We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, nice architectural and design environment, small rooms ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
478 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Central, nice architectural and design environment, small rooms ....”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location of this hotel is very good and just few meters from the railway station. Rooms are rather small but functional and clean; no frills, very basic. I liked the hall and the many design pieces which are around: forniture, walls, lobby.....
I would suggest it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marioviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    210
    93
    26
    17
See reviews for
74
202
22
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed over one night only on a business trip in this centrally located hotel, just a few minutes' walk from the Railway station. The ambience is cozy and friendly, and common spaces such as the downstairs plaza were inviting and interestingly decorated with a modern twist. Our room was large and comfortable but slightly worn-out and outdated by design though, and with windows to the indoor plaza. Sleep quality fine. Good breakfast buffet with plenty of choice, extra plus for delicious local blueberry jam! Very friendly, professional and helpful service at the reception desk. Overall, good vibes around the place, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lower floors with windows to the indoor plaza - can be noisy. If you need to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaGemrud, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Google Translation
Härligt att höra om din vistelse. Tack för bra feedback. Vi har nu renoverat hälften av våra rum. Be om ett nyrenoverat rum nästa gång du kommer.
Välkommen tillbaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice staff that is always smiling, Very good food and very nice breakfast. Rooms are big and comfortable, They are currently renovating so a little disturbance. But nice and quiet anyway.
The old rooms are a worn down, but the new rooms are outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OveBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaGemrud, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Google Translation
Härligt att du tycker vi är det bästa hotellet i Karstad. Tackar för fin feedback.

Välkommen tillbaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First of all, the biggest asset is that Clarion Hotel Plaza is within 3 minutes walk from the train station - even with a suitcase. It is bigger than what one can expect from outside, thanks to a large indoor open space. I found that very pleasant walking in. I was, however, not so pleasantly surprised when I found out that my room's only window was going out to that indoor courtyard... Because I was staying on the first floor, my room didn't even get the reflected sunlight.
Other than being dark (lights were rather on the darker side too), the room was just fine. Very comfortable bed and pillows, outlets in right spots, desk with comfortable chair. There is daily password for free wi-fi and you need one for each device; "daily" is calculated by date not time of logging in so it resets at midnight.
Bathroom was large, with an electric towel rack (meaning you can warm up your towel!). Shower operates in a little unusual manner but is roomy enough and warm water is plentiful. A couple of cautions: both hand soap and shower gel are in wall dispensers and there are no other toiletries available. A pull out face mirror was a nice touch; hairdryer was rather ancient, but did its job well.
There was a trouser press and a small ironing board in the wardrobe, for those whose clothes wrinkled too much in their travels. For once, an iron proved useful to me too. A minibar stocked with the usual assortment: I used it as a fridge for water I bought in a nearby supermarket. Although the breakfast was indeed more than satisfactory, I missed an opportunity to make myself a cup of tea or coffee in my room, especially since I was leaving at an ungodly pre-breakfast hour of 4.15 am. Desk staff was pleasant, helpful, and fully conversant in English.
I imagine the rooms with outside, opening windows are probably larger, and since I was a single traveller, I got an inside one. Luckily I didn't have to spend much time in the room, and maybe next time, if I'm there, I'll ask for one on the other side. I was told Karlstad was known as the "Sun city" and it was indeed very sunny when I was there, so it would have been nice to experience this sun even in the room!
There were renovations going on at a time of my stay, but they did not seem to impact the peace and quiet - at least in the evenings.
The hotel is also only about 3-5 min walk to the main local bus hub, about the same to a couple of supermarkets and other shops, as well as a lovely walk on the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Clarion Plaza is situated very conveniently next to the main rail station in Karlstad, and close to town centre. Very friendly staff and hotel generally clean although some renovation work was in progress (06/2013).
Room was a good size with usual facilities although no iron or ironing board. Air conditioning quite noisy although not by American standards! Wifi via voucher was OK although needed new login from time to time. Breakfast quite good, including hot items, coffee free flow from big percolator which is always better than those horrible machines. Music at breakfast time a bit loud and too MOR for my taste. Would generally recommend for business or short trips.

Room Tip: Seemed generally quiet, probably upper floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We can really recommend this hotel. The staff´s welcome was kind and gave us all information we wanted .The hotel is situated very central.The breakfast contained all we needed and the room was fully acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
211 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Let's begin with the pros:
- The lobby is very cozy
- The breakfast buffe is good (but there are better) but quite crowded
- Free WiFi
- Big, cozy beds with wonderful gigantic pillows
- Minifridge
- TV
- Access to jacuzzi and sauna

And now to the cons:
- The rooms wasn't very fresh
- The windows couldn't be opened (and the air in the room was terrible)
- The hairdryer was almost antique, it was glued into a drawer
- It was quite noisy because the room had the windows towards the restaurant
- There are so many people wanting to use the jacuzzi so there is a big queue for that. I think it would be better to be able to book it.

Would I stay here again? Well, yes if I could pay the price I did (large discount). But to the normal price? Probably not.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#8 of 18 in Karlstad
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza
Address: Vastra Torggatan 2, Karlstad 652 25, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Plaza)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karlstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karlstad
#3 Business Hotel in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Plaza is a full service hotel in the heart of Karlstad. The hotel has been under renovation 2013-14 and today it's the most modern hotel in the city with a brand new look. We offer 131 rooms and suites, 11 conference rooms, relax area with gym, jazuzzi and sauna and our popular restaurant - Kitchen & Table. Our fantastic staff dare to be different and will greet you with passion. It won't take long before you feel like home when staying with us. We wish you a warm welcome to Karlstad and to Clarion Hotel Plaza! Clarion Hotel(R) - Service with Passion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Karlstad
Karlstad Radisson
Clarion Hotel Karlstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing