We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't try calling out of hours. Or in hours for that matter”
Review of Railway Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway Hostel
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't try calling out of hours. Or in hours for that matter”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Reception is open 8-12 Monday to Sunday. Is it??
Arrived at 10am on Saturday to a closed hostel. Advised to dial a number if no one there. This just went through to the voice mail. So had to pay to store the bags at the train station. No return call from the hostel we went back at 2pm and tried the number again. Still no answer. Fortunately some of the other guests let us in and retrieved our key from the safe which was in an envelope with the door code written on.
Not impressed. Since leaving I have received an email asking for my card details to pay. I booked this through a reputable internet booking company (booking.com) and provided my card details as required. Sort out this problem yourselves. You weren't there to meet my needs when I tried contacting you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boardman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
2
5
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

It's far & there's nothing you can see around it. The taxi is expensive almost price of the bus roundtrip ticket to Stockholm. The only thing i like is the code, so you can arrive anytime you wanted (i arrived 6:40am). I've reserved for a shared room with towels & linens. But sad thing is when i arrived there there's no bed available, there's 1 but there's also another guy named "maricio" who wants that bed. He arrived 1st than me but either he don't know what the code is or what a safety box is. So i ended up sleeping at the sofa/ reception area/ dining area. Well, atleast i found a safe & comfortable place to hang-around & take a bath. The toilet is big but only 1. The very kind staff or housekeeping men arrived by 9am. There are free breakfast but no wifi not even internet.. But at the nyköping central train station beside the hostel there's a free wifi!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARVADJUSTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hostel has a good location but offers little. The rooms are basic and you have to pay for almost everything (towels, bed linen, not taking the waste after checking out).Nothing special, I have seen a lot better place for staying there few night only. The bathroom was poor, youi could not lock the door and had to stand on some kkind of floor linen which did not seem very higienic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nykoping hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This hostel is a bit of a flea pit whose only redeeming feature is its proximity to Skavsta airport. It’s 30 minutes walk from the main bus station and next to the railway station. It has dirty walls, questionable clientele and no internet. In need of refurbishment, its complacency is undoubtedly fuelled by its advantageous location. It is not at all soundproof. I was kept awake all night by shouts and slamming doors throughout. I would stay in Stockholm and deal with the early morning/ late night rather than spend money on this one. Or just sleep in the airport. Just as unpleasant but free.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelwayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed in that hostel for one night. The greatest advantage is its location - next to the railway and bus stations, 5 minutes from the center of Nykoping.

Despite being right next to the railway, it was surprisingly quiet in the room.
The bunk beds were not too comfortable, bathroom could be cleaner, but still the conditions are fine to stay overnight.

The price seems quite high, but still it's the cheapest accomodation you can find in Nykoping. If you want linens, you need to add 60 SEK per person to the price, towels - 25 SEK, cleaning service - 50 SEK.

If you're on tight budget and have stop-over flight in Skavsta, you don't have much choice, and the Railway Hostel will be probably still the best option.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kspr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

I was there for one night in double room...only good for this hostel is location, I don't look for some great rooms and beds, but I expect a clean bedlinen and comfortable bed...it wasn't case...
I recommend it if you will stay for one night, the location is great, 5 minutes walking from center of Nykoping and less than 100m from central bus and railway station...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danijel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

My 7 yr old daughter and I took what we thought was going to be a 3 day trip to Sweden but turned into over a week due to the volcano! We stayed at the RailWay Hostel for 5 days of our trip. This was my first hostel experience and I was pleasantly surprised. The hostel is on the side of the train station in Nykoping and only a minute from the bus to Skavsta airport. There is a small cafe and a convenience store right outside the train station. The main bus terminal is about 5 minutes away and the main shopping area, Hempkorb grocery store and other sites to see are all within a 10 minute walk. Each morning we went to the convenience store for coffee, juice, fruit and cinnamon roll or croissant and took it back to eat in the lounge/breakfast room which includes a full kitchen so you can shop and make all your food yourself if you want.
Upon arriving there is a sign outside the door telling you to call a number if no one is there to meet you. Hostel staff (one person) usually arrived around 0900 and was there until early afternoon. If you have to call, they give you the code to the door over the phone, you go inside the lounge and then they give you a code to the safe where you will find your name on an envelope with your key inside. The ladies that work at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We looked forward to talking to them every morning.
The double room we stayed in was comfortable and clean. Despite being located between train tracks we did not hear the train passing by. The only noise we heard were people coming and going in our hallway late at night and early in the morning. Shared bathrooms could have been cleaner. I'd recommend bringing shower shoes with you. Rented sheets and towels could use some bleach but worked fine and were plenty warm. Heat in the room worked well.
I would highly recommend the RailWay hostel for anyone flying in and out of Skavsta. It's also a great place to stay if you want to avoid the high costs of Stockholm. Trains run regularly from the train station right outside your door and take about an hour to reach Stockholm. I wouldn't recommend spending much time in Nykoping in the winter months, before May. The harbor area is completely shut down until May 1st. There are no boat rides, the minature golf, museums, and many restaurants are closed until the weather warms up. The hostel staff told me that they often have very bad weather in April and we did experience a snow/rain/hail mix one day and rain most of the others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxnomeatxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nykoping hotels
0.8 mi away
Good Morning+ Nykoping
Good Morning+ Nykoping
#5 of 6 in Nykoping
194 reviews
3.2 mi away
Connect Hotel Skavsta
Connect Hotel Skavsta
#3 of 6 in Nykoping
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blommenhof Hotell
Blommenhof Hotell
#6 of 6 in Nykoping
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Kompaniet
0.4 mi away
Scandic Stora Hotellet
Scandic Stora Hotellet
#2 of 6 in Nykoping
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hostel

Property: Railway Hostel
Address: 1 Centralplan, Nykoping 611 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Nykoping
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Nykoping
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Railway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing