We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It make me feel at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Not because it would have been my first choice but had to go to congres in Norrkoping and this hotel was conveniently close to the railway station. I was surprised it was a former soap Factory. The hotel is basic but fitted with all you need except no Wifi in The room. Allthough they offer free cabled broadband in your room. Very Nice room with a shower from heaven. Good and extensive breakfast buffet. Complementary free dinner of good quality topped it off.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

A reconverted Lever soap factory. A car museum on the third floor with a great collection of vintage cars (Ferrari, Ford, Excalibur, Cadillacs). Meeting rooms named after Lever soaps (Surf, Sunlight, Lux). A 25m indoor pool and a nicely equipped gym. Free parking. Good breakfast. Free Wifi. We stayed one night but were really impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the quirkiness of the hotel and the value for money proposition they offered. Would love to visit again

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank ApurvNagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel has a small gym, it is good for several days. There is also a small sauna. The restaurant is opne till 22:00. I find it too early as there are not many place around if you want to have a late dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marooned2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

As a regular visitor to Latvia, an interesting (and cheaper, even with a nights stay in a hotel) route is with Ryanair from Gatwick to Stockholm Skavsta then to Riga the following day. Booking only a week before flying the cheapest single room I got (excluding the hostel type places) was the Sunlight through Booking.com. I found the hotel to be more than satisfactory and its former life as a soap factory celebrated in much of the decor made it an interesting place to stay. In addition to the interior many of the factory out buildings are still there (my room overlooked the derelict loading bay and generator building.
My single room was clean and in a good state of repair albeit the decor was fairly basic, but that could more down to Swedish styling ? The en-suite was a wetroom with shower only but nice not to have to squeeze into shower cubicle ! Flat screen TV was mounted on wall adjacent to single bed which meant it couldn't be watched in bed, but the armchair in room was very comfortable. The Sunlight is amongst the tallest buildings in Nykopping and the large windows either side of lifts gave almost a 360 panoramic view of Nykopping and its surrounds from the sixth floor. Didn't have much contact with staff apart from the receptionist (don't recall his name) but he was extremely helpful. As for breakfast there was a good selection, and being in Sweden that included meatballs !
Travel from the airport on "515" bus ("715" will also get you to Nykopping) but buy your ticket (buy one for return journey too) one from kiosk just inside exit door at departures, they cost 2.40 Kr each way (about £2.20). Alight at the railway station rather than bus station which is further on.You will Sunlight but need to cross a railway line however don't cross at the one next to station rather walk down road parallel to railway line until you reach next footbridge. You are right next to Sunlight at this point, cross and walk thro carpark to reach one of the hotel entrances.
The focal point of Nykopping is the harbour area with a number of bar restaurants, from there it is well worth taking a walk along the river towards the town. This takes you by the old castle and other points of interest are the fish ladders for the salmon. One of the places I took refreshment was the "Oliver Twist", the almost obligatory "English" pub, and yes there is also an "Irish" pub, I did pass it but the name escapes. This was my second visit to Nykopping and looking at the tourist info I am tempted to go back and spend more time exploring the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have now stayed in this hotel twice and the second time was definitely the better. On the first visit I booked a single room as I was travelling business. Normally booking single doesn't actually mean you get a cell with a single bed - with the Sunlight it sure did!! Second time round and a lot wiser I booked a double and would definitely recommend same. The room was spacious and perfectly comfortable. The rate for this hotel includes an evening meal which is a really nice touch if you have no other plans. I happily took advantage of the free wifi in the restaurant which is quite warehousey and found the food most adequate. This was the original Sunlight soap factory and its really quirky. The gym and swimming pool are excellent - a definite plus. Breakfast is really good and I even ended up having lunch here one day too and would recommend. Staff are really friendly and despite the fact that the rooms are quite basic I have a really nice feeling about this hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A very nice hotel in an old factory of the famous Sunlight soap. The rooms are ok, not extremey well but ok. The restaurant doesn't have a lot of atmosphere but is okl The staff is very nice but it is like that everywhere in Sweden ...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PimH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My arrival was late coming from the airport; I did phone on my arrival at the airport to confirm I was coming, and it took a long time for the call to be answered. On arrival, the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. It was a hot evening, not helped by no air-conditioning in the room. The room was of an adequate size, with good reading material on the town. The shower was excellent. The buffet breakfast was ok, with an adequate choice, although the cold drink dispenser was only giving out water from 3 of the taps. Check out was quick with friendly staff. The hotel had free wi-fi in the lobby. I would stay again if passing through Nykoping.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterJon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nykoping
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Kompaniet
0.6 mi away
Good Morning+ Nykoping
Good Morning+ Nykoping
#4 of 6 in Nykoping
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Stora Hotellet
Scandic Stora Hotellet
#2 of 6 in Nykoping
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blommenhof Hotell
Blommenhof Hotell
#6 of 6 in Nykoping
100 reviews
3.3 mi away
Connect Hotel Skavsta
Connect Hotel Skavsta
#3 of 6 in Nykoping
855 reviews
22.1 mi away
Trosa Stadshotell & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA

Address: 7 Nytorget, Nykoping 611 38, Sweden (Formerly Sunlight House Hotel)
Location: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Nykoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Price Range: $107 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former soap factory, this hotel offers free access to a spa, gym and pool. Both on-site parking and WiFi are free. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from Nyköping Train Station, while Stockholm-Skavsta Airport is a 10-minute drive away. Luxury beds and satellite TV are standard features in each Sunlight Hotel Conference & Spa guest room. The spacious rooms also have a seating area. A large, furnished terrace can be enjoyed during warm weather. The in-house restaurant serves a daily breakfast buffet and weekday lunch specials. Sunlight Hotel's spa includes a large relaxation area, 25-metre heated indoor swimming pool, 2 hot tubs and a sauna. Bookable spa treatments and sessions with a personal trainer are available. Please note that the swimming pool is closed from 20 June until 10 July 2016 due to renovations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing