We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite basic but clean and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel for business. The building itself is quite ugly (70's?). The room was nothing fancy but quite spacious, clean and comfortoble. Near / in city centre. Good Wifi connection.
There is no real restaurant in the hotel. There is a pub but it is small (at 19hrs they had no table free anymore) and noisy (groups of men drinking beer). It is better to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemiekexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times in the 11 or so years I've been coming to Uppsala on business. Everything about it is ok, nothing is outstanding but equally there's nothing wrong with it.

The staff at reception are warm and welcoming.

The only snag was that the window in my room opened out onto a grass area which meant I couldn't leave the window open during the night as anyone could have got in from outside. Next time I'll ask for a room on the 2nd floor or higher.

The location is excellent, a short walk from the town centre.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the 1st floor as the windows open to a grassy area from which someone could step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for five nights between 21st and 26th August having travelled from Ireland for a conference.

The reception staff are friendly and efficient. The breakfast offers good choice and is well serviced. The Scottish theme bar has a great atmosphere with the staff being both efficient and friendly. The room was comfortable with a mini kitchen and a clean and well functioning shower and toilet facility. The location is very convenient for access to the town centre, railway station and the university - all within easy walking distance. The only niggle was with the daily room servicing. While the cleaning and bed making was fine there was a haphazard approach to replacing items like tea bags, milk and shower gel/shampoo. We had to go chasing these items on a number of occasions.
All in all though we would stay there again if returning to Uppsala.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had a short stay at the hotel for a conference. The rooms are clean and quite ordinary but a bit warm. The location is very good, close to the central station and the university. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

Room Tip: Room towards the street, not all quiet in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theanxioustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel has a rather worn feel throughout, but offered all I needed for the stay (storage space, desk, internet, etc.). The room was quite spacious, and the bathroom featured a traditional tub rather than shower only, which I'd have expected in this class of hotel. I'd particularly like to highlight the helpfulness of the staff at the front desk: they provided helpful answers to various questions I had about the town in a friendly, courteous way. By the way the location is excellent; everything downtown is within walking distance and it's not far from the station.

This was a paid-for business trip, so I can't judge / comment on value for money. My four stars presume that the rate was not out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWWandLBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A good location within a few minutes walk of the railway station and town centre, this hotel is located on a busy thoroughfare. There was maintenance work being done on the hotel during my stay so maybe they are aware of the problems.
The room was spacious with a good TV and wifi access ( free) but there was no obvious air conditioning and opening the window was not an option because of the traffic noise. Everthing was scuffed and faded; the Georges Pompidou effect of the plumbing was not appealing: for the price I would have expected something better.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms at the back were quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

After reading prior reviews before i stayed I would agree
The breakfast is good, free Internet , if you have a car .
You have to paying for parking down side
If you travel by train just a short walk down the street
Due to the location it can be a little noise from the street and in side
The place reminds me of a dorm
The rooms are clean which is good
For the price and location in the area
I would stay there again if I did not have a car

We did find a great Italian restaurant down the street. 5 minute

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloeh114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.4 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#10 of 17 in Uppsala
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#7 of 17 in Uppsala
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elite Hotel Academia
Elite Hotel Academia
#3 of 17 in Uppsala
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 17 in Uppsala
917 reviews
1 mi away
Scandic Uppsala North
Scandic Uppsala North
#6 of 17 in Uppsala
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala

Address: 27 Kungsgatan, Uppsala 753 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Hotel Class:3 star — Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Uppsala is centrally located and offers a modern setting with all communications within convenient distance. Good standard, modern technology and highly personable service are our offer to you looking for a comfortable stay with an international touch. With its exceptional location; Hotel Uppsala offers an ideal sanctuary - whether for business or pleasure. As a guest you get free WiFi and access to our Scottish pub Pipes of Scotland. Hotel Uppsala also rents centrally located apartments, consisting of three rooms and a kitchen. Each is fully equipped for a long-term stay for one person or an entire family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing