We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grythyttans Gastgivaregard
Ranked #1 of 2 Grythyttan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was here with my best friend. It was lots of other couples in their 50's and above.The hotel itself is just lovely and has a very pretty interior. Sit in the salon for hours, enjoy some afternoon tea and play board games with friends. Our room was placed in another building just across the hotel. The room was quite small, but nicely decorated. The bathroom was claustrophobic though! But I would definitely come back again, this place is so romantic and made me feel so relaxed, next time I'll bring my hubby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareOf H, Front Office Manager at Grythyttans Gastgivaregard, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012
Google Translation

Tack för ditt fina omdöme efter din vistelse hos oss!

Vad trevligt att du uppskattade vårt afternoon tea i våra vackra salonger och att ni trivdes på ert rum. Alla våra 58 hotellrum har en egen stil och design, och varierar i storlek och form men alla är som du skriver personligt inredda och mysiga.

Du är varmt välkommen åter med din gubbe för att slappna av!

Stefan A. Sköldmo
c/o Grythyttans Gästgivaregård

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Grythyttans Gastgivaregard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Grythyttans Gästgivaregård is smack in the middle of the older part of the town of Grythyttan and has that wonderful old Swedish charm with its wooden red-and-white houses, and just feels very picturesque. Grythyttan has had more experience at fine dining and hoteliery than most places you'll find in the Swedish countryside, and the food at the hotel was both _extremely tasty_ and inventive, and the staff were well-trained in fine-dining service, and had no trouble at all switching out a dish when I mentioned my shellfish allergy.

The room was in the old Swedish style, but the bathroom was modern, and though small, it was well designed for the space, and well appointed. No bathtub, but a lovely fully tiled shower with large rain-shower head. All in all, very comfortable.

The bar was a bit understaffed (though very helpful when the bartender WAS there) but we weren't as impressed with the live piano player/singer. Still, the atmosphere was good, and it was nice to sit among the other guests and sip an after-dinner drink and coffee.

This place is definitely worth a detour! Take a stroll around Grythyttan also, because it's adorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes6ica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CareOf H, Front Office Manager at Grythyttans Gastgivaregard, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Stefan A. Sköldmo
c/o Grythyttans Gästgivaregård

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were expecting exceptional quality, and when we look at the total experience of a three course dinner and one nights acommodation, we were not disappointed. The standard size room was nice and romantic, but the space for the bathroom was minimal, with a shower crammed into the corner close to the WC. Neither was there a shelf for our personal toilet gear. The dinner was well prepared and accompanied by good wine suggestions, and we were served by experienced and observant staff. One of the few times it feels like a tip is warranted.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a culinary tour that we were doing around central Sweden. The hotels were pre booked for us so we had no idea where we would be staying. We LOVED this place. The room was small but comfortable. It is a quiet little town and we really enjoyed the "swedish" feel of the area.
We ate in the hotel restaurant as was pre arranged as part of our tour and the food was outstanding. We had really amazing service in the restaurant as well. Our server was really helpful and happy to answer all of our questions. We also enjoyed drinks in the parlour after dinner. Wonderful comfortable setting with lots of couches and tables.
I can't say enough about the great service we were given that night. The front desk staff were really pleasant and helpful and the restaurant staff were excellent as well. If we could have stayed here longer we happily would have.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Room standard is ordinary. Room service with champagne was good. view from room was ok. total stay equal to below standard and expectation. no service during the evening. Internet and TV not working due to thundestorm (!!).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arne_richtner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We - I, husband and our dog - stayed two nights over Easter in room 42 (one of two rooms in one of the small cottages). The place is lovely and very relaxed and friendly. Our dog, who is very sweet and well-behaved, was welcome everywhere in the Inn, including the parlour and the restaurant, which at first raised a few eyebrows but then was much appreciated also by our fellow guests as a sleeping dog lends even more calm and coziness to a room.

The food was excellent, the dinner the first night the better of the two. We had the suggested wines and as not novices but not experts enjoyed them very much, also especially the first night when the wines were far more special, older and odder (and expensive) than the second. The courses and wines were presented by the chef and sommelier before seating each night.

The only thing we would have liked to have seen bettered was the attention to the afternoon tea buffet, served between 3-5 in the afternoon. We arrived at around four both days to find they had run out of or were running out of either scones or cupcakes, the two breads on offer. We did not see the plates refilled and while waiters sporadically turned up to take drink orders from some of the guests, we were not among the lucky ones to be asked if we wanted an afternoon drink. Still, had we gone to the bar in search of scones or a drink I'm sure someone would have seen to it.

All in all we had a lovely experience and would recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42, one of two standard double rooms in one of the small cottages. Cozy and quiet...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Wonderful service with fantastic food in what we thought was tranquil old style Scandinavian surroundings. This was totally spoiled by noise and drunken behaviour from the hotel owned bar/ pub "Stallet" . This stayed open until 1am with loud music, only to be made worse at closing time when a further hour of noisy drunken behaviour continued. We would never recommend this place for an overnight stay as our special day was totally ruined. The hotel needs to decide what sort of atmosphere it is trying to create.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grythyttan
11.2 mi away
Hennickehammars Herrgard
Hennickehammars Herrgard
#1 of 1 in Filipstad
83 reviews
7.3 mi away
Loka Brunn
Loka Brunn
#1 of 1 in Grythyttan
130 reviews
21.8 mi away
Lilla Hotellet
Lilla Hotellet
#1 of 3 in Nora
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Herrgarden i Grythyttan
Herrgarden i Grythyttan
#2 of 2 in Grythyttan
2 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sikfors Herrgard
Sikfors Herrgard
#1 of 1 in Hallefors
13 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hallefors Hostel & Canoecenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grythyttans Gastgivaregard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grythyttans Gastgivaregard

Address: 2 Praestgatan, Grythyttan 712 60, Sweden (Formerly Grythyttans Gastgivaregard)
Location: Sweden > Orebro County > Grythyttan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grythyttan
Price Range: $357 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grythyttans Gastgivaregard 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grythyttan Country Inn has a heritage and exciting history from times past. But in the midst of all this, you as our guest are met with both present and future - in the food that our chefs create, in our highly personalized guest rooms and in the bar where the drinks you enjoy will challenge your taste buds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grythyttans Gastgivaregard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing