We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
87
91
32
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
91
32
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miss voon bishops arms sky bar top floor floor facing central location dirty dishes bus and train station fresh bread rooms are comfortable decent hotel the room was nice good size minute walk business trip accademia gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 226 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2019

The hotel is located next to the railway station in Uppsala and has its own conference center in the ground floor. We had a superior room with a double bed. The room was small and felt dark. It was facing a courtyard and had no good view which was a disappointment. The room had air conditioning, a minibar, a safe and a kettle as well as free coffee and tea. There was a TV with Swedish and some English channels. Wifi free and worked. The bathroom was quite large and had a shower. Breakfast is served in the ground floor in a room without windows. It was like sitting in a bunker. There were a lot of people this Saturday and everywhere on the tables were lots of dirty dishes. The staff tried to replenish with new food but very much ran out. As hot dishes there were scrambled eggs, bacon, chicken sausage, white beans and vegetables. A large selection of toppings and fresh bread. There was a station where you could bake waffles. Muesli and yogurt in different varieties were also available. Coffee and tea and some different kinds of juice. There was really no major fault with the food but the environment was terrible. Messy, dark and unpleasant with leftovers and dishes everywhere. At the top of the hotel is the restaurant Miss Voon which had a very nice sky bar where you could see a nice view of the city while you could drink their fantastic cocktails. The drinks and sky bar were absolutely the best with the hotel. In the ground floor at the entrance to the hotel is a pub which also serves food.
We are a bit disappointed that the superior rooms were so small and had no view. The breakfast service was also something among the worst we have seen in a Swedish hotel. But the location is good and the sky bar lovely.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservationacademia, Receptionschef at Elite Hotel Academia, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it means a lot to us.

I'm glad to see that you enyojed the selection of food at the breakfast. I'm however sorry that the environment felt dark and unpleasant and that dishes were left standing on the tables. I will let the member of staff in charge of the breakfast know about your comments.

We offer a wide selection of rooms so if you are coming back to us in the future, do not hesitate to speak with the front desk about having a bigger room with better views.

Nice to see that you enjoyed the restaurant Miss Voon at the top floor!

I hope we will get a chance to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards

Andreas Olovsson
Front Desk Manager
Elite Hotel Academia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018

The room I got was nice, however I wish I could open a window (you can not). The staff at the reception was very polite and kind. The breakfast staff were ok but I wish they would say good morning, welcome etc. In all the room was nice and clean, the bed and pillows comfertable and the bathroom was very nice.
I will come and stay again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TinaAnnaGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservationacademia, Receptionschef at Elite Hotel Academia, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it means a lot to us!

I’m glad to see that you had a nice visit at our hotel. We will take note of your criticism about the windows in the room and breakfast staff and are working hard to improve! Thank you for letting us know.

We are looking forward your future visits!

Best regards

Andreas Olovsson
Front Desk Manager
Elite Hotel Academia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

I usually stay here traveling to Uppsala in my job. It is a very nice hotel with good placement, great beds and fresh rooms. Good pressure in the shower is a plus. The negative this time was that being on the 3rd floor there was a lot more noise from the train station and buses. Ask for a room higher up. Last time on the 9th floor was great.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank kyrretamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservationacademia, Receptionschef at Elite Hotel Academia, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it means a lot to us!

Nice to see that you enjoy staying with us on your visits to Uppsala. I regret that you experienced some noise when you stayed on the third floor, although all of the rooms are usually quiet. If you are coming back, please talk to the front desk about having a room higher up.

Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards

Andreas Olovsson
Front Desk Manager
Elite Hotel Academia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

The hotel is in a perfect location, just 2 minutes walk away to the central train station. The rooms are comfortable and clean. My room was on the 5th floor with a great view! I also loved the breakfast, so many tasty options!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Elite Hotels of Sweden
Thank robynb981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservationacademia, Receptionschef at Elite Hotel Academia, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it means a lot to us!

I’m glad to see that you enjoyed the breakfast and had a nice visit at our hotel!

Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards

Andreas Olovsson
Front Desk Manager
Elite Hotel Academia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

There are 2 hotels very convenient to the train station this being one of them. Exit toward Centrum, turn left, watch for bicyclists and buses over a short walk and you are in the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and surprisingly quiet even when facing the railroad (as much a testament to the railways as to the hotel architects). Every detail is function over form but the room was still attractive. The only drawback was the shower which tended to flow water outside the pan, but the bathroom is exceptionally well ventilated and the floor dried quickly. The reception staff are very attentive and informative. The location, in proximity to attractions and shops, seems unsurpassable. Consider Elite Hotels memberships: the room rates are more favorable as are terms for reservation cancellation.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank UglyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservationacademia, Receptionschef at Elite Hotel Academia, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it means a lot to us!

I’m glad to see that you had a nice visit at our hotel, and that you enjoyed the quiet and comfort of the rooms.

Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards

Andreas Olovsson
Front Desk Manager
Elite Hotel Academia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews