We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit in my old home town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Good Morning Karlstad City
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    70
    19
    10
See reviews for
35
64
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel times on time from 2003 until now. I try to stay at IBIS or Mercure whenever I travel, perhaps 50 Accor'nights a year.

IBIS Karlstad needs an upgrade: Breakfast is old, bread is cold, coffee undrinkable as the so called 'Juices'. Cheese, ham, pate' etc are often old and the vegetables not clean. No bacon.

Room is low-standard IBIS - that is OK but the cleanliness and the room cleaning is below average! No change of glasses, wastes left in the room, the floor is not washed etc..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Sweden is not an easy task - but they can be found.
We were making a short visit to Karlstad and wanted a budget hotel - the Ibis turned out to be a pretty good choice.
Located centrally, less than 10 minutes walk from the rail station, and close to all of the city's amenities, the Ibis is a fairly typical chain hotel.
With a small reception and bar on the ground floor, guest rooms on the first and second, and a breakfast room on the top floor.
The staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke very good English.
The room itslelf was larger than we expected (more of that later), with one double and one single bed. Facilities are basic - a built-in wardrobe space and desk - one chair, and a flat-screen TV (which includes English-language channels). The beds were warm and comfortable, with extra pillows and an extra duvet supplied. The bathroom was OK - a decent shower, and soap dispensers by the sink and in the shower. Adequate towels provided.
Good points: the room was quiet - some street noise, but very little from the rest of the hotel. Heating was very efficient - we actually had to turn it down! Breakfast buffet (charged extra) was reasonable for a budget hotel - but the fruit juice was awful - avoid! Lots of local information available in the lobby. There is a lift.
Less than good points: no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Internet available, but at an extra cost (and quite expensive). There is a club about 150 meters from the hotel, and when it closes late Saturday night, it is noisy (round about 2 a.m.).
Two tips: check room rates on the Ibis website before booking - we got a special weekend rate (20% off the usual room rate) which was cheaper than any of the usual booking sites. The standard offering is a double-bedded room - we asked for a twin-bedded room instead, and those rooms are quite a bit bigger. Worth doing if you need a little extra space.
Our visit to Karlstad was a brief one, only two nights, and we did not spend much time in our hotel room, so the Ibis was a perfectly adequate choice for this kind of stay.
There are several other options in the town, and if you were staying longer, it would probably be worth exploring those. But for a budget stay (less than £50 a night) this was a good option.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room instead of a double - these are larger but the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Great value for money hotel. Only negative point was the ventilation fan, which was a bit too loud. Nice breakfast. No disturbance from other guests. Comfortable beds. Free wireless would be appreciated though.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona
Level Contributor
337 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Spent two nights at this hotel in July, 2011. Must admit that my expectations were quite low as the price was very favourable. But to my pleasure to hotel was excellent value for money. The rooms are on the small side and there are no frills. But we asked for separate beds and got one small double bed, ok for couples, and one extra bed.

The shower/toilet area was small, but adequate and the flat screen TV was ok, with a limited selection of channels.

The best with this hotel is the location. Only a few minutes from the city centre, one minute from the tourist information and minutes from the Klarälven park area. Walking distances to almost everything! The breakfast on the top floor (?) also proved to be better than expected.

My only criticism would be aimed at the pillows! They felt like lumps and weren't nice at all. The beds, however, were of good quality. I wouldn't hesitate to come back, though. My grading is based on the price of the hotel....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.1 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens
0.1 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#3 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning Karlstad City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning Karlstad City

Property: Good Morning Karlstad City
Address: 20 Vaestra Torggatan, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden (Formerly ibis Styles Karlstad City)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning Karlstad City 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Morning Karlstad City offers a lot of hotel for your money, with well-planned rooms and friendly, personal service. Free WiFi and breakfast are also included in your stay. That's what we call good value. Good Morning Karlstad City is situated in the heart of Karlstad, with shopping, nightlife and attractions just around the corner. Guests have easy access to Värmlands Museum, Wermland Opera and no fewer than four shopping centres nearby. Not far from the hotel lies Alsters Herrgård, the childhood home of poet Gustav Fröding. For more active pursuits there is Skutberget, with its walking and fitness trails. The lounge has a cosy atmosphere and generous opening times, with food available to order 24 hours a day. Our breakfast buffet opens at 6 am every day. Welcome to the great value hotel with the generous spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Good Morning Karlstad City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing