We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent weekend stay, service could be more polished” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Anna

Hotel Villa Anna
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Anna
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend stay, service could be more polished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed over for the night and enjoyed a package including afternoon tea and dinner. The location is lovely, it's situated in the old part of town a stone's throw from the cathedral and the hotel is in a great old building that has been beautifully restored.

The rooms are in excellent condition, with every creature comfort you could wish for and beds were extremely comfortable. The only thing lacking was some form of component to allow you to play your own music from an MP3 player or tablet, which would have been a nice addition to the mix.

The food was wonderful and highly recommended, great combination of local ingredients lovingly prepared and presented. The only down side was the service, which would best be described as frosty. Whilst the service at dinner was excellent, with very knowledgeable wine and food presentations done in a friendly manner, the front desk was quite the opposite. Upon check out we had to ring the bell several times and barely managed to squeeze a 'hej' from the receptionist, and it felt totally at odds with the rest of the experience.

For a small, cosy and well laid out hotel it was surprising to be given the cold shoulder on leaving. It would have taken no effort at all to personalize the experience and really show that we would be welcome back again but instead it left a bitter after taste on what was otherwise an enjoyable overnight stay. Perhaps winning several nation-wide awards has taken the edge off the enthusiasm and led to some staff resting on their laurels?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amcalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
36
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well it must easily qualify as the best hotel and restaurant in Uppsala. I love my monthly busines trips to Uppsala and realise if I wish to continue coming on business for a long time the compant needs to stay solvent.
A great location, such welcoming and friendly helpful staff. I was grateful that the week before the filming of the Hollywood version of "The girl with the Dragon tattoo.." started my usual wonderful hotel was fully booked. The restaurant... well what can I say! I have managed to eat there with local colleagues, who are friends at least once a year and the food and food wine/balance is just so right!

Luckily on my first visit I met a member of staff, who as normal in Sweden spoke better English than me who had been pastry chef at the Fat Duck, in Bray, Uk, working for Heston Blumental who is well known as a chief in both UK and Sweden & UK. Like me he is also a chemist which is just wonderful as he uses these skills in the kitchen. That member of staff always recognises me now, even on my rare visits.
If you like great food. well cooked and presented, with just the right wine selection with wonderful service, then a trip to Uppsala must include at the very least a meal at Villa Anna!
It gives visitors to uppsala a wonderful opportunity to say "Thank you" to any local who has supported you or befriended you during a trip to Uppsala.

Room Tip: Any room will do, if there is just you even the smallest room is great, as long as you can master th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked a suite here the night before and after our wedding, it is expensive, but then so are most hotels in Sweden but well worth treating yourself. Beautiful large rooms, tastefully decorated as you would expect. Service was attentive, but discreet. You couldn't ask for a better location in the heart of the older part of Uppsala.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

In the oldest part of Uppsala with only churches and other historical buildings around you will find Villa Anna. We had a wonderful stay over the weekend and appriciated all the lovely details that made this special. The details are too many to mention but starting with a nice and warm reception area, private restuarant with fantastic food to the rooms with every comfort you can imagine in terms of beauty and feel of fabrics to the lighting. One indicative detail was the bottle opener in the mini-bar - it was a top quality sommelier one.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but there are only a few so book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anders014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

It's expensive but 100% worth it. I had the single room which is small but extremely comfortable. The price also included free internet and breakfast and they even do your laundry for free so in the end it's not really that costly relative to other places. The breakfast is delicious and beautifully served and includes choice of cooked items as well as the buffet. The staff are helpful and friendly. The entire place is beautiful and guarantees a perfect visit from start to finish! My work was at the university so Villa Anna is extremely convenient, just a few steps from the cathedral and the university main building. It;s about 10 mins walk from the train station where trains leave for the airport (Arlanda) and for Stockholm (40 mins by train).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwriterBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This boutique hotel has all the amenities of a much larger 5-star hotel. The staff is knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The room, a single, was small but perfectly appointed. The food was very good, and the breakfast was of the first quality. I would return to Uppsala just to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Villa Anna is a very nice hotel right in the hurt of Uppsala. we spent two days there with my wife and everything was greate. we stayed at a suite with its own sauna and the room was very large and very well decorated.
overall we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petrosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#3 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava
0.1 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#11 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anna

Property: Hotel Villa Anna
Address: 3 Odinslund, Uppsala 753 10, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Anna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Anna is a hotel on a small and personal scale where the visitor can expect a warm welcome, a carefully created ”at home” feeling and memorable dining experiences. Our award-winning master chefs, Rafael Löfstedt and Markus E Arkevid, have previously worked at a number of establishments that are beacons of Swedish culinary excellence, such as Edsbacka Krog and Oaxen Skärgårdskrog. Here at Villa Anna they are continuing to develop their creativity and joy in the culinary art.The hotel also enjoys a highly desirable and unique location, set amidst such historical gems as the Cathedral, Uppsala University and Museum Gustavianum. Stepping into the world of Villa Anna for the first time is often an almost magical experience. Here you will find an atmosphere that is best described as simply beautiful – an atmosphere that will make you slow right down and enjoy your surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing