We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Stora Hotellet
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I visited Scandic Nyköping with my family during 21-23 april 2011.
We arrived late and was immediately greeted and checked in by a very gracious front desk hostess who understood that we had very tired kids and needed to get to sleep quickly. While mom & dad completed the check-in, she kept the kids busy with small gifts and toys. WIfI connection was offered without us asking. Free of charge!
Parking close to the hotel was swiftly arranged to a low rate.

When it was discovered that "someone" had forgotten the crib for our youngest child, one of the waitresses left her service in the dining room to assist us and the baby crib was set up within minutes. Great service for families with small children!!

The room was excellent with a standard well above what you would expect from a Scandic Hotel in Sweden. To be honest I was suprised!!! Renovated, modern, clean and relaxed with nice artwork, furniture and ameneties. Public areas was nice, clean and well kept. The in-hotel Gym and Relax was accessed easily with the room key!
The Restaurant includes a bar with a generous winelist and approx. 60 different kind of whisky. You can easily tell that it is beeing operated by high-end proffessionals just by checking the meny and wine list. Service is casual but correct and quick. Great food!

Breakfast is, again, well above what you would expect from a Scandic hotel. Fresh, clean, easly navigated and with a large amount of tables and seats (far from expected during morning rush at many hotels). The buffet is nicely prepared with a really good selection of breakfast items. The staff restocked at a steady pace rather than overfilled it once. The result is a very nice breakfast with no stress.

I would recommend business travellers as well as families to stay here. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Rackrate_6808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Stora Hotellet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 427 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

Have stayed in the hotel several times. Each time I’m suppressed how the hotel staff in the reception and restaurant is acting. The paying 100% attention to what you saying and you are well taken care off in each situation. The rooms are always clean, the evening meals are included in the price and the hotel restaurant can also be recommended. Nice and pleasant stay each time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This is really a great hotel for many different reasons.
For starters the front desk personell lead by Mrs. Nevenka Billemark does not only greet me by name when arriving but alos seems to remember the special requests that i have. This is interresting as i only visit this hotel a few times a year.
The food and beverage service is outstanding with a great selection of meals between traditional Swedish and international. Also all of the breakfast is ecologically grown.
This is a very good scandic hotel that i highly recomend to all.. both business and pleasure

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDSthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

If you want a hotel room that measures 22 feet by 8 feet (this includes bathroom), has no space for cases, becomes hot due to confined space, is noisy when window is opened as rooms overlook main street, toilet smells as it is tiny, a lift which is positively dangerous and car parking is limited to about ten cars (the car park next door costs 80 kroner per night which mentioned when booking) then this is the hotel for you. Keep well clear.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourlay08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Manager at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Hi Gourlay08, Glasgow
Thank you for your comments.
Our hotel has many different kinds of room in different prices compare to size (from small single rooms to suites).

August was very hot. We have table fans to borrow in the front desk.

The hotel is located in the middle of the city. Car driving is not permitted in the centre and all stores and malls are closed at 7 pm. We also have room located to the inner courtyard.

The elevator is approved by the fire authority.

The car park outside the hotel is a drop of parking but we have 100 parking places in the indoor garage and 200 parking places 1 block away.

You are very welcome back to us and also welcome to book one of our bigger rooms.

Best regards / Nevenka Billemark Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We arrived on a late flight and thought this hotel would be ideal - just 10 mins from the airport and in the town centre and they advertised PARKING. I guess this hotel has about 50 rooms BUT ONLY 8 PARKING SPACES!!

I asked if i could park against the wall until there was a free space (out of the way as it was late and lashing rain, and I guessed that some of the cars belonged to stafff who would go home soon) but was directed to a car park 3 blocks away where it took me ages to figure out how to pre-pay on the machine which only displayed in the Swedish language.

That said the staff were very polite (if indifferent), we had a drink and went to bed. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off around midnight and firemen came. It was a false alarm but we dressed & evacuated. No apologies were received and it took over 20 mins to reset the fire bells! While outside we noticed that 2 spaces appeared (obviously staff were using them) so while I was dressed I moved my car back anyway.

We had another drink with some other guests from Norway & Sweden and remarked at how the alarm was not reset before we went to bed (it was de-activated, hence the automatic door releases were triggered) so had there been a genuine fire later we could have been burned! However this happened at some stage before I got up again at 8am.

The room was very clean and well equipped but quite small for a twin (my sister came with me). Twins over there are two singles pushed together - be aware if you are sharing with someone who snores! Very nice breakfast buffet next day but would not recommend the overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnChapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Good option where to stay when all hotels in Stockholm and closest surroundings are fully booked due to a big event. Hotel itself is very nice, clean and quiet. Staff attitude is very positive.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lexx_Naxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Spent a weekend at this hotel and can definately recommend it. The downstairs lobby and lounge was very welcoming with a roaring fire to help the atmosphere. Breakfast was incredible with everything you could possibly ask for and more.
Our bedroom was a little small but had everything we needed. The hotel is situated in a great place and Nykoping itself is worth exploring. We caught the train to Stockholm takes about an hour and again we were impressed with the standard and efficiency of the public transport. as had caught the local bus to the hotel from Skavsta airport. The people we met were lovely and very helpful. Would definately go again and stay at this hotel, one word of warning if you are staying over on a Sunday night the hotel restaurant and most of the others in Nykoping do not open we ended up with a take away pizza a good one at that, but not quite what we had planned.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nohow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nykoping
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Kompaniet
0.4 mi away
Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA
3.6 mi away
Connect Hotel Skavsta
Connect Hotel Skavsta
#3 of 6 in Nykoping
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Good Morning+ Nykoping
Good Morning+ Nykoping
#5 of 6 in Nykoping
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blommenhof Hotell
Blommenhof Hotell
#6 of 6 in Nykoping
100 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stjarnholms Slott
Stjarnholms Slott
#1 of 2 in Oxelosund
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stora Hotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stora Hotellet

Address: 31 Brunnsgatan, Nykoping 611 32, Sweden (Formerly Scandic Nyköping City)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Nykoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Price Range: $125 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stora Hotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Stora Hotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Nykoping Nyköping
Scandic Nykoping Hotel Nyköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing