We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, choose the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Plaza Boras City
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Boras
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, choose the right room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Scandic Plaza is conveniently located in the city centre of Borås, with a parking garage that is convenient if you need to get your car parked during your stay. The charge is 140 SEK. The staff is great and service minded. The breakfast buffet is great. The reception is nice and inviting.

The rooms: Pay the extra 100 SEK or so for a room upgrade. The first time I stayed here we got a great and modern room which matched the experience of the reception/dining area. The last time I stayed here was a "basic" room, which in no way matched our first visit. The price difference is not big.

Room Tip: Pay the extra bucks for a better room. Much better, at a small price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    145
    108
    63
    23
See reviews for
157
63
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

First impressions were good as the decor and smiles were first class.
A fast and friendly check-in dispatched me to my fifth floor room. The usual dated Scandic corridor decoration was forgotten as I entered the room which was light and spacious. New furniture and unusually bright lighting added to the spacious feeling.
A smiling face greeted me in the restaurant for dinner, which was lively with an after work crowd.
My cafe de Paris steak was ok but 15% gristle. For 239sek, not really good enough.

Breakfast was the usual Scandic fayre, abundant but bland.

Parking was a little tricky, but on street parking is free from 18:00 to 09:00.

The hotel is right in the heart of town, just off the inner ring road. Shops and stuff are on your doorstep.

Better than a safe choice, but speak up if your food's not up to scratch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night on route to Goteborg as all the hotels there were fully booked as PSG were playing Real Madrid in a friendly match. I use tripadvisor as my main help guide on choosing hotels and chose this one as it seamed fine for a brief stop over until our next adventure with a 2year old! As with most hotels ...pictures can be deciving, as are the main hotel lobby areas which are all so nice and glamourous! I must start by saying the main reception staff were very helpful and very nice as we checked in without any problems even slightly earlier than planned due to some heavy rain. I opted for hotel basement carparking which at the time was accessable through some road works as the were repaving much of the area surrounding the hotel and one had to walk through sand and gravel to get in / transport luggage. I didnt want to drag my roller suitcase through a building site so opted for cleaner access via an internal route. May be the hotel manager should have insisted that the contractors performing these external works provide a temporary walk way or some simple rough plyboard to walk on as this would have helped keep the lobby area cleaner from the wet sand. Albeit a good alternative the carparking access was a problem as the room keycard didnt work as it should and we needed to leave the car to go back to reception to get it fixed. Then we got a manual code to get access.

The Scandic brand is very popular in Sweden and I have stayed in a few good ones but the standard of room we got in Borås was very poor, very old and didnt smell so fresh. This hotel needs a big refurbishment and money spent on it as it doesnt cut the basics! The bathroom was very old and shower / bathtub very high to get in and out of ....this might be a big problem for older people with less mobility. The white plastic items (telephones and other fixtures) had turned creamy yellow with age and this didnt reflect even a basic standard at this hotel. The room was very warm and I went to see the reception for a fan which I got and was very peased for as it needed it!

Breakfast was disappointing as many items were running out quickly and one had to wait long times for replacements even for hot water for the 2 small hot water jugs for tea ... the coffee machines on the day were out of order and staff were directing people to use a coffee machine near the lobby ... I can accept items do breakdown but its not acceptable to provide two small jugs of hot water for tea drinkers .... buy a hot water urn for gods sake! Overall I did not like this hotel and wouldnt choose it for a return stay ... I feel I give many positive reviews when standards / service is good but Scandic Borås was unfortunately an old dog! Sorry Scandic but please learn from all customer comments both good and bad and try and spend some money to improve the brand. However your main reception staff are very good and should be praised highly!

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boras hotels

stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Choosed this hotel because of the quite high rating here at tripadvisor. It was just a night for the zoo in Borås. It was my wife and my two year old son.

At arrival we got the wrong type of room with no bed for our child, this was taken care of quick by nice personel. Got a room as requested and it was a really "old and used" room. Those rooms have been around for a while, so the beds are very soft, the carpets not that nice etc. The worst was the ventilation though, or the lack of ventilation - there were none!

We stayed here in the middle of july so it was a warm and sunny day, the curtains was not enough to get the sun blocked wo it was really bright inside the room until around 21-22 (summer nights in sweden are really nice and bright).

So no air condition and a really bright room = no sleep for our two year old son, and us.

The breakfast was not that impressive that people thinks either, I guess this is a matter of personal prefernces though.

On the plus side was the personel, they were helpful and friendly and it was good for children with lots of activitiies.

I don't stay often in hotels in Sweden so i'm not that familiar with the pricing, I guess this was quite cheap, so one maybe get what one pays for? But i pay for a nights sleep and we did not get that.

Room Tip: stay as low as possible if you stay in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistadabolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Boras Scandic Hotel is centrally located in Boras, next to the university and close to a number of restaurants.
One enjoys spacious rooms of good quality, very good bedding and a good internet.
I may have been unlucky, but breakfast was really crowded still the buffet was good and there was plenty of everything.
Although the hotel participates in a underground parking the space is limited. If oyu are unlucky with the parking one needs to look around. I am told that the police is not working after 4:00 p.m. May be may be not.

Room Tip: Nothing special to look out for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasfluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
223 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Scandic Plaza is centrally located in Borås with walking distance to most things.Try to get a room on the third floor which is newly renovated. From the relaxation area on level six you have a great view of the city. Free WiFi and breakfast buffet is generous with such waffle.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor which is newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Boras is not the most exciting place to stay but if you have to go there then this Hotel is as good as any and I recommend it. As other reviewers have commented the breakfast is amazing. The amount of buffet style food with its sheer endless verity and quality cannot be put into words here. The meals throughout the day and evening are reasonable and comparable in price to the local restaurants. However, and there is always a downside, on the Sunday we stayed there, there were no lunches or evening meals and the bar was shut hence the loss of one star. Luckily we met some Swedish friends and they took us to a restaurant (which was part of another hotel) which served food all day.
The rooms are reasonably large and comfortable but there are no tea or coffee making facilities which is a another reason for dropping a star.
The staff are all very polite and have a good command of English.
I stayed there for six nights and other than the Sunday closing felt comfortable and relaxed there.
Overall this Hotel could have been awarded 5 stars but the lack of Sunday bar/restaurant and the lack of tea and coffee making facilities has dropped it to 3.5 stars which is disappointing.

Room Tip: The rooms are cleaned from the lift area outwards, if you are furthest away from the lift you get le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boras
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Boras
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Jazz
Comfort Hotel Jazz
#2 of 6 in Boras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotell Boras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotell Skona Natter
Hotell Skona Natter
#5 of 6 in Boras
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ditt Hotell-Lages Motel
20.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Alingsas
Grand Hotel Alingsas
#1 of 1 in Alingsas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Plaza Boras City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Plaza Boras City

Property: Scandic Plaza Boras City
Address: 3 Allegatan, Boras 503 32, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Boras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Boras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Plaza Boras City 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story Downtown Hotel located 45 km from Gothenburg's Landvetter Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Plaza Boras City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Plaza Boras City Borås

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing