We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Uppsala
GreenLeadersGold level
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Nice and clean rooms - newly renovated it seems - a bit small but ok.. Centrally located, within walking distance of several good restaurants. Breakfast buffet was good, with a wide selection.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren_Odense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika G, Reservation Supervisor at Scandic Hotel Uplandia, responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Hi, Thank you for your feedback!
Kind regards
Erika Gelinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    119
    72
    24
    8
See reviews for
36
61
21
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagan, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Arriving at Scandic Uplandia, I was greeted by a nice receptionist. She quickly had the check in done, and a parking permit issued.

The room had a small problem with a lose toilet seat cover, which I pointed out. She quickly switched us to a new room, which lead me to mixing up the key cards for the rest of the stay.

Anyway, the rooms - both of them - were nice and clean, though I must say that they were a bit small. The bathroom had few places to put my toiletries and I tended to splash the bathroom when showering. The same can be said for the room itself, though that was less of a problem.

In conclusion, I'd probably stay there again. The hotel is located right in the middle of town, which suited me. The staff was excellent, and while the rooms could have been a tad bigger, a friendly face makes up for that.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aengeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked this hotel on a bum steer from Frommer's, which called it the best choice in Uppsala. If that is the case,the door is wide open for a competitor to come in. This soulless establishment uses a hectoring, self-righteous green aesthetic to justify its habit of nickel-and-diming its customers for everything. Log onto the hotel's wireless network and you'll be greeted by messages instructing you on why the hotel does not provide toiletries in the bathroom and the importance of using your towels more than one day. It might be more believable if the hotel did not charge for fruit in the basket at the front desk (5 kroners per piece) or tell you that you can get any toiletries you might have forgotten from the front desk....for a fee. As if this weren't irritating enough, the bathrooms are cramped (while sitting on the toilet, you can almost wash your hands in the sink in front of you and water from the shower seeps onto the floor of the bath) and the rooms are small and furnished with cheap furniture that looks like it was purchased 20 years ago at Ikea. The only real redeeming features are its good location in the commercial area and a bountiful breakfast. This was the only place in Sweden which offers foods geared to dietary problems such as lactose-intolerance in addition to the regular fare. Maybe Frommer is right and it's the best in Uppsala. Just don't expect to like it.

Room Tip: The hotel is undergoing renovation. Make sure you specify that you want a room away from the renova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NortNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uppsala hotels

Lund, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

You could change the name of the hotel to the "the ice hotel". It was so cold in our room that we had to get a heater (this is in july). This is not the first time either. We usually stay at this hotel a couple of nights each year and it´s´always the same. We always tell the manager in charge and they say it never happens and that they will look in to it.

It has a great location and the staff are really helpful. Good breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Scandic chain is very rarely surprising. It supplies a basic service catering mostly to businessmen. The Uplandia is in a central location, the rooms are clean, the wifi free and the breakfast is good so why aren't I happier?

Well, its because Scandic is a fast food product, filling but boring. Unfortunately their prices are not always low. As I was here for a conference and my hotel expectations were average I was perfectly happy. But if I were traveling for any other reason - there are other hotels with more charm and character.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Nice service, good location, good breakfast.

Nothing out of the ordinary, and is average on all points. Nice choice in Uppsala.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StigSolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
223 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Yes it is located in the heart of the city.
But there is nothing special with this hotel.
Narrow lobby and diffucult to park when checking-in.

The staff is efficient but could be more enthusiastic

Room Tip: The rooms on the fifth floor (503) have seen better days. Try to get a room on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 19 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#3 of 19 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scandic Uppsala North
Scandic Uppsala North
#6 of 19 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Uplandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Uplandia

Property: Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Address: Dragarbrunnsgatan 32, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Uplandia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Six-story Hotel located in town center, 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Uplandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Uppsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing