We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget place to stay in Karlstad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good Morning Karlstad City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Good Morning Karlstad City
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Budget place to stay in Karlstad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel at least 5 or 6 times for business. It's at a very convenient location in central Karlstad. As with any Ibis hotel the standardised room styling is rather average although for an Ibis this particular location is on the higher end of the spectrum. The rooms are decent size, clean. The breakfast buffet is in typical Swedish style with plenty of choice. Staff have always been kind, friendly and talkative. So if you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in Karlstad with good value for money this would be the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Martijn,

Thank you for given us your feedback of your stay.
It is nice to hear that you keep coming back to us.

Please let me know when you are here the next time and we will see if we can upgrade to room for you.

Best regards,

Helena Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    70
    19
    10
See reviews for
35
64
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and after the cost of more expensive but far worse hotels in Norway this was so good. Quiet and clean, spacious room and huge bathroom. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station and almost outside the pedestrian mall with lots of cafes and restaurants. Breakfast was adequate with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and cooked eggs as well as cold meats and cheeses. But the staff at reception were extremely helpful at all times and offered good advice and assistance. We have stayed at many Accor and Ibis hotels over the years and this was one of the nicest Ibis hotels we have stayed at - excellent attitude of staff and great service and while this is a small hotel it meets the Ibis/Accor standards at the highest level. Thank you Ibis Styles Karlstad!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very positive feedback about our hotel.
We are really glad to hear that you are staying within the Accor family and that our hotel fulfilled and met your expectations.
We will share your positive review with our staff which will encourage them to keep up the good service.
Hope you will stay here in the future!

Best regards,

Helena Andersson
General Manager

H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brando, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked this on the way to Karstad, but somehow booking did not show, but we got the room. We did have to pay more for the litte dog, sadly we did not get any dogpag ;-(.
This is very nice, little rooms and you might say a "little" breakfast. Good for one night but maybe not for a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eervi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of your stay at our hotel.
When have since you stayed arranged for dogs to get a warm welcome as well so I hope you will visit us again and see the change we have made.

Best regards,

Helena Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

OK, so I might have been a little easily impressed, after two weeks of being soaked in a tent in Norway. When we got to Karlstad I was so SICK of camping.
So I looked online and despite there was some festival going on in the Mariebergskogen we could get a room for 645 SKR/night (a couple), breakfast included. This is about 75 a night in euros for 2 persons.
So we did. And I was so HAPPY, because I had a BED and a SHOWER and the room was so very clean and the girl at the front desk, I think her name was Daphne, she was soooo sweet!
She told us to take a boating trip and have an ice cream on the boat which was lovely and she had good dinner recommandations, though you might want to add Munken to your list of recommandations. Because as a tourist I really wanted to try moose and it was great at that restaurant and so affordable, which is a nice surprise! (3 course at about 30-35 euro)

But Daphne, thank you so much! Ibis, thank you for a warm and dry place to stay and the nice breakfast (so great not having to cook breakfast on camping gas) and be sure to get the fresh bread that you cut yourself, instead of toast or buns! At the left side of the buffet.

Negatives: for me, nothing at all. But do realise it is a simple hotel. People are kind and I didn't hear any noise and it was very clean, but there are no 'luxuries' such as a minibar or a bath or complementary bath products or anything. Breakfast buffet is not very extended, but products are fresh and nice, but if you want loads of choices for your breakfast (I'm not a big eater in the morning), like pancakes and waffles and such, you should go somewhere else.

But it is in the center and Daphne is so sweet so I'm sure you'll have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelleJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Arne Kaellhus,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Karlstad City.
We are very glad that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that if you ever pass trough here again you will choose ibis Styles Karlstad City.

Sincerely,

Helena Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.1 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#3 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning Karlstad City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning Karlstad City

Property: Good Morning Karlstad City
Address: 20 Vaestra Torggatan, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden (Formerly ibis Styles Karlstad City)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning Karlstad City 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Morning Karlstad City offers a lot of hotel for your money, with well-planned rooms and friendly, personal service. Free WiFi and breakfast are also included in your stay. That's what we call good value. Good Morning Karlstad City is situated in the heart of Karlstad, with shopping, nightlife and attractions just around the corner. Guests have easy access to Värmlands Museum, Wermland Opera and no fewer than four shopping centres nearby. Not far from the hotel lies Alsters Herrgård, the childhood home of poet Gustav Fröding. For more active pursuits there is Skutberget, with its walking and fitness trails. The lounge has a cosy atmosphere and generous opening times, with food available to order 24 hours a day. Our breakfast buffet opens at 6 am every day. Welcome to the great value hotel with the generous spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Good Morning Karlstad City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing