We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice but hear through, tasty breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Certificate of Excellence
Västerås, Sverige
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice but hear through, tasty breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice rooms but you can hear the neighbours talk through the walls! Very good hotel otherwise with the atmosphere that an old stone house gives. The breakfast buffet is very tasty, a lot to choose from and freshly prepared. Most value for the money in Karlstad!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terese_PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    125
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
196
7
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice hotel with a history. East to find, Hood parking, short walk to city. Good rooms. Fine breakfast but can be busy/crowded. Nice with a museum in house. Friendly staff and free wifi. I like the connection with the buildings history.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sredna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I chose the hotel for my stay because of its history. The building was surrounded by high fence and the interior was also made in a style of prison. Downstairs was a museum, where could be seen how the prisoners lived there. The historical moment was really nice extra. Although it is said that the house is haunted I didn't notice anything:)
The room was big enough with a double bed. The bed was really-really comfortable and ideal for having a good sleep. Ironing equipment was available in every room which is not so common and came as a pleasant surprise. I was distracted by quite loud noise of the ventilation system.
All day long coffee and cookies were available near lobby. Breakfast was tasty and with a good variety. Also free dinner was included in the price.
The service was good and friendly.
Overall, I enjoyed the stay there.

Room Tip: Don't select a room with single bed, it's really tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xJanikax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is in the central parts of Karlstad,it was a prison before and it´s rebuilt in an nice way.
The room was clean and fresh,nice furnitures,wi-fi and a big restroom.
A warm welcoming atmosphere,photos from the old prison on the walls and a museum in the basementfloor.
The concept offering coffe almost all day and a generous evening-buffet is a hit.Tasty food,salads and deserts and a ecological breakfast,could not be better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vresros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion Collection Bilan for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. We received a warm welcome upon arrival and because we were celebrating an anniversary, the personnel had placed a nice welcome basket in our room, which was a really sweet touch and very much appreciated.

The bed wasn't huge, but it was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and very modern. The room had really high beamed ceilings and two large windows. There was a desk with a chair and an armchair. There were at least 15 channels on the flatscreen TV.

Both the breakfast and dinner were wonderful! The buffet was constantly replenished, and the kitchen/serving staff were friendly and kept all the tables cleared. There's afternoon coffee/tea with cake every afternoon and fruit available all day. The dinner was a very tasty hot entree and a nice variety of salads every day, along with a dessert.

Each time we met the cleaning personnel in the hall they greeted us and asked how we had slept. Our room was very nicely cleaned every day.

The hotel is a very short walk to the city center and very easy to get to by car or train. You can park for free in the lot next door (you can get a permit from the reception desk) or park in the hotel's lot for SEK 75 per day. We opted for the free parking :)

Karlstad was a really nice city. People were friendly and the city was pretty. In the summer you can take water busses which are a nice way to see the city from a different angle. At the tourist office (in the library) you can buy a 1 or 3 day pass that is good for both the regular busses and the water busses. We didn't use the regular busses because the city is so good for walking.

Hope this review was helpful :). Enjoy your trip to Karlstad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
195 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is in all fairness a decent 3 star hotel. Ok, maybe they haven't got slippers and maybe you can hear traffic noise in some of the rooms, but come on - it's in the center of the city!

I have stayed in this hotel 5-6 times and find it very nice and convenient. Like stated, in the center, free parking (!), fairly modern. It's not a 5 star wanna-be, and it delivers as expected (and better) for a 3 star, and that's why I rate it "Average". A little improvement here and there, and they'll soon be touching the "Very Good" rating from me.

I have tried both the breakfast buffet and the evening buffet and at that price it's quite all right. Off course you can find better food in the city, but not at that price. And there are lots of healthy choices too.

I see other reviewers comment about the service. I'd say it's usually ok, never bad, but not top either. You don't feel special when you walk in the door, nor when you leave. They lack that little extra.

I'm very picky about beds, and the beds I have slept in in this hotel were actually very nice.

And I do recommend a trip in the basement to see the prison museum and the prison cells, just as they were when the prison shut down in the fifties. I do believe it is possible to spend the night in one of them, if you got the nerve… Rumors have it the hotel is haunted, so maybe you'll have a special and memorable night.


The Bilan hotel is all in all a good alternative, not fancy but fair. Much like the city itself…


If this review in any way was helpful, I appreciate the feedback so pls hit the Yes button if you think so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leon_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I was quite disappointed with my stay at this hotel. The room was very small, almost cramped, and there were no doubt that this is a former prison! As the hotel is surrounded by busy streets you didn´t want to open the window which made the experience a bit claustrophobic. The room was a bit noisy even with the window closed and as the doubel bed was pretty narrow the sleep quality wasn´t very good. The hotel is slightly outside of the city centre and there are many hotels more centrally located. Dinner was included by paying 10 euro extra but the buffé was pretty bland, it´s better to go to a restaruant and have a proper meal. There were many organic products though, also in the breakfast buffé which was OK. The staff compensated for the pitfalls by being friendly and helpful, and the common areas are more spacious and OK decorated. This is not enough to make me come back though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaPaqariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.3 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#4 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens
0.1 mi away
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
Address: 3 Karlbergsgatan, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karlstad
#1 Business Hotel in Karlstad
#1 Best Value Hotel in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Karlstad
Karlstad Clarion
Clarion Collection Karlstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing