We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
First Hotel Martenson
Nearby Hotels
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SX Hotel Amadeus(Halmstad)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$155
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$182
$162
ClarionCollection
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tylosand(Halmstad)
$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Insense Hotel(Halmstad)
$161
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
$135
$128
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveler rating
132
162
128
56
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
162
128
56
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelfriday nightpubs and restaurantshome away from homenice breakfastfamily roomcoffee and teashopping streetbusiness staynice staffpleasant stayparking spacepay extraplace to staythe rivercentral locationnice room
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 506 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Will not recommend this hotel. Booked a standard room and got a room that seems no longer in use with broken furnitures, not all channels that were offered at TV, carpeted which says nothing about while booking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Annique12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria P, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Martenson, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014
Google Translation

Hej
Tack för att du delar med dig av din upplevelse hos oss! Väldigt tråkigt att ni varit så missnöjda och ännu tråkigare att vi inte fått möjligheten att rätta till det medan ni bodde hos oss.
Några av våra rum behöver definitivt renoveras och vi arbetar hela tiden för att förbättra standarden på dessa. Under tiden vill vi alltid rekommendera våra nyrenoverade rum som med en väldigt liten prisskillnad, håller en hög standard.
Vi hoppas ni väljer att komma tillbaka för en bättre upplevelse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The room was not cleaned when we came and we had to wait for a long time to get this sorted.

After the cleaning was done it still smelled moldy.

The nightclub in the hotel was very loud and as our room (106, do not take that room) and people were barfing outside our window (we heard at least 4 sick people during our night in the hotel).

There was no ventilation on and it was warm and stuffy in the room.

The bed was comfortable and the receptionist were nice.

I would not recommend to stay - we paid 1300-1400 sek/night (~200 usd) and it was not good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank ceclindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria P, General Manager at First Hotel Martenson, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

It makes me sad to hear that you had such a disappointing visit at our Hotel! Unfortunately some people are not considerate at all and do make a lot of noise. Especially under the influence of a few too many drinks. Halmstad has had a wonderful summer with the best weather in decades. Our Hotel is situated in the heart of the city and we have many restaurants and cafe´s close by. The night life is intense during July and many tourists come to Halmstad to enjoy this and spend a few days on the beaches.
I sincerely hope you can come again and maybe choose a quiter time of the year. We have many refurbished rooms with a nice view.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We appreciated our stay at First Hotel Mårtenson. As we arrived we could see that the hotel is not newly build - it is rather continuously redecorated to be in reasonable shape. The breakfast was nice and the breakfast staff was very very helpful and service minded. So was the staff at the reception as well and it made us feel welcome. In the lobby, coffee and tea is served for free and there was also a little sweet cake. The days of our stay was pretty warm days and the hotel is not cooled. As the streets are pretty noisy in the summer we did not want to open the windows - meaning that the room was warmer than we wanted. The room that we got was decorated by two persons from the staff as a part of a competition. If I had owned the hotel, I would have invested in the services of a professional interior designer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the alley, those are likely to be far more quit than those towards the street with the restaurants and the club. Maybe it could also be wise to avoid the first floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrdotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria P, General Manager at First Hotel Martenson, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience. The Hotel is situated in a old and charming building dated 1858. There are 10 rooms decorated by the staff which was a unique project and an engaging competion. A huge challenge which lead to that my staff today feel very strongly for the hotel, are very motivated and love there job. This is one of the reasons why many of our guests feel so welcome.
We are so glad that you too had a good experience and hope to see you soon again,

A warm welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent service from very helpful staff, good breakfast, clean and big room and good location in main streets. We even got a phone-call some hours before arrival just to confirm our booking details.

But downside was very poor sound insulation in our room and window - this combined with very much & loud party noise (Saturday night 20.00-03.30 o`clock) from both street, nightclub and hotel, also a very! hot room with no fan or air con in it, and only one window facing main street so this is not a good hotel for families traveling with small children that needs to sleep, or maybe we just got the wrong room. I`m not a stranger to party-life but this was a bit over the top even for me.
On the other side it`s probably a perfect hotel for a trip that involves going out for dinner, nightlife, party with friends or family etc, so If i come back it would be without children.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
1  Thank jorgenmm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria P, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Martenson, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your review! I do agree that we are an excellent choice travellling as friends, a couple or alone. We even have 10 lovely family rooms and most of them are in a quiter location but during July when the hotel is fully booked we even have 2 large rooms facing the main street and on saturdays it is a bit noisy.
If you want to visit again with your family, give us a call and we will do our best to make your visit more comfortable.
A warm welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This is definitely not a good hotel. Bad smell from both(!) rooms I got (asked to change the first, but the second was just as smelly). When it comes to details, they fail miserably. Location is good, but there are plenty of other hotels nearby. Choose one of them instead. Talked to a local and said my hotel wasn't any good, and he replied: "Mårtensson is a place you party, not stay". The restaurant is obviously popular.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jonas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria P, General Manager at First Hotel Martenson, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

I am so sorry to read this review! The hotel is one of several in Halmstad and has a history as one of the most popular both for its restaurant and rooms. Today we are still one of the leading hotels and have a great location, warm and serviceminded staff and many beautiful rooms. The nightclub is only open on weekends and is also popular and free entrance applies for our hotel guests. We are refurbishing the hotel and unfortunately we still have a few rooms that need a face lift but all our rooms should be clean and welcoming.
I sincerely hope you choose to come back and then reserve one of our deluxe or superior rooms. It is worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews