We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at the Radisson on two occasions, in the months of March/April for a business meeting, and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone needing a place to stay in and around the area.

It's very close the city, with all the amenities you would requires. The rooms are a reasonable size, with either shower or bath tub and everything you'd expect from a Radisson.

MY only criticisms would be the hotels restaurant/in-room dining and the air conditioning in the rooms. The menu is very limited, and doesn't really cater for those who aren't fish eaters!... it wasn't necessarily an issue as there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the City, and the in room air conditioning only lets you set the temperature - it doesn't allow you to turn it on/off, but this stopped me from giving it a 5.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor room, great views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 04bat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 784 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice which I would have expected as it is new but it classes itself as an airport hotel and it is not really that close to the airport but I guess convenient enough if need be. The restaurant is rather lovely and have a great picnic theme which makes things rather interesting. As always here in Sweden the staff are delightful.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting the university on a weeknight in March. It's right behind the station so very conveniently located, and the reception staff gave me a very warm welcome (if a little pushy on the reward scheme). When i got to my room i was disappointed that it was much smaller than the average hotel room. There's barely room to walk around the bed. Much of the space has been allocated to the bathroom, with it's modern milky glass sliding doors and quirky open 'window' to the bedroom area. There's also a large balcony on the top floor rooms, which for business travellers can't be all that useful, and the view of the station isn't much to look at either. (Not to mention the few weeks in the year that it would be warm enough to sit outside!?!) The wooden floor and white/grey/luminous green colour scheme doesn't make for a cosy and relaxing atmosphere either.

I slept well however, it was very peaceful, the bed is comfortable, the shower is powerful and hot, and it's nice to have robes, slippers and a kettle with teas and coffees - not always the case in Swedish hotels.

Breakfast was outstanding. There's all manor of fruits, cereals, breads, teas, juices, yoghurts, hams and cheeses. And there's cooked too, but American cooked, with horrible dried up bacon rather than nice Danish bacon, and tiny sausages rather than British style nice pork ones, so that's best avoided if you're a Brit. And the restaurant area is lovely. Comfortable seats, spacious tables and interesting decor.

I would return for breakfast, but not to stay. I prefer a more cosy spacious living space when staying away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirtualOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Up... R, Marketing at Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. We are glad you had a peaceful, good night sleep in one of our top floor superior rooms and that you appreciated our restaurant Picnic. Our room types varies in size, design and colour and you can choose between rooms with carpet or wooden floor. We hope to welcome you back again and are happy to reserve a room more convenient for you for your next stay in Uppsala.

Best regards,
Helena Hammarberg Eriksson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel. Very nice and stylish rooms, you could tell it is brand new. Liked the central location: Uppsala is not a large city, so from the hotel you can easily walk to the main attractions.

What I did not like was that my room was (in my opinion) too warm and you could not open any windows or adjust the temperature in your room. My sleep would have been much better if the room had had an indvidually controlled aircon system.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank TheNomisFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

+ Great located just a few meters from the trainstation.
+ Good brakfast the first morning.
+ Brand new hotel, fresh!
- Lousy wifi.
- Bad quality at breakfast the second morning.
- Strange designed rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanInSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Up... R, Marketing at Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Uppsala and thank you for your feedback, it´s very important to us. We are glad you appreciated our new hotel and our great location but we are sorry for your experience of the uneven quality of the breakfast and the wifi. We continuously work on securing the quality of the breakfast buffet and will see to the routines. Regarding the wifi our supplier is working on this matter as well. Our rooms differ in design and sizes and we´ ll be delighted to let you try another room category that suits your requirements for your next stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
Helena Hammarberg Eriksson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've stayed in the Uppsala Radisson Blu twice now and both stays have been excellent.

When I learned of its proximity to the railway station I was a little concerned that you'd get train noise in the rooms but this is not an issue and the acoustic insulation is excellent. Check-in staff are always very friendly. Rooms are excellent. Both my wife and I love the rooms, great contemporary design, fabulously comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom with large walk-in shower. However, the highlight of our stays has been the inclusive breakfast which includes a great selection of food, some standard fare and some Scandinavian specialities. Of particular note are the lamb sausages, the herring and the great selection of bread.

My only negative observation is that this as a Carlson Club Gold Elite then this is the only Radisson Blu hotel I've stayed in recently that doesn't appear to upgrade its elite customers which is a pity - here's hoping for my next stay!

Nevertheless, I love the Radisson Blu Uppsala and am already looking forward to my next stay in April.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimeZoneHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Up... R, Marketing at Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Hotel in Uppsala. We are glad that you appreciate our hotel so much.

We always do our best to upgrade Club Carlson Gold Elite members to a higher category free of charge, but some days when we are fully booked on business rooms and suites we are not able to. If we are not able to upgrade, we always give the best room in the category that is booked. Looking forward to welcoming you back in April.

Helena Hammarberg Eriksson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pretty new hotel in the town center of Uppsala. Location perfect, next to railway station. Room was nice, comfortable and very clean as it was new. So new that even minibar was not assembled yet..:) Very good fitness room with high standard of equipments. Typical swedish breakfast, maybe not so good than e.g. at Scandic hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 17 in Uppsala
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Academia
Elite Hotel Academia
#3 of 17 in Uppsala
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#7 of 17 in Uppsala
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#9 of 17 in Uppsala
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala

Address: 4 Stationsgatan, Uppsala 75340, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range: $111 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIRST CLASS HOTEL IN CENTRAL UPPSALA Welcome to Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala, a first class hotel in the heart of Uppsala and next to Uppsala Railway Station – only 17 minutes by train to Stockholm Arlanda Airport and 38 minutes to Stockholm. Within walking distance you will also find the city's top range of shopping, culture and entertainment. At Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala both locals and hotel guests from all over the world meet to enjoy one of our 185 lovely hotel rooms, 7 modern conference rooms, our beautiful restaurant Picnic or Blu Bar. Whatever the reason – Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala looks forward to upgrade your way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing