We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
49
81
22
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
49
81
22
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews university library short stroll busy road city centre coffee and tea twin beds hot drinks self service botanical gardens breakfast room nice room cathedral carolina sofa wifi desk sweden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 164 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

At check in, I was greeted by a very friendly and hospitable lady, who went over and beyond what to be expected.

The room felt like one could have stayed in quite comfortably for a longer time without finding anything lacking.
A generously sized bathrobe and slippers were provided for use of shared bathroom and sauna.

Breakfast had no warm options, so if that's what you crave you may be disappointed. The cold-selection that was of high quality however, including a good assortment of bread, as well as the jummy pancakes, homemade smoothies, large fruit-selection and even cookies and pralines made it a brilliant one in my eyes.

With fresh brewed coffe, cookies, chocolates and fruit freely available throughout the day, as well, on top of being way cozier than most accomodations, I just cannot understand where this place makes the cuts to keep it as low-cost as it is.

10/10 I'll come back, and recommend for anyone asking for a tip on where to stay when in Uppsala.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank orkenvandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena H, Chef at Akademihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our hotel and hospitality. We hope you had a great time again when you returned for your second stay this month. We would also like to thank you for recommending us. We hope to see you soon again. Welcome back!

Best regards
Helena Hammarberg, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

This is a very basic hotel. My room was very small with twin beds and a bathroom you could barely turn around in. Some rooms appear to have space for suitcases, my room did not. The windows opened and there was a wonderful view of the cathedral. I was there during the summer and it was very hot. It would have been great if the hotel had a room darkening shade. That would help block the sun and make it easier to sleep at night. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and this is a great location, especially if you are visiting Uppsala University. Very reasonably priced.

Room tip: For a quiet room ask for room with a view of the cathedral.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena H, Chef at Akademihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted to read that you appreciated our location and our friendly staff but we are sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. We have different room types and the bathroom size varies. All rooms have blackout curtains or blindfolds, we will see to the room you stayed in.

We have since last year built four new hotel rooms and this summer we are renovating four other hotel rooms with brand new bathrooms with better design, we hope you will like them.

We hope to see you soon again. Welcome back!

Best regards
Helena Hammarberg, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Very nice room (writing desk in the front of window, beautiful lamps), very - I mean VERY - friendly staff and delicious Swedish breakfast.
Hotel is under renovation which I didn’t know beforehand, but the construction workers started their work as late as 8 am, so it didn’t disturb me at all.
Traffic noise hindered sleeping.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank mar1as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena H, Chef at Akademihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at Akademihotellet. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the room and our staff but we are sorry if you were disturb by the traffic.

During this summer we have renovated our breakfast area and four Double Rooms with brand new bathrooms and a nice 'facelift' in the room. The rooms will have décor and style inspired by the 30´s when the house was built. We hope you will like them.

We hope to see you soon again and are looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards
Helena Hammarberg, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

There is no such thing as a cheap hotel in Uppsala, Sweden’s oldest University City, and this is no exception. The front of the hotel faces a busy road, running past the Carolina Rediviva (University library); the rooms at the rear have a splendid view over the rooftops towards Uppsala Cathedral. This hotel doesn’t do the characterless business hotel thing; some rooms are bigger than others, but they are comfortable enough, and the hotel has all you need for a short stay. A perfectly satisfactory breakfast is provided (and complementary hot drinks and snacks are available throughout the day), and in the basement is a useful laundry room and a sauna. A pub and restaurants are a short stroll away. A particular strength is the endlessly cheerful and helpful reception staff, always ready to give friendly advice, sort out problems or serve a late night drink from the fridge behind the desk! I’d rather stay here than one of the bigger or newer hotels in town.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Ancientmariner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena H, Chef at Akademihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Akademihotellet and appreciated our location, the breakfast, our facilities and our service minded staff. We hope to see you soon again and wish you a warm welcome back next time you are in town.

Best regards
Helena Hammarberg,Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

There are many nice things about this hotel for a short stay: good location close to cathedral, cheerful self-service breakfast room, friendly staff, and nice little sitting rooms with views onto the city.

As other reviewers have said, there is really not much in the rooms (no tissues, no glasses for water or toothbrush, no minibar). You can buy some of these things at the reception.

The main problem was with the room. I had a garret room on the 4th floor, which was very claustrophobic - low ceiling, windowless bathroom, and a tiny half-moon window in the main room. This had no curtain, so the room was very light in the Scandinavian summer nights. The window also didn't open more than three inches. I was there in a heatwave, and despite an electric fan being provided, the room was really unbearably hot. It was impossible to be in during the day, and virtually impossible to sleep at night. The staff did eventually move me when I requested, but I would highly recommend avoiding rooms on the top floor if booking. I found this room pretty, but in also pretty much uninhabitable.

Room tip: Avoid top floor
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flyinghistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena H, Chef at Akademihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the room. This summer has been extreme when it comes to the warm weather conditions and this affect our hotel building unfortunately. We will see to the facilities in the room you stayed in. Our hotel offers different room types and hopefully you will find a room that will meet your expectations next time you visit us.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Helena Hammarberg, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews