We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families with small children near Kolmården”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Norrkoping
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Scandic and we have become fast fans of the brand after realizing just how accommodating they are to families with small children.

We stayed at the Scandic Norrkoping Nord for one night while visiting the Kolmården animal park (about 30 minutes away). There were two families consisting of four adults and three children (5, and two 2 year olds) traveling in our group. The hotel is conveniently located just off the highway and directly across the street from a shopping center (which made it easy for someone to run out for McDonald’s ice cream after the kids had gone to bed).

The check in process went smoothly and we were given rooms across the hall from each other. If you plan to take advantage of the free wi-fi while at the hotel be sure to ask the front desk for a password. During check in we were given coloring sheets and crayons for each of the children in addition to some temporary tattoos of Scandic’s mascot. The best part about the check in process was that the children were happily entertained in the playroom adjacent to the lobby. After a long day of car rides and stroller time our son was thrilled to have a place to run and play a bit. A few young women (hotel camp counselors?) even stopped by with balloons for the children who were playing in the play room.

Our second floor room was simply furnished but clean and just what we needed for our overnight stay. It wasn’t extremely large but there was still a comfortable amount of room even after we set up the baby crib (provided by the hotel along with bedding). The room was not air conditioned but we were able to open the window to take advantage of the cool night air.

The breakfast buffet the next morning was outstanding (especially for an American who is used to a stale bagel if the hotel offers anything at all). Hot breakfast items such as eggs, sausage and bacon in addition to Swedish staples of yogurt and cereals and breads, meats and cheeses. There were even pancakes with strawberries and whipped cream.

The dining room was quite crowded but they opened up a new section of the dining area and we were able to get a table for the seven of us (including high chairs) with no problem. After breakfast it was great to let the children play for a bit while the husbands went to collect the luggage. As expected the playroom was more crowded in the time during and after breakfast. What was unexpected was that the hotel met this added demand by opening up yet another two rooms adjacent to the lobby as play areas. There were small slides, tunnels, balls, hula hoops and overall just room for the children to run and play. It was fantastic.

I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are looking for an overnight stop while visiting Kolmården. I will certainly look for a Scandic when travel in Sweden again and hope see Scandic hotels start popping up in the US someday soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordgubben42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 322 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is an example of how the Scandic hotel chain looked in the 70-80s.... Worn and torn, would need a complete restoration but it is clean, though. Booked a family room with 2 single beds and "bed-sofa", average standard but ok. Dinner offer was buffet or a la carte. Mashed potatoe gratin shoud not be present on a buffet, it gets tired very quickly. Breakfast buffet small but ok.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NativeSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

A decent enough Scandic - once you get past the fact that it's a motel behind a petrol station! Inside it's clean and comfortable, with nice staff, and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank 616fridal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mikael Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Norrkoping Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Lena Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikael Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Norrkoping Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Mikael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikael Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Norrkoping Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank roland N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikael Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Norrkoping Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norrkoping hotels
1.9 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping City
Scandic Norrkoping City
#9 of 11 in Norrkoping
332 reviews
2 mi away
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
#2 of 11 in Norrkoping
492 reviews
5 mi away
Villa Fridhem
Villa Fridhem
#7 of 11 in Norrkoping
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
#4 of 11 in Norrkoping
123 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Princess Hotel
Best Western Princess Hotel
#8 of 11 in Norrkoping
123 reviews
2 mi away
Strand Hotell
Strand Hotell
#6 of 11 in Norrkoping
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Norrkoping Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Norrkoping Nord

Address: 17 Jaerngatan, Norrkoping 602 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Norrkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Norrkoping
Price Range: $129 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Norrkoping Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly roadhotel with only 4 km to the city center, trainstation and not far from our big attraction Kolmardens animalpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Scandic Norrkoping Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Norrkoping Nord Norrköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing