We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet Swedish town-beware of building work.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Stora Hotellet
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2008

We recently visited the Park Inn, Nykoping for a two night stay. Our arrival was delayed by two hours but the reception staff remained polite and courteous even though it was the early hours of the morning when we eventually arrived.Our room was good, clean with ample space for a two night stay. The tea/coffee maker was an added bonus and again the reception staff happily replenished the tea, coffee and milk whenever we requested. Breakfast was good with a vast selection , even caviar if you so wished. On checkout the staff were more than willing to store our bags and allowed us to use the facilities of the lounge area until our return to the airport at no extra charge.We did not spend any time in the hotel during the day but on the day of our departure it appeared to be very popular for lunches with both locals and tourists alike. There is a computer in the lounge area with free use but be warned if you need to print boarding passes for your return flight there is no printer option. We were informed there was an internet cafe close by. One certain airline will charge "extra" if you have opted for online booking and attempt to check in at the airport desk.


Two areas of "down side"-renovation of the first floor is taking place which did cause a lot of early morning noise and the room (which overlooked the street) could be rather noisy as the double glazing did not soundproof very well.

It was our first visit to Sweden and we found the hotel an ideal stopover. It is about ten minutes from the airport, close to shops, restaurants and bars. Granted we went out of season but very few dining venues appeared open and we did have difficulty in finding a restaurant for an evening meal. When we did they all appeared to have a last serving before 9pm.

The train station is approximately a 15min stroll away. Trains to Stockholm were hourly but be aware that one service takes one hour and one service takes two hours. Buy your ticket before getting on the train as they cost extra if bought aboard.

We really enjoyed our short stay in Sweden but we did find it very very expensive (even compared to English prices) so take plenty of spending money!!! Nykoping is a small town but a leisurely half day was spent exploring the local area. I suggest that there would be a lot more to do in the summer. The beach is not within walking distance however the harbour is very pleasant. The people we met went out of their way to be helpful and most of them spoke excellent English . Personally I doubt if I will visit this part of Sweden again but I would have no hesitation in recommending both the hotel and Nykoping as a "taster" and a convenient base for spending a day in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jms52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell M, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

The feedback are before the hotel was renovated. Today the entire hotel is fully refurbished and we have restored the original name from 1880 " Stora Hotellet ".
Scandic Stora Hotellet is part of the chain, Scandic Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 432 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2008

Our flight to Skavsta airport did not touch down until 11.30pm. Nice short journey on the bus from the airport to Nykoping and short walk to the hotel which is situated well, next to the main shopping area. Check in was easy and within a few minutes of arriving we were in our rooms. The room is fairly basic but ok. Dont be expecting a well stocked mini bar - basically a bottle of coke, bottle of sprite and bottle of fizzy water. The lounge/restaurant/bar/cafe area is modern in decor but areas of dust can be seen if you are looking for it. In general though this is a well presented, modern looking and clean hotel. The large number of staff are generally friendly and efficient. Nykoping itseld is very small and quiet- a main shopping area which will take you about half an hour max to get through, an old castle which to be honest is not that impressive and a slightly more impressive harbour area. The town is not exactly brimming with pubs and restaurants either but the ones we were in were all very good and reasonably priced. With hindsight we probably would have stayed one night here when we arrived and moved onto Stockholm the next night. Having said this we really enjoyed our stay here - it was nice and relaxing. If you are looking for a livelier time I would say Nykoping is probably not appropriate.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Livilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
The Hague
218
Reviewed April 8, 2006

I stay here frequently.

RECOMMENDATION:
DO come here! Make reservation in time. You don't want to stay in any of the other places Nykoping offers!!!

GETTING THERE AND AWAY
-7 minutes walk to bus terminal (20SEK to airport)
-20 minutes to Skavsta airport (bus is as fast as taxi
-Bus schedule is tuned to Ryan Air schedule
Taxi is around 140 SEK
-15 minute walk to train station
-60SEK by taxi
-Non-stop express train to Stockholm and ARN airport every hour (290SEK), takes roughly 1h 40min.

POSITIVE
Right in the city center
Quite a good selection of pubs and diners around, within 10 walking minute radius (near cinema)
Stylish lobby and Restaurant
Rooms are well maintained
Good food at fair price
Oppulent breakfast menu
24h coffee and snacks
VERY friendly staff - as one expects in Sweden

NEGATIVE
-Rooms are basic, and NOT updated to the lobby style
-have not had a good bed, yet (i gess Haestens is too expensive even in Sweden)
-In room WIFI is ridiculously expensive!!!!
-Pay-TV is neglected; offers new selection of PG rated movies every 3 months or so (I think they get the old ones from SAS Radisson)
-Not all room have fridges - be sure to ask for one if you wnat one

DISCRIPTION
From Skavsta airport by bus or cab will will take about 15-20 minutes. It's only a short walk from the bus terminal to the hotel.

The staff is very helpful, and friendly. They are all fluent in English.

Presently the hotel is being updated. The lobby and restaurant are completely finished, though. It very much reminds me of SAS Radisson style (ParIn is in the SAS group) - very clean and modern lines with a little 60ies retro look. The lobby is cozy with fireplace, and features an avaiation theme. Books are available, but appear to be more decoration than library - most of them are in Swedish. Overall it's pleasing to the eye, but that's just my taste. Hopefully, in due course, the rooms will be updated to this style.

At the moment the rooms (which I had) have a bit of a bed&breakfast feel - far away from the lobby's style.
Apparently, there are one or two updated rooms - wedding suite kind-o-thing. Room outfitting is not standardized, so if you want minibar/fridge, better ask for it at check-in.

There is pay-TV but you should't expect to find newest blockbusters on it.

WIFI quality is good, but the 24hour flat rate at 120SEK is ridiculous. The computer in the lobby is free.

Bathrooms are well maintained, clean and mold-free.

Restaurant food is OK. Flat rate dinner buffet is available, but not really well stocked. It is worthwhile to head into town - variety of different places within walking distance. Breakfast buffet is much better.

Check-out is uncomplicated, however, only one person can be served at a time, so allow some time if you have to be in time for the bus.

Master Card accepted.
ATM at bank - 3 minute walk
10SEK roughly 1€

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2006

Nykoping is about 3 miles from the small main airport that Ryanair fly into. Once at the airport it's so easy to get a bus direct to either Nykoping which is ten minutes away or Stockholm 2 hours. I found the Park Inn hotel excellent value. Don't be put off by the outside, the inside is welcoming and the staff friendly. Good breakfast plenty of choice, hot and cold. All day coffee and tea lunchtime buffet or meals and a small cafe attached with cakes and hot beverages. The rooms are clean and warm, with coffee and tea making facilities. Sauna free to guests after 5pm. The bus station is 5 minutes away and the train station 10 minutes, but you cant hear the trains as they are so quiet. We went to stockholm for the day, and it was brilliant! it's not expensive to travel around. Even cigarettes are cheaper than uk. Nykoping has its own unique shopping centre, and a pub called the twist with an English theme. The food there was fantastic and very reasonable. We also found loads of walks around the river which runs into a harbour near the baltic sea. This time of the year it was frozen but what a sight! Don't be put off because it's a small town, it has a lot to offer. He even has its own nightclub. The Park Inn hotel was one of the best I've stayed in.

11  Thank jetsetter59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PatriziaC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank Viallico
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tell M, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fredrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell M, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nykoping
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Kompaniet
0.4 mi away
Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA
1.0 mi away
Good Morning+ Nykoping
Good Morning+ Nykoping
#4 of 6 in Nykoping
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Connect Hotel Skavsta
Connect Hotel Skavsta
#3 of 6 in Nykoping
855 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blommenhof Hotell
Blommenhof Hotell
#6 of 6 in Nykoping
100 reviews
21.8 mi away
Trosa Stadshotell & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stora Hotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stora Hotellet

Address: 31 Brunnsgatan, Nykoping 611 32, Sweden (Formerly Scandic Nyköping City)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Nykoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Price Range: $124 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stora Hotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Stora Hotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Nykoping Nyköping
Scandic Nykoping Hotel Nyköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing