We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Kung Oscar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Trollhattan
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I arrived by train in Trollhattan and needed a hotel close to the station. Kung Oscar was a short walk. I was warmly welcomed and given a very nice room. I used the hotel's Kronan bicycle to go to the Saab Museum, ride along the river and to access the hiking trail to the high overlook of the area. After leaving on the train the next day I realized that I had left something at the hotel. Staff did an excellent job of finding the item and sending it to my home in the USA. From the moment I walked in the door of Kung Oscar to when I arrived home in the states, the service was superb. Jag ska kommer tillbaka til Hotel Kung Oscar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    82
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
35
89
16
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while travelling through the Swedish countryside. The hotel staff were very accommodating and welcoming. The desk clerk even went out to the hotel's parking lot to see if there was a spot to park the car. (One drawback - really small hotel parking) We ended up parking a block or so from the hotel in a parked that was secured overnight. The staff gave us a couple of recommendations for supper and everything was within walking distance from the hotel. Really good selection of food for breakfast - which was included in the room price. This is a very nice hotel, it is clean and comfortable and very affordable (about $114 CAD). We liked the hotel enough to look for other hotels with this chain for our stay in Stockholm.

Room Tip: We booked this hotel via an online search engine for the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaHarleychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkoing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice hotel with shoppers street just around the corner. Friendly, helpful personal. The rooms were quiet and well cleaned. Low season you get free supper- a light meal with a lot of different salads. Very fresh food. Recommended hotel- high valued.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was my first time in Trollhattan. The location is very central located about a 3-4 min walk from the train station. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The room was located on the 3rd floor. It was with a single bed, very clean. The bathroom was clean and with amenities. The tea and coffee in the room was very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Internetgodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Location:
Trollhättan is the perfect spot if you want to discover Västergötlands area. Kung Oscar is situated right in the heart of the center. A 15 minute walk next to the water leads you towards "fall och sluss", the major attraction in Trollhättan. Though it lies central, it's very quiet.

Breakfast:
Nice breakfast buffet with lots of choice in bread, fruit, cornflakes, eggs...

Room:
Airy and newly decorated room. Bathroom was small but has all the modern comfort. Very nice design of bathroom and shower!
Both bathroom and room were impeccable!

We really appreciated the coffee/tea maker in our room. Due to the high temperatures during our stay our room got quite warm. There's no air conditioning (but who thinks about air conditioning in Sweden? ;-)) but the hotel was so nice to put up a fan in our bedroom. Very thoughtful and helpful!

Great Carpe Diembeds and though our room was at the street side, it was very calm and quiet. Our room was right beside the elevator and we heard absolutely nothing about it. That's what we look for in a hotel: comfort and silence!

Service & staff:
Very friendly and helpful staff. Check-in and out happens with a meant smile!

Tips:
- tissue box in room
- freshly brewed coffee would be nice :)

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It was the first stop on our roadtrip around Västergötland, Bohuslän and Dalsland and we got immediately in the right mood!
Don't doubt about this hotel...just book it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NE888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

He had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We upgraded our room, for a small price.
Fine breakfast, and great service. Would visit again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmijau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Although I only spent 2 nights here I can honestly say that it was a well kept clean and pleasant hotel. Local to the main shops within 4 min walk. Rooms were very clean and the service very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also close only 5 min drive to Volvo Aero.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trollhattan
0.3 mi away
Scandic Swania
Scandic Swania
#3 of 5 in Trollhattan
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Bele
Hotell Bele
#4 of 5 in Trollhattan
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Trollhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albert Koek Hotell & Konferens
14.4 mi away
Bohusgarden Hotell & Konferens
5.8 mi away
Ronnums Herrgard
Ronnums Herrgard
#1 of 1 in Vargon
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Kung Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Kung Oscar

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Kung Oscar
Address: 17 Drottninggatan, Trollhattan 461 32, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Trollhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Trollhattan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Kung Oscar 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They say beauty lies in the detail and here at Clarion Collection Hotel Kung Oscar we welcome our guests with attentive personal service. With its 76 rooms and 4 hotel apartments the hotel offers a warm and embracing atmosphere that even old King Oscar II would have appreciated. The hotel is located in a quiet part of town, which is nonetheless central and close to the train station, boutique shopping and restaurants. We offer private parking and with bicycles from the hotel you can easily get around and enjoy Trollhattan’s beautiful surroundings. King Oscar’s generosity and his concern for his family and friends is something we seek to extend to our guests every day here at Clarion Collection Hotel Kung Oscar – Our ambition is to offer you personal service fit for a king! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Kung Oscar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Trollhättan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing