We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a great location”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited Sweden to see our friends. We stayed with them for the majority of the trip and stayed here for 2 nights.

We booked a family room. They kindly put a bed up for our son at the end of our bed. A little cramped but perfectly workable. You only stay in your room to sleep!

The restaurant is lovely. A good menu, and breakfast is also very good. The room and the hotel are spotless and the staff extremely friendly.

We had a private bathroom, stocked well with shampoo, conditioner etc. You are provided with a hairdryer and ironing board too. Tea and coffee making facilities are also provided, but we had no choice of "English Tea" just lemon tea (Perfectly lovely but when you fancy a nice cuppa it's got to be proper tea!). We had no mini bar with fresh milk though, but this didn't bother us.

Room service is extremely expensive. For example you can order a glass of coke and they will charge you £15 to bring this to your room! So we went to the bar area and ordered our drinks and if we wanted to, brought them back to our room

Right opposite is the train station and you're 40 - 45 minutes away should you wish to travel to Stockholm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHEUppsala, Marketing at Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Hotel, Uppsala. We are delighted to offer quality amenities and room service for our guests, and our tea selection in the room varies between flavors, but I hope you could enjoy your favorite tea in our restaurant for breakfast. For our guest staying in rooms without mini bar we offer room service with no charge for drinks. We will improve our information on this matter. Thanks for letting us know. Looking forward to welcoming you back again.

/Helena Hammarberg Eriksson, Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    292
    64
    9
    5
See reviews for
98
189
43
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the best place to stay when in Uppsala. Centrally located, just across the road from the central station. The hotel is modern and the rooms are lovely decorated. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast buffet is excellent. The view from the business class rooms at the top of the hotel is magnificent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I spent two nights recently at the Radisson Blu in Uppsala and thought the hotel was very nice. Here are my notes:

Room: I stayed in Room 526. It had a comfortable queen-sized bed with many (6) pillows. Too many pillows, but who's complaining. The bathroom was a separate room which may be different from the other guest room configurations. Like my experience in another European hotel, my room did not have a dresser or a standard closet. It did have two racks with about 8 hangers. However, the racks were not long enough to hang 8 articles of clothing without them being squeezed in tight. What is the European aversion to dressers? On the plus side, the train station is across the street but I did not hear a thing while I slept...soundproofing is great.

Bathroom: My bathroom was a separate room...which, again, although standard in America, may be different from the other available guest rooms. My bathroom did have its own quirks. The major one being that the tub had a shower door that went only half-way across the length of the tub! So yes, when I showered, I tried to be careful about splattering of water, but water was everywhere. Very odd purposeful design...but hey, I'm not the maid who has to clean it up.

Internet: Internet was free and easy to access.

ATM: A cash machine is available nearby. The exchange rate is about 5 or 6 SEK = $1. This makes things interesting as having 1000 SEK in your pocket isn't really that much money.

Meeting Room: Our meeting room was small but well-appointed with office supplies, etc. The projector worked very well, and the hotel-supplied snacks were delicious...eg, a shrimp-and-egg salad wrap for lunch.

Hotel Restaurant/Bar: The restaurant/bar was average. I would not consider it a place to hang out as there were no obvious gathering places for a large number of folks. But it was OK...the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

English: I knew no Swedish, but everyone I met spoke impeccable english. Even the cab drivers speak english well. I was very grateful and impressed.

Nearby Attractions: The Central train station is just across the street. Trains to Stockholm and Arlanda Airport are readily available. The station holds a drug store, mobile device store, and a small convenience store with fresh fruit. The Stationen Restaurant is attached to the train station and was EXCELLENT...highly recommended for the nicely prepared food and friendly beautiful staff. I had the daily special of braised lamb shank, and it was perfectly prepared. My colleague thought the creme brulee for dessert was very good. The town center, with shops, restaurants, and a McDonalds, was two blocks down from the train station. I easily walked from the hotel to the town center in 10 minutes.

Overall: I was very happy with the hotel, my room, and the staff. The location is a major plus. I cannot comment on value as I have no feel for pricing in Sweden, but I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 526 defintely has a separate bathroom from the main room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowHillPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend. Good location, close to the railway station (without any noise problems). Only 5 minutes walk to the main street. Paid parking available close by.
Staff (front desk, restaurant, cleaning) was very friendly and helpful.
The room was nicely furnished and organized we had king size bed – very comfortable. We had room prepared for wheel chair users. So the bathroom was a little strange due to this, but always hot water, heating in the floor. Could have been some shelves etc to keep private items.
Breakfast buffet at the restaurant very good with good Swedish coffee, we also tried the restaurant for dinner, very satisfied with the service and quality of food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night on our recent 5-day cycling trip around Lake Maralen - ok, we went a bit North. This is how we found Uppsala Radisson Blu:

* Front desk staff was friendly and competent.
* We were able to store our two bikes in the luggage room no problem.
* We stayed on the 7th floor. As others have written, the rooms are small, but certainly comfortable. We found the bathroom layout ingenious and there was no problem with one of us using the toilet and the other the shower at the same time, as there was a wall between them. The sliding door ensured one person was always "covered", and if one person is covered then both are.
* Breakfast was good. Loved the layout of the restaurant.
* Loved the central location

Will stay here again with pleasure.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the 7th Floor have a different. Might want to look at the options. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lg_Chikwambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week. The room was small but nicely furnished and organized. Beds are comfortable. Perfect location, near train station. Nice restaurant. Breakfast buffet is very good, coffee could be better though. Everyone was friendly. Overall I enjoyed my stay there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mungo777Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Uppsala's Radisson Blu is located in the absolute centre of the town. We stayed on the seventh (top) floor that offered an excellent view from the terrace belonging to the room. The room was modern and functional but a bit on the compact side. The bar-like opening between the bedroom and bathroom was an unconventional solution, a sliding door trying to give some privacy to the shower and WC. The feeling was not entirely comfortable, although the lay-out made the bedroom feel more spacy.

Room Tip: We recommend rooms on the west side of the seventh floor because of the terrace and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#5 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
0.6 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#11 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#9 of 18 in Uppsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
Address: 4 Stationsgatan, Uppsala 753 40, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala features city location by Uppsala Travel Centre Welcome to Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala. With easy access to the Uppsala Travel Centre and the new railway station, the Radisson Blu Hotel offers first-class accommodation in a convenient location. Guests enjoy a 40-minute train ride to the Stockholm city centre and access to the Stockholm-Arlanda Airport within 18 minutes by train. Guests can discover chic boutiques and attractions like the Linnaeus Garden and Museum, situated near this Uppsala hotel. A total of 185 modern rooms and suites feature quality amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access, bathrobe and slippers, and coffee and tea provisions. While staying at the hotel, Uppsala corporate guests can dine at the on-site restaurant Picnic, work out in the fitness centre or host successful meetings in one of seven efficient meeting rooms. • Travel to the Stockholm - Arlanda Airport from this conveniently located Uppsala hotel. • Rest comfortably in one of 185 guest rooms or suites and enjoy amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access. • Dine on fresh, locally sourced ingredients at the on-site restaurant, Picnic, or meet up with friends or co-workers at the Picnic Bar. • Keep up with a workout routine in the on-site fitness centre, or unwind in the sauna while enjoying views of the cityscape. • Host excellent events at this hotel in Uppsala in one of the seven modern and well-equipped meeting rooms with breakout lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing