We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Tiny Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
GreenLeadersGold level
arlington, va
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, Tiny Room”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Tiny room, sparsely furnished, and one of the smallest bathrooms I've seen. Having said that, rate was reasonable (for Sweden) and staff was very friendly. Free wireless (true of every hotel we stayed at in Sweden!). Fitness center small but a few pieces of decent equipment. Hotel won points by allowing us to change rooms, to a room (room 304) looking out on the interior courtyard.

Our first room (307?) looked over the main drag, which is noisy on a nice summer night (precisely the type of night you need the window open - the hotel explained they don't have air conditioning but instead have some kind of "cooling system" - whatever that means - in any case, the open window is fine for 95% of summer nights in Sweden, so long as you are on a side where noise won't bother you all night).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmcust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    122
    74
    25
    9
See reviews for
39
64
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Rooms are tiny, but newly refurbished. Hotel was fully booked over the weekend so breakfast was a mess and strangely enough breakfast is only until 10. The service was mixed but I could feel they were understaffed. Might now stay here again if something better comes up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerrOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I stay at the Scandic Uplandia several times per year even though I have other choices. The rooms are in two "classes" the older rooms which are more than adequate (and most seem to have a small refrigerator) and the newer "designer" rooms. Closet space in the new rooms is - well it is a couple of hangers on the wall and and there are no storage drawers. The older rooms have somewhat more storage. Either way they are comfortable.

Breakfast is good with several choices. The breakfast area is usually crowded during the week - it seems the military must have a contract with the hotel because there are always men in military uniforms at breakfast. The hotel also has a bar and dinner service. In addition there is a small snack area for take-away coffee, sandwiches and sweets. Wireless internet is free in the sleeping rooms and there is a computer/printer set up available in the dining/reception area.

The hotel is very well located for the car-less area and all the things you would need. Public transportation is also excellent as you are on a bus line and a 4-minute walk to the SJ train (you can get to Stockolm in an hour).

The best part of the hotel is indeed the staff. I have been coming here for years and many of the front desk staff are the same. Always helpful, they are very friendly and accomodating. (One time last year the hair dryer in the bathroom died - shooting quite some sparks in its death ritual) and I went to the front desk to ask for another one. They delivered one about 10 minutes later and funny, but when I returned to the room the next day I suddenly had several hair dryers in the room!

I won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cujo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrineholm
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel as all Scandic hotels keep level of the brand and gives service on the really high level. Maybe hotel does not look impresive from outside, but it is defintelly worth to stay. Good rooms, designed in the swedish way, keeps room nice and comfortably to use.Great breakfasts. So many hot and cold dishes to choose from. Everything best quality.
Good hotel location, only 500 meters from Uppsala walking path, shopping center just on the other side of the street. About 5 min walking distance to Centrel train station.
100% recomendation

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Hotel in general: Hotel staff was nice, breakfast was good and the hotel was near everything, shops, rastaurants, and a walking distance from museums etc. We had superior room, which had more space than than an ordinary room. Bed was very comfortable and there was good flat tv. BUT bathroom and the toilet seat wasn´t very clean, room carpet had big areas of dirt in it, you could hear everything through the walls, and which was worst, there was no fridge or air conditioning, only electric fan. We were lucky that the weather happaned to be a little rainy, otherwise it would have been very hot. There was also no safety deposit, or extras like lotions, bathrobes, tissues, extra drinking glasses, and no bottle opener. The room also had like hospital feeling with all the white colors. And it was supposed to be superior room and the price was high. So unfortunately I can´t recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ananas10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uppsala hotels

London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I visited Uppsala on a research trip to a local museum mixed with a little break with my boyfriend. We chose the Scandic Uplandia as it was a short walk both from the museum and Uppsala station. The location was excellent, very close to the main sights (cathedral, castle, river), shopping (a mall is opposite) and many good places to eat.

We booked and pre-paid online, and check-in was quick and completely hassle-free. Our room was a standard double, and although it was quite small and basic in terms of extras, it was kept spotlessly clean and the bed was ridiculously comfy. There was a flat screen TV with various channels. The bathroom had a decent shower and soap dispensers. It was a 'wet room' set-up where the shower is not separate from the floor, which I don't particularly like as you get wet socks (!) - but again, it was kept very clean and these kinds of showers aren't uncommon in Scandinavia anyway.

Breakfast was offered for a really long period (7:00-10:00). It was a large buffet and there was plenty of choice, including hot items like sausage, bacon and eggs, plus toast, rolls / bread, cereal (a 'make your own muesli' was my fave!), yoghurt, fruit and cold meats. There were also plenty of drinks, coffee, different teas and juices. There is also a bar and restaurant, although the restaurant is closed during the summer period and was closed when we visited. The reception area also has a small shop with sweets, drinks, sandwiches, postcards and other little things.

The hotel has a refurbished gym and sauna in the basement, which my boyfriend used during our stay. He said it was modern, clean and offered a bike, running machine, multi-gym and weight machines, with TVs to watch.

Free wi-fi was available, which is a bonus if you are working, researching somewhere to eat or want to check-in for your flight online; there is also a PC in reception where you can surf and print. There was also tea and coffee available during the day in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swordette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

I stayed just for one night in this hotel. The room is extremelly small.
As we were in a group, the check-in was very quick and organized.
The hotel is well located, with restaurantes, pubs and shopping from a walking distance.
Breakfast is just ok.
I didtn have time to check other amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#5 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scandic Uppsala North
Scandic Uppsala North
#6 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Uplandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Uplandia

Property: Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Address: Dragarbrunnsgatan 32, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Uplandia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Six-story Hotel located in town center, 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Scandic Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Uplandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Uppsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing