We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not understand how this bus motel has achieved 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Certificate of Excellence
Hollabrunn, Austria
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Do not understand how this bus motel has achieved 4 stars”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We planned to stay 5 nights and have ordered well in advance - we received two rooms with no day light with the view to dirty breakfest tables.
After intervention we could change one of the rooms - not even better. As the buses stop there with people just stying overnight they start their airconditioning about 6 am infront of your window....The rooms were not cleaned, when arriving the toilett was completely dirty and we had to call for service which finally arrived 30 minutes later. Breakfest was a disaster - when the bus tourists took everything for their tour - nothing remainded for guests coming later. Service Staff was not able to keep the breakfest tables clean. Asking for napkins - service did not what to understand or did not understand what they have to do, etc. etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47Wolfgang47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    208
    92
    26
    17
See reviews for
74
199
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

At first I want to thank the director Martin Samuelsson and his staff for the hospitality, shown during our stay in the Clarion Hotel Plaza in Karlstad.
Tonight my wife and myself enjoyed a fantastic diner during the last evening we stay in Sweden: this was a perfect example of a very positive memory.
The room we stay in at this moment, the dinner, the service of the staff, every detail will contribute to the recommendation I'll give to everybody who plans to visit Karlstad in Sweden, the beautiful country we have spent three weeks travelling in!
Verien Slippens & Donald Uhrlep

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uhrlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed twice in to different rooms: the first room was very modern but small, with a view to the lobby, the second one was in the old part of the hotel, very large and with a balcony, but a bit oldfashioned (old carpets etc.). I enjoyed both. Very interesting modern lobby. Friendly staff, good breakfast and a sauna with a spectacular view. The hotel is just across the street from the trainstation.

Room Tip: If you prefer it modern, go for the new part, if you need more space choose the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2010

They must absolutely update the hotel. Old and dirty carpet and a very bad smell in the room.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pepse123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The lobby looked totally renovated; nice furniture and modern décor; unfortunately the room we stayed was old and the bathroom was clean but smelling bad and in desperate need of renovation.
Breakfast was very good. Friendly staff.
Parking across the street for $110,00 SEK per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafernandes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Small European rooms - no surprise. Typically will get a twin-sized bed arrangement so make sure you are specific about what you need. Bathrooms could use upgrading -- old "grody" tiles. In-room lighting around mirrors is quite possibly the worst I've ever seen. Have recently upgraded their restaurant space, lounge and lobby -- and they did a great job of it. Now it is time to do the sleeping rooms. A lot of street noise (earplugs block out all the noise) and seems to attract a noisy crowd that is up after midnight making noise in the halls -- to hotel's credit, they responded quickly when I called the front desk. Breakfast is quite extensive. Other meals lack any choice or flavor. Hotel staff acts woefully uninformed about area - what to see, how to get there, where to eat. (hard to believe they don't know since it is a very small city and it seems that when you are in town everyone knows everyone else) Free wireless internet in rooms is great. Only 1/2 block from train station -- and pretty much a block or two from the main areas of Karlstad. Summer into Fall attracts a large Asian tourist population-- the sheer number of them can be overwhelming as they tend to travel in packs and show little awareness of their surroundings -- will cut you off, bump into you and generally want to stand in the exact same spot you are presently standing in. Getting away from breakfast buffet without getting something spilled on you will take some talent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The rooms are fairly roomy compared to a typical hotel in Stockholm but this is Karlstad Varmland after all. The location is good as it is in the middle of town and next to the shopping area, supermarkets etc. The staff are very pleasant and efficient. The only downside was the bathroom, which had a tiny shower area, a shower that was just adequate but not powerful, white tiles that looked brown (though they were clean) and a really small sink with little space for toiletries. The rooms are also somewhat inconsistent as one room had a large LCD TV but others had normal TVs, perhaps the hotel is in the midst of renovating. Overall, it's ok for a basic stay but the hotel should consider updating its bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Plaza

Property: Clarion Hotel Plaza
Address: Vastra Torggatan 2, Karlstad 652 25, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Plaza)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karlstad
#3 Business Hotel in Karlstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Plaza is a full service hotel in the heart of Karlstad. The hotel has been under renovation 2013-14 and today it's the most modern hotel in the city with a brand new look. We offer 131 rooms and suites, 11 conference rooms, relax area with gym, jazuzzi and sauna and our popular restaurant - Kitchen & Table. Our fantastic staff dare to be different and will greet you with passion. It won't take long before you feel like home when staying with us. We wish you a warm welcome to Karlstad and to Clarion Hotel Plaza! Clarion Hotel(R) - Service with Passion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Karlstad
Karlstad Radisson
Clarion Hotel Karlstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing