We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nice restaurant Emilia at Hotel Gustaf Fröding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gustaf Froding Hotel & Konferens
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
496 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“The nice restaurant Emilia at Hotel Gustaf Fröding”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I actually didn’t stayed at the hotel this time, but we had a superb Mediterranean buffet with wine at their restaurant Emilia. The staff was friendly. They have also a nice swimming pool, so you can take bath if you want. The hotel is situated 5 km from Karlstad, so you need an own car or taxi to get here. Last time I stayed here it still had his former name “OK Motor hotel Karlstad”.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leffex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    56
    22
    5
See reviews for
49
51
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night (business trip) in June 2013. Not the most modern hotel, but the room was clean and functional. The motorway is quite close to the hotel and it generates some noise. Breakfast was not to impressive. All in all: Fair price for this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked a superior room With a double bed. Got what seem to me to be a standard room With 2 single beds. Nothing we can do about it was the Message from the reseption. They also managed to make an error witch made us pay for the room we initially booked twice. Had 2 make 2 trips back to the reception to make the Electronic key work, and make sure there was nothing they could do to straighten out the errorrs they made. The reseptionist seamed untouched by all the errors and just pulled her shoulders to Our problem.

The rooms are big but not of a good standard. Could definetly also be cleaner.

Would never stay at this hotel again, and after we get Our Money back for the doble payment tomorrow we are leaving for another hotel.

Would recomend everyone to choose form the 20 or other options in Karlstad.

Room Tip: Try a different hotell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerhardsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karlstad hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice and airy, spacious and comfortable that first impressions anyway
There is also a big free car park and open wifi system.
The room although spacious is a touch austere. It reminded me of a Nun’s convent room
Not wanting to over do it in the comfort stakes.
Breakfast is in a large room with plenty of seating though not too much choice, it’s still adequate.
Gym is just a treadmill cycle machine and one or two weights but there is a large inviting pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masspecguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is in the forest, 4 km / 2.5 miles outside the city centre of Karlstad. The nearest neighbor is an OK/Q8 petrol station (which sells some basic food products, fast food, newspapers etc. as well).
The main express road E18 connection the two capitals Stockholm (Sweden) and Oslo (Norway) passes by the hotel, approx 150 m away (hidden behind the trees…though, you may possibly hear the sounds of heavy trucks passing).

I was friendly welcomed and registered by the young female clerk at the front desk. Being a BW Rewards Platinum member, I nevertheless experienced a lack of knowledge and dedication. I had to ask for a newspaper and for information about the Wi-Fi connection. Furthermore, when I asked if she possibly could up-grade me to a better room, due to the Platinum level of my member card, she had to check the manual if that would be possible according to the rules. She confirmed, after having read the manual that an up-grade in fact is one of the advantages for guests having a Platinum card (which I already knew myself). However, as - according to the clerk - no better/larger was room available due to a fully booked hotel, she could not help me.

Hmm…..when I was looking at the limited number of cars at the parking outside the hotel late in the evening and early the next morning, I really had my doubts about how many rooms really were booked that night!

The room itself was a single occupancy room at the third floor, very dull, very impersonal and very old-aged. It should really need a renovation. The madras was too soft for me, and the curtain didn’t really cover the window. The bathroom was “ancient”…maybe from the 70’s. With only a very tiny shelf to put your own belonging.

The breakfast restaurant (i.e. the same as the evening restaurant, which even is used as a dancing restaurant during some weekends) is very spacious. It has a large flat-screen TV-set on the wall, typically for many basic hotels.
The breakfast itself is basic…actually, I can’t recall anything that answered to, or exceeded, my humble expectations.
The number of Swedish newspapers was very limited – and only one copy of the second largest morning paper “Svenska Dagbladet”.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July '12. The room was completely OUTdated and we asked for another room as we were here for a much needed date-trip and the bed was two single 90 cm beds. The clerk in the reseption was no way near coopoerative and the response we got was that we were allowed to push the two single beds together... The location is no way near central and is located near a busy road that we could hear even with the windows closed (the good thing is, after all, that Sweeden closes early in the night so it is not so noisy after 9 o' clock).

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel is nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in May 2012. The overall impression is "dated". Nothing has changed here since the 80's or early 90's.The room was OK in size but totally dull in design. The bed, against a wall, was of regular 90 cm's size which is OK if you're not moving too much in your sleep.The restaurant is of poor quality, a souless large empty (at least when I stayed there, weekdays in prime business season) space with an overpriced evening buffet of two overcooked hot dishes and a wet and soulless sallad buffet as the only evening choice. The location is however the true drawback with this hotel, far outside the city centre so there are no walking distance alternatives to the dull supper apart from a snack at the nearby petrol station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
1.8 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
2.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
1.5 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
1.6 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
317 reviews
1.7 mi away
Good Morning Karlstad City
Good Morning Karlstad City
#10 of 18 in Karlstad
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gustaf Froding Hotel & Konferens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gustaf Froding Hotel & Konferens

Property: Best Western Gustaf Froding Hotel & Konferens
Address: Hojdgatan 3, Karlstad 654 68, Sweden (Formerly Gustaf Fröding Hotell & Konferens)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Gustaf Froding Hotel & Konferens 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gustaf Froding Hotel & Konferens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karlstad Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing