothered us.

The spa/ pool area was awesome. Heated salt water pool, sauna, jacuzzi. Upstairs is an indoor / outdoor pool, but I couldn't bring my 5 yr old as it is a quiet above 18 zone. So I can't comment on that.

Breakfast was very nice. Huge also by normal small hotel standards, but this is not a small hotel.

Room Tip: Must get seaview, otherwise a wasted stay. Actually probably every room is seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halmstad
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel
5.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park
18.9 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Good Morning Halmstad
Good Morning Halmstad
#7 of 12 in Halmstad
181 reviews
5.1 mi away
Scandic Hallandia
Scandic Hallandia
#6 of 12 in Halmstad
374 reviews
5.2 mi away
First Hotel Martenson
First Hotel Martenson
#4 of 12 in Halmstad
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tylosand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tylosand

Property: Hotel Tylosand
Address: 28 Tyloehusvaegen, Halmstad 302 73, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Halmstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Halmstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tylosand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tylosand has a prime location behind the soft sand dunes at the most beautifull beach on the Swedish southwest cost. The hotel is one of the leading spa hotels in Sweden and designed for recreation, active leisure time and art experience. Here you find a unique approach to health and fitness with a wide range of health treatments, indoor swimmingpools, sauna and fitness centre providing a superb range of classes and therapies. Hotel Tylosand offer a wide choice of first class restaurants and the Executive Chef Torsten Korling has catered for several Nobel dinners. The hotel is the largest art gallery in Sweden, here you are surrounded by contemporary art of international standing. You might just meet Per Gessle, vocalist and guitarist with Swedish rockers Roxette, who is one of the owners of the hotel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tylosand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylosand Hotel Halmstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing