We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Good food in a historical setting

This place could be just awful. A standard tourist trap fed by an endless supply of car-carried... read more

Reviewed April 14, 2018
solipsix
,
Antarctica
via mobile
Löfstad slott an excellent stop

Nearby the road E4 this is a really nice place for a stop. We sat down at the very friendly café... read more

Reviewed August 4, 2017
pia542016
,
Sater, Sweden
Read all 64 reviews
  
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
22
30
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
30
10
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 64 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Loftstad is a manor house in Norrkoping once owned by the family of Axel von Fersen the Younger, a Swedish Count who served with French Forces in the American Revolution, and was involved in attempts to save his close friends Marie Antoinette and her royal family form the French Revolution.
The house is a taste of Country Swedish and has a smallish restaurant where we had lunch - out first Swedish MEATBALL - one large one in a tasty sauce with roasted potatoes and vegetables. Good basic food.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Maude1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

We stopped at the castle for lunch on the way and were very happy about it. The castle is not so impressive as many other in Sweden, but it is nicely kept and taken care of. We had a nice walk around and a good lunch too. Unfortunately, we had no time for a guided tour this time.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Dona_Nils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

The entrance fee for a guided-tour is 90 SEK. Therfore they show you around inside the castle.
Unfortunately you are NOT allowed to take pictures inside :-(

And further on, they don't offer guided tour in English!
I've been given an MP3-player and had to follow the group, while the guide talks in swedish and I had to listen to the English explanations over the headphones.

That's kinda awkward, when you look at a certain object (because it is mentioned in the description) and the whole group is looking at something else (because the guide points out another item in swedish).

But you could roam around the grounds for free and also look inside the rooms on the ground floor.

So better save your money and go there and enjoy the gratuitous things!
Because I personally think: It's just old stuff which could be seen in the rooms upstairs.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank bobx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

I have visited many castles in Sweden but very few comes with such an interesting history as this one. The guided tour was awesome and the castle grounds are well preserved. This was the place owned by Axel von Fersen (the younger) family. Axel was believed to have been the french queen Marie Antoinettes lover and some historians believed he fathered two of her children. True or not this is a great place to visit.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank SmoothieNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

A good place to stop if you are doing a road trip along the E4. A nice little cafe and really beautiful,natural woodland and lake with plenty of trails for a good jog or places for children to play. Their were no staff on duty so we had a look in the castle by ourselves,it has some basic furniture of the era.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews