We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Small European rooms - no surprise. Typically will get a twin-sized bed arrangement so make sure you are specific about what you need. Bathrooms could use upgrading -- old "grody" tiles. In-room lighting around mirrors is quite possibly the worst I've ever seen. Have recently upgraded their restaurant space, lounge and lobby -- and they did a great job of it. Now it is time to do the sleeping rooms. A lot of street noise (earplugs block out all the noise) and seems to attract a noisy crowd that is up after midnight making noise in the halls -- to hotel's credit, they responded quickly when I called the front desk. Breakfast is quite extensive. Other meals lack any choice or flavor. Hotel staff acts woefully uninformed about area - what to see, how to get there, where to eat. (hard to believe they don't know since it is a very small city and it seems that when you are in town everyone knows everyone else) Free wireless internet in rooms is great. Only 1/2 block from train station -- and pretty much a block or two from the main areas of Karlstad. Summer into Fall attracts a large Asian tourist population-- the sheer number of them can be overwhelming as they tend to travel in packs and show little awareness of their surroundings -- will cut you off, bump into you and generally want to stand in the exact same spot you are presently standing in. Getting away from breakfast buffet without getting something spilled on you will take some talent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    207
    92
    26
    17
See reviews for
74
198
22
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The rooms are fairly roomy compared to a typical hotel in Stockholm but this is Karlstad Varmland after all. The location is good as it is in the middle of town and next to the shopping area, supermarkets etc. The staff are very pleasant and efficient. The only downside was the bathroom, which had a tiny shower area, a shower that was just adequate but not powerful, white tiles that looked brown (though they were clean) and a really small sink with little space for toiletries. The rooms are also somewhat inconsistent as one room had a large LCD TV but others had normal TVs, perhaps the hotel is in the midst of renovating. Overall, it's ok for a basic stay but the hotel should consider updating its bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed for one night at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and the breakfast was great.
Nice hotel in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

I like the hotel for its fantastic location. It is just across the street from the Karlstad train station. I love the exterior design of the hotel. The room we got was pretty big with comfortable beds. The toilet is adequate as well. The room is very clean. Wireless internet is free which is definitely a plus point. There's sauna facilties but we didnt have the time to use it. There's also a computer terminal at the lobby area with internet access.

Breakfast was included and it has a good spread from toast to bacon to cereal. I like the cozy dining area.

The hotel is very near to the town centre with restaurants, malls.

Overall I am satisfied with the hotel and will definitely consider returning back to it.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast, Internet access
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We spent last weekend at Radisson SAS Plaza called Clarion Plaza Hotel. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city next to the noisy street. It does not look impressive but it is OK for a short stay. It has an amazing restaurant in a sort of Italian style where the breakfast and lunch are served. The hotel has a spa offer for visitors and I ordered a classical massage for 300SEK.

We ate ecological breakfast and the food looked pretty tasty.

The hotel is not children friendly rather business related. We had to find some attractions for our daughter in Karlstad.

As far as rooms are concerned, there are various types of accomodation. First, we got a claustrophobic double room with a view over the Italian restaurant. However, it was not possible to open the window there. Then, we asked for the other room and we got the one with the road traffic. Nevertheless, it was quite cosy.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kasiaoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Plaza

Property: Clarion Hotel Plaza
Address: Vastra Torggatan 2, Karlstad 652 25, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Plaza)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karlstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karlstad
#3 Business Hotel in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Plaza is a full service hotel in the heart of Karlstad. The hotel has been under renovation 2013-14 and today it's the most modern hotel in the city with a brand new look. We offer 131 rooms and suites, 11 conference rooms, relax area with gym, jazuzzi and sauna and our popular restaurant - Kitchen & Table. Our fantastic staff dare to be different and will greet you with passion. It won't take long before you feel like home when staying with us. We wish you a warm welcome to Karlstad and to Clarion Hotel Plaza! Clarion Hotel(R) - Service with Passion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Karlstad
Karlstad Radisson
Clarion Hotel Karlstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing