We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A needed renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Carlia
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Uddevalla
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed one night at Hotel Carlia in August 2011. It's being renovated right now and it's needed. Stayed in room 502, a decently large room but with dull and soulless 80:s decor. There's no restaurant in the hotel but they offer a free of charge dinner buffet in the breakfast room which was a pleasant surprise. One hot dish and lots of cold choices that was perfectly OK. The staff in the reception was very friendly so despite the dull interior (that hopefully is about to change), the stay was rather pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel lies in the center of Uddevalla and is (I think) the biggest one available in this city. I've been coming here a couple of times on business. Though I would not say that the hotel is anything special, it is nice, clean and the staff relatively friendly. Therefore, if you're just looking for a place to stay for the night, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rooms are a bit 90's and there was lots of evidence that there are renovations going on while I was there. Room was clean, tidy and of a good standard but like I mentioned the decor was a bit 90's. Service was great when we arrived which always makes a hell of difference. Didn't try the complimentary evening meal, and the breakfast was basic and ok. Can recommend if you just need a place to crash or to rest your head.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better otherwise you may end up at the same level or with a view of only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richiric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mathias E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

nice hotel, centry located, best are the frendly hotel staff... anything you need they are there..

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
Thank lucky967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

I stayed at the Carlia for 2 nights Fri & Sat last month and would recommend the hotel. On arriving at the hotel, reception were very friendly and as I had requested a high floor room I was allocated room 802 which was very quiet & had recently been re-furbished. The twin room was very clean and looked out onto the rear of the property, the bathroom was large enough with shower but no bath. (see my pics). This hotel is good value for money and the only improvements that I feel could be made to the room would be the introduction of a mini-bar or tea/coffee maker and a room service menu. I would have liked to have purchased food from room service if it had been available as when we stayed the hotel didn't have a restaurant open in the evening on it's premises, we were advised to go over the road to a restaurant which was supposed to be very good but unfortunately this was fully booked with it being the weekend. Uddevalla does have a lot of bars & restaurants within walking distance of the hotel but again these were either fully booked or very busy. As a previous review states I would advise going to Mortens which is a great venue, there is live music, a piano bar, pub & the food is great, definitely worth a visit! . If you are looking for a nice, clean room to lay your head at a decent price, friendly staff and a good central location then you can't go wrong with the Carlia.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Liverbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I had to go to Gotenburg on business but the whole city was sold out due to the Book convention. I had to take a 75 minute train ride to the Carlia hotel, nevertheless I was pleased.
Hotel staff was helpful and the Swedish buffet for dinner was decent. The beauty of the hotel for the traveler like me is it is a 10 minute walk to Uddevalla Central station and 5 minute walk to bus station. There is a nice nightclub called Mortens within walking distance, very popular on weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RoadWarrior69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uddevalla
1.3 mi away
Bohusgarden Hotell & Konferens
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riverside
Hotel Riverside
#5 of 5 in Uddevalla
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotell Skona Rum
Hotell Skona Rum
#2 of 5 in Uddevalla
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking Uddevalla
Hotel Viking Uddevalla
#4 of 5 in Uddevalla
13 reviews
13.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Trollhattan
20.4 mi away
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in Stenungsund
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Carlia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Carlia

Address: 26 Norra Drottninggatan, Uddevalla 451 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Uddevalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Uddevalla
Price Range: $100 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Carlia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We love it here at Hotel Carlia in Uddevalla. And so will you. We want you to feel the warmth in Bohuslän, to go out and see this wonderfull city that we are situated in. Then to fall sleep in one of our comfortable beds. One stay at Best Western Hotel Carlia will make you want to book your next conference or weekend here.There are now also a garage available for you guests.Welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Carlia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Uddevalla
Uddevalla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing