We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN EXCELLENT HOTEL - I AM A FREQUENT VISITOR!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Svava
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Lancaster, PA, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT HOTEL - I AM A FREQUENT VISITOR!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I lived in Uppsala for 18 years before moving to the US. Now my family and I stay at the SVAVA HOTEL on every one of our visits to Uppsala.
The Hotel is right in the center of town, within walking distance of everything!
The Staff is excellent, very helpful and friendly. The rooms are excellent and very clean; the beds are very comfortable. Note that they are not all the same size and I would recommend that one ask for a larger room if you want one. The Breakfast is excellent. They offer free dinner every evening from Sunday-Thursday. The Free Internet service is very good. The only complaint i would have is that summer days can be very hot in Uppsala, and the air-conditioning system in this hotel needs an overhaul.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    92
    47
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
44
36
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here for a week while working at the NFA. Its within walking distance of most businesses in the area since it is a small town. The hotel itself is pretty standard. I don't require much. I stayed in a small room, with a small bathroom. It had a single bed and a small bathroom. Also, it had a desk area.

The breakfast was good, there was no fitness center, but jogging trails everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettsky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stay in hotels in Uppsala rather frequently and this is one of our absolute favourites. If you arrive by bus or train, the hotel is ideally situated just across the street from the railway station. If you arrive by car there is a public parking garage just around the corner from the hotel entrance, but unfortunately there is no hotel garage. The hotel is ideally situated in central Uppsala and all the sights, shopping and restaurants are easily reached by foot. The rooms are of average European size and nicely decorated. The whole property is in a very good state of repair and very tidy. According to my opinion, the breakfast buffet is a little above average Swedish standard, both regarding the variation of food and how it is presented. The hotel has a small bar in the lobby but no restaurant, but that is no problem as there are plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood. If you are planning a visit to Uppsala, I can sincerely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andand49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Close to the Uppsala train station. I arrived on a flight from the US in the morning, and were able to have a room ready for me for check in within a half hour. They had very good complementary breakfast in the morning. Reasonable walking distance to the University and the Uppsala castle for touristy activities while there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenBobIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights.. very friendly staff and comfortable bed, clean bathroom. The room is not very spacious though. The hotel is very close to the central station, just a 2-min walk. You can also easily get buses to Stockholm, for example. Didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment on that. There's a decently maintained sauna too!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhankrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Good to stay in that hotel. Just near to railway station. I felt good environment with friendly staff, spacious bathroom. English spoken fluently throughout. The staff are friendly and happy to be of service. Rooms small compared to US, but best beds and excellent location. The location of the hotel was close to everything including a mall with lots of restraurants and a supermarket. I would love to be in this hotel again. I can recommend people to choose this hotel for their holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archanalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is a cute hotel in a very nice location. The train station is across the street, and the hotel is just a very short walk to downtown Uppsala. The staff was helpful and the hotel is cute, but what a surprise when you get to your room. It's about he size of a shoebox!!!! Okay, may be a bit bigger, but gosh it's small. It has everything you need: twin bed, desk, chair, closet, bathroom, but it's just not a comfortable place to stay for a long period of time. Fortunately, I was out the large majority of the day and evening so I really only used the room for sleeping. If you're uncomfortable with small spaces I would NOT recommend this hotel. I don't know if they have larger room, but I was there with colleagues and we all complained about the room size.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcgiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#5 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#11 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#7 of 18 in Uppsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Svava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Svava

Property: Best Western Hotel Svava
Address: Bangardsgatan 24, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava)
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Svava 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Svava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing