We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice city stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Gillet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice city stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice hotel for a weekend stay in the city of Uppsala. Friendly staff, great location and clean rooms. REally good beds and a big variation of things to eat at breakfast. Nice facilities such as spa and gym. No water in the gym?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we are happy to provide extra service for our guests. We hope to see you in Uppsala again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    266
    113
    36
    13
See reviews for
104
249
32
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed just one night in this centrally located hotel in Uppsala. Friendly and young staff provided me with a fair room but close to the elevator (avoid that..). The furnishing had some compromises since you couldn't leave the room with the suitcase at the same time since the cupboard blocked the exit. Minor thing but still...
My main concern was the breakfast buffet. It was poor in variety and rather boring displayed.Dishes were just not refilled and guests were quite annoyed (understaffed and/or out of food??). The breakfast is the last impression so management should devote more attention to the buffet. The hotels also boosts a Markus Samuelsson restaurant (a hip and innovative Swedish chef living in NYC) but as the menu didn't offer any serious vegetarian alternative I decided to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOC5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your visit. We are constantly working on improving our guests experiences. We hope to see you in Uppsala soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We came here early in the summer for a couple of days of hard work. The rooms are charming and have everything you need. Great bed. The location of the hotel is perfect - in the pedestrian zone of the city of Uppsala - a charming student hub not far from Stockholm. But what was most impressive was the attitude of the folks that work there! They had a way with the guests that is seldom seen anywhere! They were determined to take care of you with warmth and a smile - loads of charm and they really bent over backwards to meet our every need! Food was great and there also are a lot of good eating places in the vicinity. Take a walk along the river canal before you go to bed - very romantic and old world charming,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Great to hear that you had the chance to stay a bit longer at Gillet and also had the chance to meet all of our wonderful staff including the conference staff - which are one of the Clarion chains most appreciateted!
Also glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and especially the breakfast which is certaintly one of a kind!

A warm welcome beck to Uppsala!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I spent a week in Uppsala for business. The hotel is quite expensive by my standards, but there was no place else available and our event was taking place at this hotel. So we decided to stay, but 3 to a room. It was not crowded at all. The large room was comfortable, great furnishings, great bedding. Lighting was a little too dim, but other than that the room was perfect without being luxurious.

The structure of the hotel is great. The people are FANTASTIC. So nice; So helpful; So open and laid back. In general, Sweden reminded me of Northern California, but even better (and I'm from the East coast). We were there for a conference. The conference facilities are fine. There are conference rooms, large meeting rooms and even a small lecture hall.

One of the best things about Clarion Gillet is the food. There is an ample breakfast buffet with all the wonderful things they serve in Sweden: smoked lox, gravlax, various types of herring, pickles, Swedish pancakes, ligonberry and various others jams, homemade applesauce, incredible cheeses, various types of fresh breads, eggs, various types of yogurts, too many things to mention. The a la carte restaurant is also brilliant.

It is located in Central Uppsala which is a pretty small town. You can walk to most of the attractions (University, Train station, offices).

The only thing which struck me as a little dissonant was the bathroom. Old fashioned (but new) free standing tub, explosed plumbing (which I later learned is code in Sweden). Genrally it was comfortable and fine, but not as "pretty" as the rest of the hotel and there were no cute ammenity soaps and creams. In fact the soap and shampoo are in a dispenser on the wall which is not "homey".

I must say, I absolutely LOVED this hotel. I never stayed at a Clarion hotel before (I always associate Clarion with Choice, and Choice with Days Inn) but after this experience, I am certainly looking forward to experiencing other Clarion hotels. This is a big brand in Sweden, so whever you go in Sweden, especially in Uppsala, you will be served well. If you can stay at Clarion Gillet in Uppsala, do it.

Room Tip: They have different sizes. We were in a large room, which was the size of a regular room in the U.S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for all kind words of our beautiful hotel Clarion Hotel Gillet! Our breakfast buffet is certainly a good start of the day - glad you enjoyed it so much! We hope you will have the opportunity to visit Uppsala and Gillet again. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Uppsala's landmark hotel is a very comfortable spot. Friendly staff, good rooms, great breakfast. Restaurant has had a cool makeover. Bar nice too. As a regular visitor, I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pooch471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you fina Gillet to be your second home away from home. We love to welcome you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for an anniversary. The spa was small but clean and relaxing. The restaurant "Kitchen and Table" was very price worthy. A great meal! Combining Sweden with Manhattan and the US south creating bountiful, homely, soothing food.

The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, the location in the centre of town, with walking distance to everything, very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Gillet. We are also pleased that you enjoyed a terrific meal at out Award winning restaurant Kitchen and Table by chef Marcus Samuelsson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is my second visit to Clarion Hotel Gillet in Uppsala. I find the people friendly, the service professional and, probably one of the most appealing aspects of this hotel is the decor. It's warm and contemporary. The location is perfect for me. As such, Hotel Clarion Gillet has become my hotel of choice when visiting Uppsala. This time I travelled with my family. The Hotel was accommodating and we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you have found you second home here in Uppsala. Our warm and friendly staff love our customers and love to welcome you back again. With or without your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#3 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava
0.0 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#7 of 18 in Uppsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#11 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Gillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Gillet

Property: Clarion Hotel Gillet
Address: 23 Dragarbrunnsgatan, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Gillet 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Gillet is a modern, full-service hotel with a focus on personal service and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Right in central Uppsala. This is the place for you, whether you're travelling for business, pleasure, or live in Uppsala. Now we also can offer a fully renovated Selma City Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel Gillet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Uppsala
Clarion Uppsala
Uppsala Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing