We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fine for what it is - an innoffensive, reasonable value town centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Karlstad City
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fine for what it is - an innoffensive, reasonable value town centre hotel”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

No frills here, but no disappointments either. It's a clean, well-located but ultimately clinical hotel, perfectly acceptable but unlikely to leave you giving gushing praise. Karlstad was a pleasant base for a few days, and the free daily cycle hire provided by the local tourist office is a great idea and really helpful for getting around. Decent places to eat are somewhat limited, but we'd particluarly recommend a restaurant called Koriander - one of the best meals we had in the whole of our two-week holiday in Sweden.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolo_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    151
    53
    17
    3
See reviews for
54
78
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
350 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed at the Scandic for three nights whilst in Karlstad on business. We booked a superior room on the advice of one of the guidebooks we consulted and were allocated 610 - top floor, south facing with a spacious balcony. Though it wasn't sunbathing weather, we appreciated the large window and opening door for fresh air and warm sunshine throughout our stay.
The rooms are simply furnished and though the wooden floor has seen some wear, it's clean and well maintained. The bathroom with ingenious shower "cubicle" is functional and immaculate.
We enjoyed our breakfast (included) and found the staff very helpful, particularly when encountering internet access problems. The free internet (with open access printer downstairs) and secure car parking in the garage were a bonus.
We'd stay here - or in another Scandic hotel - again happily.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Although Karlstad is not partiularly a place to brag about, this hotel exceeded my expectations. It was centrally located, with large, very clean and quiet rooms. Very relaxing. The breakfast buffet was decent and there were several restaurants nearby.

  • Liked — good location, clean, quiet, large rooms
  • Disliked — not enough internet access
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coolclimates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniva, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Loved this hotel! We stayed there during a bus tour through Sweden, and would absolutely stay there again. The hotel is has modern interiors, and is very closely located to the downtown area.

But what stood out most of all was the fantastic customer service that we received. Around 9pm on a very cold windy evening, we were looking to get a hot drink. When we enquired at the desk for a local cafe, there were none open. But the front reception gladly brewed us up a cup. It was so lovely to warm up and enjoy our drink in the very comfortable and relaxing lobby. The lobby has spacious trendy leather seating, free internet and beautiful decor.

Incidentally, Karlstad has a number of coffee roasters, so the local coffee is fantastic! If I am ever back in this city, I will be staying at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank LetaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.2 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza
0.9 mi away
Scandic Klaralven
Scandic Klaralven
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Karlstad City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Karlstad City

Property: Scandic Karlstad City
Address: 4 Drottninggatan, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Karlstad City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Karlstad City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing