We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Stora Hotellet
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I enjoyd the friendly athmoshere of the hotel, respectful staff and fantastic meals. The hotel is located in the heart of the city from a walkind distance to such beautiful sites as the caslte, the old city, the river and the harbour. The shopping area is just around the corner of the hotel.

Room Tip: I have been in all types of rooms. I do not mind the sounds from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiisaKoskinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 447 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here on my way up to Stockholm. Rooms are fresh and I had a good nights sleep. I appreciated that they served breakfast at 4.30 am. They get alot of guests that use Skavsta airport and usually want an early breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredrikHalmstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

ok staff, but the room was absolutely terrible! It was ice-cold, old furnished and the wall had a hole in it where the freezing air from the the outside had free access into the room. Heating wasn’t working probably, and when faced with this situation the receptionist answered ”sorry we have a problem with the heating on the second floor, and we are full tonight, cannot offer you another room. The room was placed on the second floor and overlooking the parking lot. The shower was very old-fashioned and water only semi-warm. Toilet wash table bare marks from old cigarettes and a distinct smell of urine and feces was present. Shower curtain almost rotten and stinky. Disgusting standard, and just not good enough! Not coming back ever again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell M, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Dear Claus E

Thanks for your comments. The feedback are taken before the hotel was renovated. Today the entire hotel is fully refurbished and we have restored the orginal namne from 1880 " Stora Hotellet "
Scandic Stora Hotellet is part of the hotel chain, Scandic Hotels.

Best regards
Tell Mellander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our second visit to this hotel. Each time very small room .Rooms furbished OK. Everything you need you find. Beds good,good bathroom .Clean .
Alleyways need some upgrading . Breakfast good. Friendly staff

Room Tip: ask for a room where you can walk around the bed without hitting obstructions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagullStraengnaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is quite a nice hotel, reception area, pool, steam room is all lovely, the room I had was quite an old single room and was nothing out of the ordinary, but it was clean and comfortable. I was able to have an early breakfast to catch an early flight, and the dinner was also very good. 5 minutes walk to the airport bus was also a good feature. Reception staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have been refurbished, try to get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedbird1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

After I have read the comment of the Manager on my previous rating I went back again in early November. The only negative thing I mentioned originally was about the rooms and it is true that they have improved and are more modern as well and I also had the pleasure to experience a bigger room this time.
This improvement and the still fab breakfast, friendly staff and brilliant location leads me into improving also my rating to 4.
I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed in this average hotel and was disappointed about the room size as well about the fact that it is very tired. However, the staff is very friendly and the offer of a little shop for small snacks, coffe, little things you might need is fab. Also a full bar with a very extensive range of scottish single malts is on offer. The breakfast service is also very good and included in the room rate. It is a mixture of continental and full english. It is also conveniently located near the town centre. Overall it can't be knocked.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Manager at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Hi Ulrike
Thanks for your comments.
Our hotel has many different kinds of room in different prices compare to size (from small single rooms to suites).
We have also now renovated almost every room to a more modern look and EVERY room has new beds, TV flat screen, new curtains and bedspreads.

I´m glad that you´re satisfied with your stay with us.
Very welcome back
Nevenka Billemark / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nykoping hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Kompaniet
3.6 mi away
Connect Hotel Skavsta
Connect Hotel Skavsta
#3 of 6 in Nykoping
869 reviews
1 mi away
Good Morning+ Nykoping
Good Morning+ Nykoping
#4 of 6 in Nykoping
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA
0.9 mi away
Blommenhof Hotell
Blommenhof Hotell
#6 of 6 in Nykoping
100 reviews
14.4 mi away
Oster Malma
Oster Malma
#2 of 9 in Nykoping
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stora Hotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stora Hotellet

Address: 31 Brunnsgatan, Nykoping 611 32, Sweden (Formerly Scandic Nyköping City)
Location: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Nykoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Price Range: $114 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stora Hotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Stora Hotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Nykoping Nyköping
Scandic Nykoping Hotel Nyköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing