We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Good Morning Karlstad City
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    71
    19
    11
See reviews for
36
65
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and after the cost of more expensive but far worse hotels in Norway this was so good. Quiet and clean, spacious room and huge bathroom. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station and almost outside the pedestrian mall with lots of cafes and restaurants. Breakfast was adequate with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and cooked eggs as well as cold meats and cheeses. But the staff at reception were extremely helpful at all times and offered good advice and assistance. We have stayed at many Accor and Ibis hotels over the years and this was one of the nicest Ibis hotels we have stayed at - excellent attitude of staff and great service and while this is a small hotel it meets the Ibis/Accor standards at the highest level. Thank you Ibis Styles Karlstad!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very positive feedback about our hotel.
We are really glad to hear that you are staying within the Accor family and that our hotel fulfilled and met your expectations.
We will share your positive review with our staff which will encourage them to keep up the good service.
Hope you will stay here in the future!

Best regards,

Helena Andersson
General Manager

H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brando, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked this on the way to Karstad, but somehow booking did not show, but we got the room. We did have to pay more for the litte dog, sadly we did not get any dogpag ;-(.
This is very nice, little rooms and you might say a "little" breakfast. Good for one night but maybe not for a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eervi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of your stay at our hotel.
When have since you stayed arranged for dogs to get a warm welcome as well so I hope you will visit us again and see the change we have made.

Best regards,

Helena Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

OK, so I might have been a little easily impressed, after two weeks of being soaked in a tent in Norway. When we got to Karlstad I was so SICK of camping.
So I looked online and despite there was some festival going on in the Mariebergskogen we could get a room for 645 SKR/night (a couple), breakfast included. This is about 75 a night in euros for 2 persons.
So we did. And I was so HAPPY, because I had a BED and a SHOWER and the room was so very clean and the girl at the front desk, I think her name was Daphne, she was soooo sweet!
She told us to take a boating trip and have an ice cream on the boat which was lovely and she had good dinner recommandations, though you might want to add Munken to your list of recommandations. Because as a tourist I really wanted to try moose and it was great at that restaurant and so affordable, which is a nice surprise! (3 course at about 30-35 euro)

But Daphne, thank you so much! Ibis, thank you for a warm and dry place to stay and the nice breakfast (so great not having to cook breakfast on camping gas) and be sure to get the fresh bread that you cut yourself, instead of toast or buns! At the left side of the buffet.

Negatives: for me, nothing at all. But do realise it is a simple hotel. People are kind and I didn't hear any noise and it was very clean, but there are no 'luxuries' such as a minibar or a bath or complementary bath products or anything. Breakfast buffet is not very extended, but products are fresh and nice, but if you want loads of choices for your breakfast (I'm not a big eater in the morning), like pancakes and waffles and such, you should go somewhere else.

But it is in the center and Daphne is so sweet so I'm sure you'll have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelleJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Arne Kaellhus,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Karlstad City.
We are very glad that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that if you ever pass trough here again you will choose ibis Styles Karlstad City.

Sincerely,

Helena Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is not a modern hotel, not even close. When was the last time you got an old-fashioned key (not a card or similar) to unlock the door? Most of the interior is a bit out of date, but fully functional and everything was clean. And the location is great, right by the central square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Arne Kaellhus,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Karlstad City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis Styles, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Helena Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Location is great right in the city center, with nearby parking, walking distance from train and bus-station.
Rooms are clean and no wall to wall carpets!! Staff is friendly and very helpful.
The hotel i situated right some nice restaurants and bars also very close to all sorts of shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rydstedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning Karlstad City, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for answering about your stay at our hotel.
We always appreciate that our guest reflects on their stay so that we have possibility to achieve even better.

Best regards,
Helena Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.1 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza
0.3 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#8 of 18 in Karlstad
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning Karlstad City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning Karlstad City

Property: Good Morning Karlstad City
Address: 20 Vaestra Torggatan, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden (Formerly ibis Styles Karlstad City)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning Karlstad City 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Morning Karlstad City offers a lot of hotel for your money, with well-planned rooms and friendly, personal service. Free WiFi and breakfast are also included in your stay. That's what we call good value. Good Morning Karlstad City is situated in the heart of Karlstad, with shopping, nightlife and attractions just around the corner. Guests have easy access to Värmlands Museum, Wermland Opera and no fewer than four shopping centres nearby. Not far from the hotel lies Alsters Herrgård, the childhood home of poet Gustav Fröding. For more active pursuits there is Skutberget, with its walking and fitness trails. The lounge has a cosy atmosphere and generous opening times, with food available to order 24 hours a day. Our breakfast buffet opens at 6 am every day. Welcome to the great value hotel with the generous spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Good Morning Karlstad City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing