We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed two days at this very nice hotel just in the center of Uppsala (The fourth biggest town
in Sweden) with access to all that is worth seeing.
Very, very nice big breakfast (American Buffé)
Plenty of fine restaurants, most of them down by the River Fyrisån.
Very near the big Dome, Scandinavias highest building.
This hotel and town is worth a visit, we payed only 150 euros for two persons, two nights
incl. breakfast, that´s nice.

Room Tip: All is good, no traffic noice, best in summertime (may-august)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikenboet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresePe, Operations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Clarion Hotel Gillet. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us.

We wish to welcome you back to us!

Kind Regards,
Terese
Clarion Hotel Gillet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 960 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

we stayed a couple of nights and though they had mention the restauration on the Swedish webside they did not mention it on the English web side. At the reception area there was small tables with dead flowers in, I told the personal, yes we know the answer was but the guy in the reception did not do anything about it. Strange? Very, small tiny rooms for a single person,

Will not stay there again or recommend it though the location was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambou2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresePe, Operations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Clarion Hotel Gillet. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us.

We wish to welcome you back to us!

Kind Regards,
Terese
Clarion Hotel Gillet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Uppsala, it's only a very short walk from the train station. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming.

I had a single room, it was a little cramped but the bed was comfortable. The duvet was smaller than the bed and quite thin.

My room wasn't 100% clean, the desk hadn't been cleaned properly and was dusty, also there was a used glass behind the curtain.

The bathroom could have used some toiletries, you could get them but had to ask at reception.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank jibberjabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresePe, Operations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Clarion Hotel Gillet. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us.

We wish to welcome you back to us!

Kind Regards,
Terese
Clarion Hotel Gillet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Like I said above, nice staff, the hotel is very central.
Parking COULD be a little cheaper, and the wi-fi could have more "up-", than "down-time"... =)

VERY good breakfast buffet, and the bar is very cozy in the evenings..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresePe, Operations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Clarion Hotel Gillet. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us.

We wish to welcome you back to us!

Kind Regards,
Terese
Clarion Hotel Gillet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed for a few days and really enjoyed the hotel. I found the staff really friendly and the location excellent. I would feel very comfortable recommending this hotel to anyone travelling to Uppsala.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresePe, Operations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Clarion Hotel Gillet. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us.

We wish to welcome you back to us!

Kind Regards,
Terese
Clarion Hotel Gillet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed two weeks in The Clarion Gillet Hotel in the summer of 2011. During that period they usually have a great deal with 50% of discounts. The hotel is nicely renovated, but nothing special. The rooms are quiet standard with basic bathrooms. The airo works ok - but is set behind the curtains, which doesn't help at night. Also there are some rooms located in an alley where there are pubs and people sitting (very) late at night (the sun doesn't go down until midnight - drinking, smoking and laughing) so that can give some noise. Staff is very friendly and overall service is great. Breakfast (included) is super - everything you want, fresh and plenty of it.
If you are visiting Uppsala and want to see all the attractions, close to restaurants and shopping: this is the place.

Room Tip: the rooms at the klostergatan can be noisy of the cafes and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresePe, Operations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Clarion Hotel Gillet. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us.

We wish to welcome you back to us!

Kind Regards,
Terese
Clarion Hotel Gillet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I had a great experience staying at Hotel Gillet. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I got to know some of the front desk staff by name. The hotel is undergoing some renovations right now, but the repairs are not very intrusive. It has a very small pool, sauna and exercise room--all clean and usable. Half of the time I was the only one using it. The hotel is located in the center of the city. I was there during Uppsala's Culture Night (September 10, 2011), and it was very noisy, which is to be expected. I had a single room. It was well-maintained, clean. The cleaning staff was efficient and always had my room ready by the time I returned in the evening. The included breakfast offers a choice of traditional Swedish breakfast items and organic choices. It suffices to say I had a good morning meal before leaving for my training. I did not try the restaurant, so I have no opinion about it. In summary, I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresePe, Operations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Clarion Hotel Gillet. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us.

We wish to welcome you back to us!

Kind Regards,
Terese
Clarion Hotel Gillet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#7 of 17 in Uppsala
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elite Hotel Academia
Elite Hotel Academia
#3 of 17 in Uppsala
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
1 mi away
Scandic Uppsala North
Scandic Uppsala North
#5 of 17 in Uppsala
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Gillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Gillet

Address: 23 Dragarbrunnsgatan, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range: $125 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Gillet 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Gillet is a modern, full-service hotel with a focus on personal service and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Right in central Uppsala. This is the place for you, whether you're travelling for business, pleasure, or live in Uppsala. Now we also can offer a fully renovated Selma City Spa. Please note that we are a cash-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Gillet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Uppsala
Clarion Uppsala
Uppsala Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing