We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“real italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skafferiet

Skafferiet
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Nykoping
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $48
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
nyköping
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“real italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

when you want real italian food in nyköping and real good hospitality you go to skafferiet in main street nyköping(storgatan). micke santo that run the resturant is the italian cusine inventer he use lokal food to make exlusiv food with a taste of italy. the resturant is a former barber shop from way back. and they kept the it like that. you are in for a treat. they even got birra moretti on tap=)))

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mckeand64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    51
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

A small menu us often a good sign I find, and this was the case here. There weren't a lot of items on the menu, but there was plenty of variation in the dishes they had. Everything we had was beautifully presented, well composed, nicely served, and lastly but not least - quite delicious!
Nice choice of wines by the glass too, extra points for that!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neastop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite resturant in Sweden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been using this resturant for 15 years,and even though it has changed hands, I can say that the new owner has created a fabulous menu, and continued the great atmosphere. Fine fresh food with an imaginative modern menu with a tradtional twist and a great choice of accompanying wines. Lunch or dinner or just for a drink this resturant which is decked out as an old barbershop is a must..... Especially the ice creams!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WHAT AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Where to start? What to say? How to explain?

I am just back at my office this morning after my diner in SKAFFERIET restaurant and I am still remembering the perfect food and the great atmosphere of the place.

I was in a very impersonal hotel close the airport and didn't want to have diner there.
They recommend this restaurant at the hotel.

19h30, I was there (they eat early in Sweden ;-) ) and was already fully booked. The girl who attend proposed a small table in the kitchen ... A TABLE IN THE KITCHEN… YES A TABLE IN THE KITCHEN!!

What a great idea: this table for 3 persons with a candle, in front of the kitchen. Just a bar between me and Micke Santo the chief who place the plates ready to be taken by the waitresses for the other lucky people having diner there.

Micke family picture on the wall, his 90 years old grand mother who is Italian, his father, ....

ITALY and it's awsome kitchen !!

In Skafferiet - Bar and Matsal (Matsal means Garde Manger in Swedish) - you will experience a great mix of Italian and swedish food.
SO GOOD, SO WELL PREPARED, SO AROMATIC, SO GENEROUS!!!

I started with the Octopus salad then the Elk Entrecote and to finish a coffee with a small grilled chocolate cake and another coffee (to stay more time there ;-) )...
PERFECT!
2 glass of Wine
All this for 560 SEK which is a price but it worth it!! I often spend the same amount in Paris for a very common food.

People who travel alone know how boring it is to go to the restaurant. This time I didn't open my newspaper, I talk with Mike and his cooker, look the plates, feel the atmosphere, smoke a cigarette behind the restaurant close to the staff entrance, ...

During 2h I was willing to open a restaurant like this.

You can go there; you must go there and book the table in the Kitchen or the "Chief table" which would be more appropriate term.

THANKS A LOT MIKE and all your team.

I will do my best to make a lot of business and fly with Ryanair always to have to come and visit you !!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an old barbers shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a real treat especially when the weather is right and you can sit outside. Food was excellent, wine was well chosen and staff very friendly. A must when in Nykoeping.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skafferiet also viewed

Nykoping, Sodermanland County
Nykoping, Sodermanland County
 
Nykoping, Sodermanland County
Nykoping, Sodermanland County
 

Been to Skafferiet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing